We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1093 Ole Berry Drive, I-81 exit 14, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice but not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was nice. Two double beds and a couch. Microwave and refrigerator where great to have.
The room was pretty clean except for 2 big dead bugs in shower. (At least they were dead.)
The pool water was green and I couldn't see to the bottom, was told never to swim in pool that you can't see the bottom.
The shower made a high pitched loud noise and I told the manager when I checked out.
All in all ok. The hallways had running kids from baseball team so kinda took away the romance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We were glad to see that you were happy that we had a refrigerator and a microwave in every room. I was a bit confused on the mention of the double beds, all of the rooms with two beds have queen beds in them. Hoping that you come again so we have the opportunity to truly "wow" you with our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    25
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
44
29
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just spent four nights at The Comfort Suites. Our granddaughters loved the large room and the indoor swimming pool. My husband liked the easy access on and off the interstate. I was very pleased that the staff took in consideration that we had children traveling with us when deciding on our room location. They were all very pleasant and kind when dealing with us and our grandchildren. The housekeeping staff even tucked in the girls teddy bear and doll when making up our room. Thank you for making such a good impression and giving them a good example of going beyond their required duties.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are glad that you came to visit us with your granddaughters! We love our tiny guests as well as our adult guests! Come again soon! Don't forget the teddy bear!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from two nights at this property. I had a kids' group and we were using seven rooms. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our group. Spacious rooms and the sleeper sofa was a big plus. Breakfast was great. Pool had a funky green tint to the water color, but didn't seem to bother the kids at all. Wi-fi went down once but the staff had it back and running in no time. My only wish is that there were more restaurants within easy walking distance, but there was a great pizza place a hundred yards away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We LOVED your group of kids that came in! They were awesome! We are so glad that you came to visit us in your travels! We hope you will come back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very frienldy staff, nice large rooms, with a very good breakfast. the location is right off the interstate and conveient to other local sites, restaurants, gas, etc. would definitely stay again. it i a lovely town to visit as ell

Room Tip: the first floor is easier for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We were thrilled to see that you loved our friendly staff, and cozy town of Abingdon! Come back soon to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaring Gap, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You cannot beat the price, the amenities (pool and whirlpool 'til midnight, free breakfast, very nice, new bedding...), and the convenience to the Barter Theatre, the VA Creeper, and all of the area's offerings. I frequent the Barter Theatre a lot, and when I bring my grandsons, I always stay at this hotel. Prices are very reasonable, and the children can wear themselves out in the pool. My two grandsons and I each had our own bed (one on the pull-out sofa bed), which made for a good night's sleep. Staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's a room with a full kitchen, if you're interested in bringing in and preparing your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed our great rate and our comfortable beds. Please come back soon and stay with us again! We look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I can't say enough good things about our stay. The rooms were immaculately clean, the towels were hung with fancy folds and even the toilet paper had been carefully folded into points, the staff was warm and welcoming, it was in an easy to get to location, the continental breakfast was wonderful with a variety of options to meet everyone's taste. This hotel gets five stars from our family!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad that you were pleased with the hotel and hope that you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Abingdon, VA for 2 nights. It was a nice, comfortable stay with great customer service. The front desk clerk was able to offer restaurant ideas, and area attractions. In the mornings, the breakfast was normal hotel food, but it was hot and suitable. There were two older housekeepers there that were drinking coffee before their shift, and they were so sweet, and so welcoming to everyone. Its almost as though they were getting to know everyone staying at the hotel. Very nice to see that. These days, no one stops to ask anything so it was a nice surprise. If you are ever in Abingdon, definitely give this place a try!

Room Tip: Room 304 was a good, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn_abingdon, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We believe that the housekeeping department is the backbone of the company. I am so glad that you had a chance to meet some of our seasoned (these ladies you speak of have been with us for 9+ years!) staff! Come back soon! We will be looking for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1093 Ole Berry Drive, I-81 exit 14, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Suites Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.