We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay prior to hiking Mount Rogers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   930 E Main Street, I-81 & Highway 58, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denton, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay prior to hiking Mount Rogers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Rooms spacious, clean, and comfortable beds. Internet service was very fast. Workout room was small but had everything we needed. Breakfast was above average and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Several restaurants nearby. The location is about an hour from Mount Rogers and so it was a great stopping place for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our facility and your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
31
33
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

At check in the clerk informed me that my reservation had been canceled because the rate quoted was not the rate for "race weekend". Naturally they had no more rooms available at that time. They did offer to send us to another town that had a room. I booked the room through Reserve Travel 09/12 for 8/23/13 & 8/24/13. I don't understand how they can cancel a confirmed reservation just because they didn't get to charge the "rip off race weekend" rate. I have spoken to their corporate office and they told me they should not have cancelled us. They told me it was canceled in May. I suggest you call to confirm you have a room at least a month in advance. My weekend experience started off bad but at least we saw some good racing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
This particular guest did not stay with us. It was race weekend and we require a valid credit card for the room. We take advanced deposit for the room; however, this guest did not provide a valid credit card. As we tried to process the credit card the card was declined. We tried contacting guest for 2 weeks straight and we got no response; therefore, we were forced to cancel the reservation due to high volume of requests from other guests for reservations. We offered guest to be moved; however, guest was rude and walked out. There was not much we could have done for this particular guest. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience, but did as much possible to help the guest.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel looks new. I would guess 3-7 years old. Entry was clean and check-in was quick. The room was just as described. 2 queen beds separated by a partial wall to a small living room area with a couch which can open to a bed. Room was very clean also!
Breakfast was a little above your typical hotel breakfast of waffles, cereals, and donuts. It also offered biscuits and gravy and omelets!
From the hotel, it was a straight shot down highway 58 to Damascus and all the Virginia Creeper trail bike companies. It took about 10 minutes to get there.
Going the other way on highway 58 brings you right into the historic downtown of Abingdon. Great place to wander around and eat also!
Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. My only small complaint is the pool looks like it was an afterthought. It's very small and oddly shaped right next to the parking lot.Kids still enjoyed it though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are conveniently located to the Virginia Creeper Trail and very close to historic downtown. Guests love our location. Our hotel is well kept up, and in the near future we are going to remodel the whole hotel. Our Suites are extremely nice considering the room is split into two separate rooms with French doors dividing the room. Our breakfast does offer various items. I agree I wished our pool was much larger; however, it is something we cannot enlarge. Thank again for your review.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here as part of our annual bike trip to the States. We have been here before and made this hotel one of our stops again this year. Very convenient to get to right off the highway. Once again got a hot tub room which was great after a long day of riding. Large room, 1 King bed which was very comfortable. Fireplace, nice clean bathroom, good shower. For you bikers, just turn right out of the parking lot and you are on The Crooked Hwy # 58 and away you go eastbound. Huddle House, convenience store and gas station on the same lot. Front desk staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast area is large, good food in the morning to get you started. Outdoor pool well kept. Parked the bikes under the overhang in view of front desk staff and protected from the elements. One of our favourite hotels. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We have many guests that come to ride their bikes on the Virginia Creeper Trail. We are located quite close to the trail. Our Jacuzzi Suite is our best room. I love the fireplace the most. We can even put your bikes in our maintenance closet for next time. We strive to make our customers pleased with their trips. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you again for your review.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

For 38 years I have attended a family reunion in Abingdon and in recent years have most often stayed for 3 nights at the Quality Inn & Suites, wherer most of our non-local family members stay. Our first night get-together is held in the conference room, where we eat and socialize. This is one of the best motels/hotels in Abingdon. The included hot breakfast is outstanding (scrambled eggs, cheese omlets, sausage gravy and biscuits, bacon, sausage patties, waffles, yogurt, cereals of all types, orange and grape juice, as well as the typical continental breakfast items.
My main criticisms: On Sunday no one came to make my bed all day (a first for me at any property I have ever visited!) and my card key for my room did not work, so that I had to take the elevator back down to the lobby and wait to have it re-programmed. Other improvements should include 1. safe in the room! 2. more tables for the breakfast area. 3. more than the 2 luggage carts. This is a very busy and high-occupancy time, due to the many people attending the Highland Festival activities. Internet connection was slow.

Room Tip: I like the non-smoking rooms on the thirt floor - 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Our conference room benefits many groups with reunions, weddings, sport groups, and etc. It is a nice perk to have for our groups. I agree with you about our breakfast to say it is outstanding. We do always strive to clean our rooms; however, when a guest has a DO NOT DISTURB sign outside the door we are not allowed to enter the room. We will always come and clean your room throughout the day. We are in the process of remodeling the hotel, and I agree we do need more seating area in the breakfast bar. When we do remodel we will put that solution in affect. We do not have space for 3 luggage carts, but will take that in consideration. Again, we appreciate your review. Thank you.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On a recent road trip vacation, we spent one night in Abingdon at the Quality Inn and Suites. The location was very convenient to area attractions. Despite being the most inexpensive hotel on our vacation, it was as comfortable and clean as the other hotels we stayed in during our trip. We had a spacious first-floor room which appeared to be recently updated. The complimentary breakfast offered a nice variety of food, which was kept well-stocked during a busy morning. The selection included eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, bagels, hot and cold cereal, waffle station, donuts, fruit, yogurt, cappuccino, hot chocolate, and coffee. I definitely recommend the Quality Inn and Suites and would stay at this location in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We do offer a pretty reasonable price. Our breakfast does offer various items. We hope to see you again. Again, we appreciate your review.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, pa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first stay here and we will definitely be back. We take a yearly trip and it is a perfect halfway stopping point. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean with more then enough towels/supplies. Breakfast was yummy and the pool was well maintained and very refreshing. Loved that they have it heated so it was welcoming even in the evening! The town is also very cute and was fun to walk around with our younger children. The icing on the cake was that it is right off of the highway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review. Our guests do enjoy our breakfast and the heated pool is definitely a perk. Abingdon is a great family town and our location is very convenient. Again, thank you for the great review. Look forward to seeing you again.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 930 E Main Street, I-81 & Highway 58, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel is ideally located off Interstate 81, just two miles from the Virginia Creeper National Recreation Trail. This Abingdon hotel is convenient to many area attractions and businesses,including Emory & Henry College, Abingdon Cinemall and Johnston Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Abingdon
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.