We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to Mike and Paulette” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Birches Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Birches Inn
Save
You added White Birches Inn to your Saves list
268 Whites Mill Rd., Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Reidsville, North Carolina
1 review
“Kudos to Mike and Paulette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mike and Paulette were just great. This was our first B&B experience and as I had always imaged White Birch was the perfect picture I had painted. Beautiful, wonderful location, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, great conversation. They were both so helpful acclamating us to the area. This is just the perfect B&B to stay at in Abbington. We had such a beautiful weekend and White Birch was a major factor in it. Thanks to both of them. Hope to see u again


Susan and Ray Dunlow, Reidsville, NC

Room Tip: Tennessee Williams Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    8
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We felt very 'at home' at White Birches.The property is beautiful and very conveniently located to downtown, as well as one of our favorite walks, Plum Alley. The innkeepers Paula and Michael were very helpful in suggesting things to do, and they made our two night stay very comfortable. Loved the breakfast enough to bring home one of Paula's recipes. A memorable weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Easy to find, great location within walking distance to town, warm and inviting rooms & home as were the owners, Michael and Paulette. We felt welcome to spend time anywhere in the home and were encouraged to let them know if we had any needs. We sincerely enjoyed the variety of guests and their conversations. We couldn't have chosen a better way or place to be married (by Michael) and to spend our first night as husband and wife! Thank you Michael and Paulette...you are forever in our warm memories!

Room Tip: The Porterfield Room was very cozy and had it's own private in-room bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a quick stop, White Birches proved to be a perfect location. The home had charm and was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and I had a lovely, friendly chat with the owners. My room was comfortable, so much so I wanted to stay in bed all day. There are nice, personal touches throughout the house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was my second visit to White Birches for business travel. Once again, I enjoyed the hospitality of Paulette and Michael. The rooms are beautiful, the hospitality welcoming and the recommendations for restaurants and exploring helpful. White Birches is a short walk to some fabulous food and it's a lovely place to return to each evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Second visit this year.....this time to celebrate an anniversary. The inn is lovely, comfortable, and welcoming. Paulette accomodates in every way and, as my husband says, "spoils us." Abingdon has lots to do, and the White Birches Inn is the place to stay!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Porterfield and in the Noel Coward and have peeked in all of the rooms. All ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was one of the best bed and breakfasts I have stayed at in awhile. The people were very genuine and come across as kind heart, loving people.

I would choose this bed and breakfast over anywhere else to stay if it were up to me, but my wife likes to mix it up and go to all different places.

Food was an A++, excellent. I loved it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. Choose any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Inn

Address: 268 Whites Mill Rd., Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Birches Inn is the only bed & breakfast in Abingdon, VA that can offer you a king-size bed, in-room fireplace, oversized whirlpool tub, and a private walk-in tiled shower. Our personalized service and luxurious accommodations are a wonderfully inviting alternative to typical hotel lodging. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Birches Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.