We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine Weekend 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
410 Green Spring Road, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine Weekend 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We came to Abingdon this particular weekend to meet our dear friends from Atlanta (about half way) since we live in Canton, Ohio. We have been to Abingdon on more than one occasion but this is the first time we stayed at Black's Fort Inn. We love the town and country of this beautiful area and always look forward to going. The entire weekend was wonderful while catching up with old friends and making new ones with the owners of this B & B. Cindy and Jimmy went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed a comfortable home, delicious food, and great conversation. Cindy's breakfasts on Sat. & Sun. were absolutely fabulous. The food alone is worth the stay, not to mention the ability to enjoy our part of their home in privacy and comfort along with this other couple. We look forward to staying at Black's Fort Inn again in the future when the weather is warmer. We will bike, go back into town, eat at the great restaurants, and enjoy the horses, pets, and landscape of their lovely property. Debbie and David

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We needed a place to stay for the weekend with our college friends. We like to meet half way. This is the place!!! It was perfect for what we wanted. Everything about Black's Fort Inn is wonderful from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave.
The owners, Cindy and Jimmy, are so friendly and helpful. They made reservations for us at The Tavern for one night. They gave us suggestions on other places to eat ( and were right)
They had a large snack awaiting when we arrived. Cindy is a superb cook and baker.
The breakfasts were out of this world. We have stayed at many B&Bs before and they all have a signature dish that they prepare, but like my husband said," Cindy's are all signature dishes."
The bedrooms are large. The beds comfortable. They have a large area to sit and hang out together. I would highly recommend this place if you want a wonderful weekend away.
Dale and Pam

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossipee, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at Black's Fort Inn in June. The extensive views, waterfall, gorgeous gardens and critters are soothing and joyful. The rooms are lovely and cozy, a vase of fresh picked flowers a homey touch. The suite is well appointed; anything one might need available. Everything was clean, airy and bright. Hosts Jimmy and Cindy are charming, friendly and down to earth, both with a great sense of humor. Cindy is a fabulous cook and if I were closer, I'd be there often for breakfast!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a family, the Waterfall Suite is perfect. If you're a couple or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This B & B was very nice, private. The setting is quite charming and comfortable. The rooms are cozy and private. The hosts are extremely friendly and the breakfasts were to die for. I would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time visiting Abingdon, a town we found vey randomly on line. We wanted a romantic, relaxing get away over the long holiday weekend and had exactly that. Jimmy and Cindy are wonderful hosts- friendly, personable and full of suggestions on things to do.

We stayed in the master bedroom of the waterfall suite and enjoyed the space to ourselves. The decor is quaint and comfortable, the kitchen has everything we needed, and the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The bed was very comfortable and we left wishing we could take it home to sleep on!

The breakfasts Cindy made us were delicious! Pumpkin pancakes, biscuits and sausage gravy, an amazing caramel apple stuffed French toast... Oh my yum!

The town was great, we went to a Christmas play at the Barter Theater, shopped in the local galleries, had amazing meals at the Tavern and Wild Flour bakery cafe! toured local artist communities and even visited the Wolf Hills Brewery. 3.5 days of wonderful,

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other spaces but I highly recommend the Waterfall Suite, there is a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've enjoyed many B&B's in Abingdon over the last 20 years. Inn Keepers, accommodations and breakfasts -in varying degrees-have all been good experiences . Cindy at Black Fort Inn, however, raises the ante! She's vibrant and welcoming, her Inn is imbued with the warmth and beauty of a tri generational family house. The walnut wood throughout the house is reason enough to visit!

And her breakfasts are simply off the map! An excess of devine dishes every morning and the most delicious chocolate chip cookies I've ever eaten. She also thoughtfully packed me some warm apple nut muffins for my early departure home.

There are two porch/decks that view the pastoral setting: cows, horses, pond. And Cindy showing us her wonderful Gypsy horses was a treat for a horse-shy person.

I highly recommend the Black Fort Inn. It's right next door to the Creeper Trail and only a few blocks from the Barter Theater (Cindy will arrange tickets) and the charming downtown of Abingdon. There's a good selection of videos that we didn't get too-we'll do it next visit!

I also enjoyed the resident animals (out-door), Pebbie the blind Lab and Loretta , a white "talking" cat. And Jim should get a mention- his love of Black Fort and the Virginia countryside was obvious.

Room Tip: downstairs rooms have tv's and a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay at Black's Fort Inn. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The bed was very comfortable, the room was cozy and we loved the attached private sun porch. The view was beautiful and the Inn was very conveniently located near the Virginia Creeper Trail. Jim and Cindy were wonderful hosts and made us feel like family. Cindy outdid herself with delicious homemade breakfasts and desserts. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Hotel and Spa
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
9.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 410 Green Spring Road, Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black's Fort Inn is truly a very unique Bed & Breakfast. Our property looks as if we are out in the country but we are right in the middle of town situated on nine acres with sculpted hills, lots of trees and rolling hills. We are able to provide our guests with privacy as most of our Bed & Breakfast is designed for that purpose. Our pond is nearly an acre and has a waterfall where the water cascades down over the rocks makes the most soothing, relaxing sound, creating one of the most peaceful settings in the world. The outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting overlooks our farm, pond and waterfall. The pond also serves as a habitat for several species of wild fowl and if you can relax long enough you can see the Canadian Geese fly in and land on the pond for their rest before leaving the next morning.Our outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting. It overlooks our farm, pond and the lovely waterfall. We have a second porch that is equally spacious including a grape arbor that winds up at a cozy covered porch with the perfect view of our waterfall. Our guests tell us how peaceful and beautiful our property is.I love to cook for all of our guests and one of my most famous & favorite breakfast dishes requested is our "Cat Head" Biscuits & Gravy.Such wonderful memories are made here, and we make so many nice friends. All of the priceless memories we have of each of our guests make us so happy that we can share our beautiful place with our wonderful guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list