We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Stay at Copper Lantern Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Lantern Boutique Inn
Save
You added Copper Lantern Boutique Inn to your Saves list
133 East Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glorious Stay at Copper Lantern Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Copper Lantern Inn for our Anniversary the weekend of October 7th. We were blown away by the hospitality of Kim, Betty, and Roy. They have truly created a family filled atmosphere at the Inn. Kim and Betty were kind enough to offer dinner recommendations for us each night and even made the reservations for us. The Inn epitomizes southern charm evidenced by the beautiful bed rooms and an amazing front porch. Definitely one of the very best B&Bs we’ve visited. I even made a new friend; sweet Buella Belle, a little French Bull dog. The breakfast was so amazing each morning and they were overly accommodating to my wife’s gluten allergy. We brought a gluten-free bisquick mix and Kimberly made the best gluten free banana pecan pancakes especially for my wife! We will definitely be making our way back to Abingdon to stay at the Copper Lantern and will recommend them to all of our friends! (Sorry for the late post) :)

Room Tip: I know it's the priceiest, but the Washington Suite was well worth it! Amaizng!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
114
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakesite, TN
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You cannot go wrong in Abingdon staying at the Copper Lantern Inn. My wife and I stayed two nights this past weekend in the Washington Suite which was fantastic....great big comfortable bed, a killer bathroom with a huge tiled shower, a copper bath tub, etc. Wonderful.

Kimberlee was our host for the weekend and couldn't have treated us better. We were in Abingdon to ride the Virginia Creeper Trail and had really waited too late in the year for standard shuttle services, but Kimberlee came to the rescue and arranged a shuttle for us...over and above the call of duty. Thank you so much Kimberlee.

And the food.....the hors d'ouvres, the snacks, the wine, were all great, but the breakfast was to die for.

We had a great weekend at the Copper Lantern Inn....we will be back as soon as the weather will allow us to go on the Virginia Creeper Trail again next spring.

Thanks Kimberlee for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the recommendation of our friends. As soon as we arrived I felt like I was part of the family that had been away too long. We were so spoiled. We were only there for a one night stay and would have loved to have been able to spend a day just at the house in our pajamas. The bed was so comfortable, the food was delicious, and the location was perfect. Our only complaint is that our trip was too short.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

can't say enough kind things about the copper lantern & the lovely hosts! we went to abingdon on a mini-moon after our wedding. betty called while we were en route to find out what time we would arrive and they had wine and yummy hors d'ouvres waiting on us! the washington suite is absolutely amazing-my husband didn't want to leave after sleeping on that bed. kimberly fixed us a yummy & filling breakfast-it kept us full for our ride on the creeper from green cove all the way back to abingdon! i have been staying in b&bs for years, this was my husband's first experience and he is now spoiled! it was the perfect getaway for newlyweds-much nicer than any hotel!

Room Tip: love the washington suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at this charming inn. The innkeepers made us feel like members of their family from the moment we walked through the door. The wine and appetizers we were served in the late afternoon were a delicious lead-in to our dinner at a local (walking-distance) restaurant. Our room was clean and comfortable and our gourmet breakfasts were out of this world. Being dog lovers, we were very happy to have some interaction with the inn pets, but their owners were also very tuned in to whether the dogs were being bothersome, so they were never a problem. Our hosts could not have tried harder to make us feel welcome, happy, and satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second visit and it was even more enjoyable than the last. Such wonderful hosts, the most cozy bed we've ever slept in, a timeless and perfectly decorated home, a delicious home made breakfast, and chocolate cake to boot! If you want a cozy, comfortable, plush, clean and beautiful place to stay as well as generous, warm, kind, friendly, and hilarious hosts...look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I along were fortunate to book at the Copper Lantern. We found the Inn to be a perfect location for launching on the Virginia Creeper trail and be within walking distance to most of the attractions of Abingdon. The common areas and porches were tastefully decorated but comfortable and inviting. Our suite was private and restful. Breakfasts were beyond the typical fare and innovatively tasty. Betty and Kimberly took great care of us, attentive but not hovering. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copper Lantern Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

Address: 133 East Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Lantern Boutique Inn is a haven away from home. Built in 1873, the inn is located on East Valley Street in the Heart of Abingdon and is within walking distance of all the local major attractions. This Georgian Colonial is decorated in a warm and comfortable, yet elegant style. It is a place of real Southern hospitality with all of the luxurious amenities and comforts of the modern day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Lantern Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.