We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abingdon Finally Has A Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 128 Pecan

128 Pecan
128 Pecan Street SE, Abingdon, VA 24210
+1 276-698-3159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Abingdon Finally Has A Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We attend the Barter Theater fairly often... but one of the challenges we always faced was that there were no decent restaurants in Abingdon... FINALLY... a truly super place to eat prior to a matinee.... upon arrival the owner Jack greeted us and began chatting... he seated us in the outdoor "front porch".... our server was promptly there with menus and a friendly greeting... I selected the turkey reuben with a side of Caesar salad... my wife also selected the reuben with a side of kettle chips... the reuben was perfectly cooked with an excellent sauerkraut... not sour or biting like many I have had... the turkey was moist and just fell apart... the chips were warm... very crisp... and seasoned perfectly... for dessert we had a slice of the chocolate truffle cake and a slice of the rum pecan pie.... the best description of them is.... "sinfully delightful"... best dessert in a long.. long time.... and also some of the best service in a long time... we will definitely return next time we attend the Barter...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    51
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I ate here during a visit to Abingdon. We had the rib-eye and a lamb chop special, both of which were cooked perfectly and accompanied by yummy dipping sauces. We also had a special oyster taco appetizer that was to die for--deep-fried, very-crispy-on-the-outside oysters and cabbage-cilantro slaw with a fantastic sauce. The ambiance was just so-so but the service was good. I thought the price was reasonable for what we got (one appetizer, 2 entrees including soup or salad, 2 alcoholic drinks and 2 desserts), $82 not including tax and tip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cozy and tucked away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Some colleagues and I were recommended to dine here and found this little gem. It has small dining areas with the ability to accommodate groups of 8 or more. Our server was very nice but I felt like her descriptions of the entrees was rehearsed(maybe I watch to many cooking shows). The beer selection was not typical yet domestic favorites were available. The menu was not complicated and and the decor appropriate. We will certainly return on our next visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice meal, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

A great place for friends or couples. The menu had many great selections...we all had the cracker crusted trout and it was very good. Quaint setting with a very friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“highly recommended & worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

128 Pecan was recommended by a good friend, so I visited for dinner one night before a play at the Barter Theatre. I enjoyed the salmon & grits and my son had the grilled ribeye. Both entrees came with either soup or salad. I couldn't decide so I ordered both the tomato bisque & the caesar salad. So delicious! We loved our 1st visit so much that we did a detour on a recent trip and stopped in for late lunch to try new things and some old favorites. Service is GREAT: very helpful, friendly, and attentive. Get there early for dinner as it does get busy and save room for dessert --- loved the pecan pie & bread pudding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 128 Pecan also viewed

 

Been to 128 Pecan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 128 Pecan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.