We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Museum

Star Museum
170 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA
+1 276-608-7452
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 22 things to do in Abingdon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jewel box museum featuring hundreds of celebrity estate artifacts in an historical setting. Star Museum's Weisfeld Collection spans from Rudolph Valentino to Whitney Huston; but is especially strong in its depiction of pop culture's golden age of the 1930's-50's. Giants like Elvis, Lucy, Gable & Leigh, Judy Garland, Gleason, Monroe, Crawford & Davis, et. al., are very well represented. Guided tours are available in any time frame, but generally run about 90 minutes. Hours are by appointment only; and adult admission is $20 each. No cards are accepted.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

For me the whole point of travel is the stimulation from new and novel experiences. Star Museum serves that purpose and then some. What an unexpected surprise, and in little Abingdon! The collection of old-time Hollywood memorabilia is astounding but it’s only half the show. Mr. Weisfeld is entertainer extraordinaire. If you are not a classic movie buff you’ll be transformed to another place and time and be better off because of the trip. If you already are an aficionado you’ll be in tinsel town Nirvana. The entire experience is ethereal and mysterious thanks to Mr. Weisfields faultless showmanship. And that starts with having to engage the tour by phone call and meeting your host at the front door. You may have to hurry, however as the building is under contract and so the exhibit may be closed. What a shame. So if you’re on you’re on your way back from Florida, swing by charming Abingdon this time and call Robert for a tour and then go to a play at the Barter Theater afterwards. There's no doubt, you’ll be glad you did.

Visited April 2014
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Who knew that Mae West was linked from the nastiest of Gangsters like Bugsy Segal, to Joe Gold of Gold's Gym? They don't make em like her and they don't make 'em like the owner and local artist himself. Robert is a native to Abingdon and knows plenty of local folklore, history (Barter Theatre) along with a few stories of Hollywood yester-year to keep you entertained on your visit to the "STAR MUSEUM". We brought our daughters (11 and 7) and Robert spent plenty of time on Disney references and linking to modern day reference to keep them engaged. He also was kind enough to gloss over some of the more scandilous and risque stories and kept it very educational and tasteful. When they went for a bathroom break we were able to shed some light on the parts that were glossed over and it was delightful. Great fun, and very interesting. Did I mention the place was a former saloon, house of "ill - repute" and is haunted? I have an unexplainable scratch to prove it!

Visited September 2013
2 Thank TheBear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
844 reviews
653 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Little Place = Jammed Pack of Memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My first night in Abingdon, I was chatting with a local and she told me I had to make it to the Star Museum. So the next day, I made sure to swing by. The museum only open on appointments, so be sure to give Robert, the owner a call before you head on over (276-608-7452). Robert is very passionate about his collection and cares about all the pieces in it. He is passionate about Mae West, so be prepared to hear all about her and know that a large portion of his memorabilia is either Mae West's or related to her. The highlight in my opinion was the few Jimmy Stewart items and Cary Grants bathrobe. He also has several Marilyn Monroe items which I would love to have myself. This is a must for any film buff, so go if you are in Abingdon.

Visited August 2013
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“James Deans Boxers, Mae West Nightgown and Cary Grants Smoking Jacket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a ball. Robert was a true "old Hollywood" historian. Very engaging. It had more authentic Hollywood memoriabia than the smithsonnian. We can't wait to go back as we only has 45 min and there was so much more to see. Robert has much more upstairs so the pieces change periodically. The theme this visit was more Mae West. You'll have a ball.
When we arrived, the door said CLOSED and to call for an appointment. We did and he agreed to show us at 4. What a terrific, authentic showcase of Old Hollywood meets Southern Hospitality.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank ChalkTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience! Must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We researched "Best Roadside Attractions" on our voyage to Cookeville, TN. This place did NOT disappoint. Robert, the owner/docent, was truly the star of the whole experience. He was very knowledgable about every piece in the collection. He had such a passion for his work. As actors, we appreciated the homage to those who came before us. Definitely a highlight of our trip. Be advised, reservations were needed prior to arrival. Check it out!

Visited April 2013
Thank Gvega510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Museum also viewed


Been to Star Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing