We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, pleasant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Lantern Boutique Inn
Save
You added Copper Lantern Boutique Inn to your Saves list
133 East Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, pleasant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We completely enjoyed our stay here. Rest and recuperation were high on our list of things to do on this trip and the Inn was very conducive to that. Our host was always friendly, hospitable and helpful without ever making us feel intruded upon. (We are sometimes uncomfortable in B&Bs where the hosts are too clingy. Just us.) Our room, the Appalachian Suite, was very spacious and comfortable, particularly the bathroom with a large open shower and the famous copper tub. The bed was excellent. Our room was quiet, but we were the only ones in the Inn that weekend.
The full breakfasts (cheese and mushroom omelettes with bacon one morning, pancakes and sausage another) were delicious.
The Inn is within a block of main street and a short stroll to the Barter Theater, the Tavern, Willa Jacks, and everything else there is to see in Abingdon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
112
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater DC Metro Area
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We loved our night here. The Appalachian Suite was gorgeous with a spacious room & large bath and very comfortable bed. Soaking tub and walk-in shower were fun elements. The unique whimsical decorative touches throughout the rooms and house make this B&B particularly memorable. Breakfast was delicious. Our innkeeper arranged for tickets to the theatre and dinner reservations for us and recommended a cool local spot for a late lunch. Only complaint - would like an ice bucket for iced drinks. Next time through, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteagle, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

We stayed at the Cooper Lantern Inn in Abingdon, VA over NASCAR race weekend. The host met us at the door with his friendly sidekick ( a beautiful Shetie), and showed us to our room. Our room was very inviting, the bathroom was a real treat for us, large shower and a copper tub. Our bed was the WOW part of our stay. King bed, with very soft sheets and the pillows were so fluffy. My husband immediately took a nap. Our hosts were friendly, but not overly friendly (it took awhile for the hostess to warm up). I did take note that the hostess wanted all her guests at the breakfast table at the same time. I did not care for that, because I usually sleep until 9:00am everyday ( I was on vacation). So getting up earlier did not appeal to me at all. But I played along. Our checkout time was 11:00 and I would have skipped breakfast to just sleep in, but my husband wanted breakfast, so I went along (breakfast was nothing out of the ordinary, this was the Yawn of the B&B). We could have slept late and gone to IHOP. The house is very old, but was decorated warmly, and the house was quiet and for an old house the plumbing was excellent. Good water pressure! All in all if I ever return to Abingdon I would stay at the Copper Lantern Inn again.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Having to eat on a schedule.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stylehaus, Owner at Copper Lantern Boutique Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Hello, my name is Kimberly I am the new owner of the Copper Lantern Inn, I would appreciate
if you would remove all blogs from March 12, 2010 thru March 27, 2007. I am so very happy that all my recent plugs are from when I took ownership! The blogs I wish to keep up are the most recent May - current . As, they are about myself and the new Copper lantern Inn, please know Trip Advisor we are big fans of you!

Many thanks and come visit!!
Fondly , Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Lantern Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

Address: 133 East Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Lantern Boutique Inn is a haven away from home. Built in 1873, the inn is located on East Valley Street in the Heart of Abingdon and is within walking distance of all the local major attractions. This Georgian Colonial is decorated in a warm and comfortable, yet elegant style. It is a place of real Southern hospitality with all of the luxurious amenities and comforts of the modern day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Lantern Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.