We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B with amazing hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Afton B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B with amazing hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent a weekend at Le Bleu Ridge while traveling to Charlottesville for a friend's wedding. Le Bleu Ridge was the perfect stay. The farmhouse is a standout among many local B&Bs, restored with a fresh modern taste while still maintaining it's quaint look. The rooms are spacious, the linens are organic, the decor is thoughtful, and our multi-spout rain shower was a treat. Danielle and Marcel are perfect hosts -- polite, energetic and elegant. Danielle's organic three course breakfasts are incredible, and we enjoyed plenty of good conversation and laughs at the breakfast table with their other 4 guests. The B&B is close to several great day trips -- next door to Flying Fox winery tasting room, and down the street from Veritas Winery, Blue Mountain brewery, and some great local hikes like Humpback Mountain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
42
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and i just spent our 10th anniversary here and had a wonderful stay.

Marcel and Danielle are exceptional hosts.

The B & B is quaint and very much feels as though you are in an old farmhouse staying as a guest of honor.

The breakfasts are fabulous. 3 courses - with a dessert....need i say more.

A really great stay and we would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for homely experience in a beautiful part of Virginia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Marcel and Danielle are personable and thoughtful hosts. They provide many little extras most B&Bs don't such as a flashlight on the mantle, a second folding luggage rack, lots of spare towels, a bathroom night light and plenty of toiletries. There's a ramp up to the front door and our first floor room had a huge roll-in shower. The custom breakfast was both filling and gourmet. The B&Bs setting was pastoral and certain to lower your BP by 20 points.

For dinner, try Guiseppe's just five miles down the road for above average Italian food at very reasonable prices. Wine and beer available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Bleu Ridge B&B. Danielle and Marcel are such warm and wonderful people and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was lovely, and the bed was so comfortable, with soft bedding, great pillows and sheets. The rain shower was such a welcome relief after attending a music festival all day! Breakfast's were amazing. Danielle is such a wonderful cook! If you stay here, resist all urges to stay in bed and miss it, you will be missing out on the most amazing meal! We also met some very lovely people who were also staying there, and by the end of the weekend, we felt we had made some new friends, were well rested, and very happy we chose to stay here! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at B&B's from Ashville, Chincoteague, Somerset (PA), amongst other locations so are pretty experienced at B&B'ers. Le Bleu Ridge was very nice with wonderfully friendly and accommodating hosts who aim to please. We had the Blue Moon Room on 1st floor, adjacent to dining area and living room. Danielle prepared very fresh, creative, and great breakfasts from local fruits and vegetables. She also went out of her way to secure soy or almond milk as my husband is lactose intolerant. We really appreciated her being so flexible. Bed was wonderfully soft and comfy. Rooms were very clean. The giant shower head in Blue Moon's bathroom is quite unforgettable! Now I want a shower head like that in my own house! It is a very relaxing, pleasant stay at a nice B&B in a beautiful part of Virginia. If you go, I highly recommend staying here. But do be aware the inn is located at intersection of Route 151 & Chapel Hollow. So if you are a light sleeper, you will notice traffic passing by (even though in nighttime there isn't a lot). Also in living room, although there is Dish network, we couldn't find any movies to entertain at night. So maybe bring your own DVD's or games. There are lots & lots of books & CD's to enjoy on the house.

Room Tip: Blue Moon room is very nice. Huge shower head in bathroom plus other jets, plus a fireplace for cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Bleu Ridge is very conveniently located in beautiful countryside, immediately next door to the Flying Fox winery. We stayed in the cabin as Danielle was away for the weekend, so we didn't get to try the famed breakfasts. Her daughter did check-in and was very friendly and helpful.
The cabin is very comfortable and clean, huge bed, good aircon, but a few niggles. No hanging space (unless you count the hatstand in the corner), and we found the satellite TV channel offerings a bit odd. The minibar/kitchenette has a microwave, toaster and fridge, though the butler's sink does dual service as the bathroom sink.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying at Le Bleu Ridge was my first experience in a B&B...and it was awesome. I stayed in the cottage (highly recommended) and it was well-appointed, clean, with cable, wifi, and all the things you'd get in a luxury hotel.
The innkeepers Danielle and Marcel are not only nice people, but are meticulous about their property without being fussy. You really feel like you're staying at a good friend's home.
Danielle prepares breakfast daily with products from the garden and everything is locally sourced.
This surroundings of this property are breathtaking, I could not believe the amount of beauty in this part of Virginia. I really look forward to an opportunity to stay here again!

Room Tip: I recommend the private cottage, it's private, quiet, and like having your own private cabin in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920
Location: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be delighted to welcome you at Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast: “Your Healthy Homey Hospitality in the Virginian Blue Ridge Mountains”. We offer organic and comfy beds in the cute Mankin House cottage, the romantic Blue Moon Room, or the Sunset Room, and delicious breakfasts made with fresh, organic local and seasonal ingredients. Our holistic approach extends to all elements surrounding our guests’ stay: whether it is the mattress you dream in, the wood floor you walk on, the water you drink, etc. We cater to everyone, but we distinguish ourselves in our ability to accommodate guests with special dietary needs, such as diabetes, gluten allergies, food and environmental sensitivities. Le Bleu Ridge is located inside the former Page House Estate, 1840, on the Nelson County 151 trail in Nelson County. Our neighbors include The Flying Fox Tasting Room, wineries, breweries, local restaurants, and local farmers. Virginia is for Lovers… Le Bleu Ridge is where they sleep! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.