We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A powerful display of American Crafts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartwood: Southwest Virginia's Artisan Gateway

Heartwood: Southwest Virginia's Artisan Gateway
1 Heartwood Circle, Abingdon, VA
276-492-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Abingdon
Type: Art Galleries, Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conveniently located off of Exit 14 on Interstate 81, Heartwood is a must-see destination for those who cherish traditional music, original crafts, and regional cuisine. The 30,000 square food facility features crafts, music, food, coffee, and wine from the 19 county, 4 city 'Round the Mountain region of Southwest Virginia, juried under the strictest quality standards to ensure the "best of the best" are represented.Our performance area features live music strummed and sung by famous and soon to be famous area musicians. You'll find a large collection of traditional American music and handmade instruments crafted by master artisans in our Crooked Road Store. Unique memorabilia is also available for fans of all ages. Heartwood's four galleries entice visitors with jewelry, pottery, quilts, and hand turned creations from regional artisans. The food at Heartwood represents the best of Southwest Virginia's artisan farms and traditional fresh from scratch recipes. Heartwood chefs use regionally grown food whenever possible and our dishes reflect time honored Suothwest Virginia recipes. Visit our wine and coffee bar for the best Southwest Virginia roasted coffees and award winning regional wines. In addition our expansive daily menu, Heartwood offers a Thursday night barbeque menu from 6 to 9 p.m. with live music (open jam, youth music performances, or regional venue showcases) during part of that time, a Friday Night Virginia Coast Fresh Seafood Buffet from 6 to 9 p.m., and a Farm Fresh Sunday Gospel Brunch from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.Heartwood is also available for weddings and other special events, during or after regular business hours. Located in picturesque Abingdon, Va., Heartwood is a convenient, unequaled stop for shopping and dining. Heartwood is open seven days a week: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Thursday and Friday, 10 a.m. to 9 p.m., and Sunday 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A powerful display of American Crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped in on our way out of town after a great visit. It was really a great way to end our first trip to Abingdon. We enjoued touching and feeling where appropriate and just staring in amazement otherwise. The lady doing ceramic vases was fun to talk to and the greeter gave us a good overview of the whole place.

We didn't eat there but the food loooked like we should have.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss the wine-tasting & food pairing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our tour of the Heartwood Artisan Center was during the Virginia Highland's Festival in early August. The staff, both in the display areas, gift shop, and cafe were especially helpful. We enjoyed touring the array of local crafts and were able to top off the visit with a nice coffee and glass of regional wine. We returned later that evening for a wine tasting and food-pairing....a definitely not to miss event during the festival, especially for the food tasting. Heartwood has a marvelous chef.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Heartwood is a juried showcase for artisans in southwest Virginia. They have a wide range of high end crafts, including quilts, weaving, soaps, stained glass, ceramics, furniture, wood carving and musical instruments - plus so much more. We visited twice today: in the morning we went to check out the crafts and were blown away by what we saw. In the evening we came back to the cafe, had dinner (which was excellent, as was the service), and listened to a bluegrass jam session which was a lot of fun. Everyone of the staff we encountered was wonderful. The setting, in the Appalachian mountains is gorgeous, and their building is very interesting. This is a place I would enjoy returning to just to see what they have. If you like beautiful crafts in a beautiful setting, don't miss Heartwood.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heartwood Artisan Center, Abingdon Va”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great, beautiful located on the campus of the community college. All the counties in the region participate to show the public sample of their arts--everything from making the musical instruments, to quilts, pottery, paintings, glassworks. Even a wine shop featuring the wines from the region, neat little cafe. Don't miss this early in your visit to Abingdon Va.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I once again visited Heartwood on Saturday, May 19, 2012. It is enjoyable to go in and see crafts from 19 different counties in Southwest Virginia. There was one woman from Nash's Ford that was making bunnies inside when we arrived. The center is well done and has nice restrooms. There are many paintings, crafts and artistic things to purchase. The cafe has changed to a sit down restaurant. I did not try the food this time though. Heartwood is a good stop for people passing through this area on Interstate 81. They can come off Exit 14 and be at Heartwood in just a little while. The center is visible from I-81.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartwood: Southwest Virginia's Artisan Gateway also viewed

 

Been to Heartwood: Southwest Virginia's Artisan Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartwood: Southwest Virginia's Artisan Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.