We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Place With Amazing hosts!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Afton B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Place With Amazing hosts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Bleu Ridge B&B. Danielle and Marcel are such warm and wonderful people and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was lovely, and the bed was so comfortable, with soft bedding, great pillows and sheets. The rain shower was such a welcome relief after attending a music festival all day! Breakfast's were amazing. Danielle is such a wonderful cook! If you stay here, resist all urges to stay in bed and miss it, you will be missing out on the most amazing meal! We also met some very lovely people who were also staying there, and by the end of the weekend, we felt we had made some new friends, were well rested, and very happy we chose to stay here! I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at B&B's from Ashville, Chincoteague, Somerset (PA), amongst other locations so are pretty experienced at B&B'ers. Le Bleu Ridge was very nice with wonderfully friendly and accommodating hosts who aim to please. We had the Blue Moon Room on 1st floor, adjacent to dining area and living room. Danielle prepared very fresh, creative, and great breakfasts from local fruits and vegetables. She also went out of her way to secure soy or almond milk as my husband is lactose intolerant. We really appreciated her being so flexible. Bed was wonderfully soft and comfy. Rooms were very clean. The giant shower head in Blue Moon's bathroom is quite unforgettable! Now I want a shower head like that in my own house! It is a very relaxing, pleasant stay at a nice B&B in a beautiful part of Virginia. If you go, I highly recommend staying here. But do be aware the inn is located at intersection of Route 151 & Chapel Hollow. So if you are a light sleeper, you will notice traffic passing by (even though in nighttime there isn't a lot). Also in living room, although there is Dish network, we couldn't find any movies to entertain at night. So maybe bring your own DVD's or games. There are lots & lots of books & CD's to enjoy on the house.

Room Tip: Blue Moon room is very nice. Huge shower head in bathroom plus other jets, plus a fireplace for cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Bleu Ridge is very conveniently located in beautiful countryside, immediately next door to the Flying Fox winery. We stayed in the cabin as Danielle was away for the weekend, so we didn't get to try the famed breakfasts. Her daughter did check-in and was very friendly and helpful.
The cabin is very comfortable and clean, huge bed, good aircon, but a few niggles. No hanging space (unless you count the hatstand in the corner), and we found the satellite TV channel offerings a bit odd. The minibar/kitchenette has a microwave, toaster and fridge, though the butler's sink does dual service as the bathroom sink.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying at Le Bleu Ridge was my first experience in a B&B...and it was awesome. I stayed in the cottage (highly recommended) and it was well-appointed, clean, with cable, wifi, and all the things you'd get in a luxury hotel.
The innkeepers Danielle and Marcel are not only nice people, but are meticulous about their property without being fussy. You really feel like you're staying at a good friend's home.
Danielle prepares breakfast daily with products from the garden and everything is locally sourced.
This surroundings of this property are breathtaking, I could not believe the amount of beauty in this part of Virginia. I really look forward to an opportunity to stay here again!

Room Tip: I recommend the private cottage, it's private, quiet, and like having your own private cabin in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stay at B & B's almost everywhere we visit. I must say that this was one of our most memorable. The host's are wonderful people and couldn't have been any nicer. We were fortunate enough to be the only ones staying this week so we had Danielle all to ourselves. The breakfast's were absolutely amazing and stayed with us all day. All fresh, local and healthy. We didn't eat lunch a single day on our trip and we were still full by dinner. The location is perfect and the views are beautiful. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very rarely do we leave home and experience the comfort we did while staying at Le Bleu Ridge. The location was perfect for our trip touring the local breweries and wineries. Check-in was seamless the evening we arrived. Breakfast was the BEST. Ever. I don't know how to explain it in words but it is an experience. Fresh, local, and made with love. Danielle was completely flexible and willing to work with any diet. Multiple courses for breakfast was just what we needed to get our day started right. We enjoyed the laid back, family style breakfast which gave us the opportunity to meet the other lodgers and have great conversation about our experiences in the area.
While this trip was for our anniversary, we are already planning a "just because" trip for the fall!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage but toured each of the rooms. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I took a 3 day mother and daughter trip to say her goodbyes to Virginia. I traveled from Florida. Le Bleu Ridge was the perfect place and we felt we had found somewhere very special. Danielle and Marcelle are wonderful, warm, witty and considerate of their guests. The rooms are clean, beautiful, well appointed and so comfortable. The inn is located next to a nice winery and have several more excellent ones close by. There is a beautiful walk down a road by the inn to help you enjoy the local scenery. They help with suggestions and see to your every comfort. And the breakfast - just an adventure in excellent healthy food and 4 courses! . Danielle is a wonderful cook and Marcelle her great assistance. I have been a guest in many b and b's but this was the best experience ever. Danielle, Marcelle and Muffin feel like dear friends. You will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue Moon, I think any would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920
Location: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be delighted to welcome you at Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast: “Your Healthy Homey Hospitality in the Virginian Blue Ridge Mountains”. We offer organic and comfy beds in the cute Mankin House cottage, the romantic Blue Moon Room, or the Sunset Room, and delicious breakfasts made with fresh, organic local and seasonal ingredients. Our holistic approach extends to all elements surrounding our guests’ stay: whether it is the mattress you dream in, the wood floor you walk on, the water you drink, etc. We cater to everyone, but we distinguish ourselves in our ability to accommodate guests with special dietary needs, such as diabetes, gluten allergies, food and environmental sensitivities. Le Bleu Ridge is located inside the former Page House Estate, 1840, on the Nelson County 151 trail in Nelson County. Our neighbors include The Flying Fox Tasting Room, wineries, breweries, local restaurants, and local farmers. Virginia is for Lovers… Le Bleu Ridge is where they sleep! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.