We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Back to Ivy Gap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barter Theatre

Barter Theatre
127 West Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210
276 628 3991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 3 miles from I-81, exit 17 in the heart of Abingdon, Virginia. Founded in 1933, Barter Theatre offers professional, repertory theatre, 17-19 productions per year, and two unique stages: Barter Main Stage and Barter Stage II. Recognized as the premiere theatre in the region, Barter launched the careers of such notable actors as Gregory Peck, Patricia Neal and Ernest Borgnine. Enjoy classics, comedies, dramas and Broadway musicals. Group rates and packages with fine Abingdon restaurants and lodging available. Stop in The Barter Café and gift shop. Open Feb. – Dec. Call or go on-line for performance schedule.
Callaway, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcome Back to Ivy Gap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The play was outstanding. The players were excellent especially in their timing as they delivered their lines. The theatre was full, and the audience was fully involved. Anyone involved with a well established church in the rural South will identify with what they see. It is nothing short of a wonderful experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    58
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stage II is a cozy venue, and the actors are great!! Each seat offers a great view, and there is a cafe right on the premises.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Little Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went to see the afternoon performance of "Welcome Back to Ivy Gap" and it was a great show. Just being in the town and theatre is a wonderful experience. We stayed at the Inn across the street and this was a great three day getaway.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As a local, I have been attending plays at Barter Theatre for years. They are always enjoyable with many talented cast members. I find it nice to be able to enjoy quality plays for such low prices. We recently saw "Wizard of Oz" and it was exceptional! Keep in mind that if you get your tickets via phone or directly at the box office, you can receive a AAA discount. You can also go online and see the seating chart to pick out your seats.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wizard of Oz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just saw the latest version of The Wizard of Oz at the Barter Theater. There is one thing you need to know about the Barter Theater. If a tall person sits in front of you, you're not going to see a lot of the production. I probably would have given this show 5 stars had I been able to see it. And I am 6ft. tall. The seats aren't staggered so you can't see between people.

The production was wonderful and kept our grandkids attention the entire show. Dorothy was adequate but not great. The scarecrow stole the show, followed closely the tin man. The cowardly lion was fabulous. The stage sets were colorful as were the special effects. Very, very worthwhile, unless a tall person sits in front of you.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barter Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Barter Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barter Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.