We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 128 Pecan

128 Pecan
128 Pecan Street SE, Abingdon, VA 24210
+1 276-698-3159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 80 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Several of us met to partake of the new menu offerings and we were pleasantly surprised. Great value with superb presentation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    51
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Has Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Food is very good but the two available wines are disappointing. Lunch is great but the restaurant is very small and during the good weather diners can be accommodated outside on the porch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowview, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The limited food selection was bland and distasteful. The service was almost non-existant. I had to resort to drinking my wife's water because I had none. The atmosphere was uninviting. I regret ever going there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at 128 Pecan, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Greetings from 128 Pecan,
At 128 Pecan we treat all reviews as positive and use them as tools to learn and better serve each customer.
We were saddened by your review and only wish you had made your concerns known during your visit, so that we could have made adjustments as necessary and worked even harder to make your experience a great one.
Best regards,
Jack Barrow
chef/owner
128 Pecan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great food at this small, unpretentious locally-owned and managed cafe. We had lunch the day before Thanksgiving and went back for dinner tonight. Fish tacos are great, and the tomato bisque is so rich it's like dessert. My husband said that the caesar salad was the best he's had in a long time. Tonight I had the rainbow trout with sauteed vegetables (zucchini) and it was melt in your mouth good. The owner and chef Jack is a local, and very engaging and experienced restauranteur. If you bring your own wine there is a corkage fee; the wine selection is ok but will not please some diners. So bring your own if you are concerned about the vintage! Also the service was really good, attentive, friendly. All in all this will be our go-to place for good grub when we're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been here numerous times and still we haven't been dissapointed. The Owner of the restaurant is always making sure that the service and food is the best.
Their soups are tasty And there ceasar salad is the best we have tasted ever!
Their trout specialty is Amazing!
You would not be dissapointed if you go there for either lunch or dinner. Their California chicken sandwich is very juicy.
Just go and give it a try, you will not regret it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 128 Pecan also viewed

 

Been to 128 Pecan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 128 Pecan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.