We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rain Restaurant & Bar

Rain Restaurant & Bar
283 E. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210
+1 276-739-2331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: their phone is 276 739 2331 at same location of former Willa Jacks. We live in Abingdon and its our "new" favorite place to eat.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Welcome Surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Good, simple, inexpensive menu. Quick and competent service. Too loud to eat inside and the outdoor dining is dead close to route 11 with lots of traffic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    67
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

A menu that is a bit more uptown than this small town in southwest Virginia. Friendly staff, nice location, eclectic menu.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

First visit to Rain with friends for girls' night out and we were not disappointed! Very modern yet comfortable atmosphere. Nicely low-lit with upscale feel, Rain fills the need for fine dining in Abingdon. The service was impeccable and our server was very knowledgable regarding the entrees and wines. The food was delicious with decent portions. The prices were what we expected for this caliber of restaurant. This is definitely not a place you'd visit every day but it certainly is a wonderful fine dining oasis and would be perfect for special occasions or an occasional evening out.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our dinner.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I ate at Rain in Abingdon before we went to the Barter Theater. Our food was good. Service was good. Our waiter did not tell us about changes to the menu or the specials so we missed having an opportunity to order those items. I mentioned this to the host, telling him that our waiter was very good, maybe a little inexperienced and could use more training. We will go back again when we are in Abingdon.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food skip the mojitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Food was superb. My sisters ordered mojitos they were not good and we asked to replace them. We were told they would try and fix the existing drinks. They were no improvement. Theh should have replaced them instead. We would still come back the food is GREAT.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rain Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rain Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rain Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.