We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Dog Brick Oven

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moon Dog Brick Oven
1099 Ole Berry Dr., Abingdon, VA
(276) 525-1655
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 81 Restaurants in Abingdon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awkward”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The ordering process at this restaurant is very awkward. It's set up deli style where you order and pay at the beginning. That makes it very difficult to order more beer (which you might want to do with this type of food). The atmosphere is virtually non-existent, was it decorated by a crappy software program? Finally, the food was uninspiring. Wouldn't go back, wouldn't recommend.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive for this area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Ate here for lunch with co-workers back in August 2011. I live near this place and have not felt the need to go back because while the food was fine, I felt like the price was too high. It's a new place (less than a year old) in the town of Abingdon, where everything is more expensive than it is is if you drive 10 miles to Bristol. For some reason, these people think everything is better if it costs more. I had a salad and it was not as I ordered it, although it was corrected immediately. The wait was too long for the food for lunch. People who go for lunch need to be able to get in and out in 45 mins or less and that did not happen.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
2 reviews
“Moondogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

good food at good price point,clean,good service,lots of kids

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NEVER EAT HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

They wouldn't give us water after 5 hours of riding the Virginia Creeper without charging $1.50 per bottle, that they bottle themselves. There are 5 of us in our family so that would be expensive for each to have 2 or more bottles each. The only way we could get water is going into their filthy smelling restroom and using the tap. Also when our food arrived we asked for utensils and they just pointed to a stand at the door. When we ordered this was never mentioned "Make sure you pick up your utensils." Probably one of our worst experiences EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Dog Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to Moon Dog Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Dog Brick Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.