We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little house in sweet Abingdon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked Cabin Properties

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Cabin Properties
Save
You added Crooked Cabin Properties to your Saves list
459 Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Alexandria VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming little house in sweet Abingdon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our family of four just spent three nights at the Crooked Cabin and enjoyed every moment. We loved the way the house felt like a home as soon as we arrived, including the welcome note with fresh cookies in the living room and the apple coffee cake that we found waiting for us in the refrigerator. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could need, and the bedrooms had plenty of blankets (and the A/C worked well too, as it was a hot day when we arrived). We were right on Main Street, but it was a quiet block and we didn't hear much street noise at all. Great to be able to walk to restaurants for dinner. The Wolf's Hill brewery is just a few blocks away, with live music on weekend evenings. Highly recommended for families who are looking for a charming way to spend some time in Southwest Va.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the "crooked" flooring -- you need to be able to walk around and get up an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Abington could not be a more perfect destination--- if you are looking for a cozy place to stay with loads of character choose the Crooked Cabin. Very clean with all comforts of being at home. It is within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

A wonderful experience in a lovely historic town. We had a 20 year reunion at the Brook House and it could not have been more perfect. Spacious,clean, we had everything we needed for a perfect weekend. I highly reccommend any of the Crooked Cabins for your special event.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Over the years I have stayed in each and every Crooked Cabin property. Each one has its own "personality". The decorating is warm and inviting, and the attention paid by the proprietors is second to none. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: How many people want to be together?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the Meadow Cottage with family of four adults and loved it! It was clean, charming and gave us all enough space! The kitchen was wonderfully equipped and it was easy to cook there. It was so private and we so enjoyed sitting on the back lawn in the adirondack chairs! We enjoyed doing the Virginia Creeper trail and hiking with a wonderful home base to come back to. The beds were comfortable, the towels plush and the owners were so nice to have the charcoal grill with charcoal there. There was lots of juice in the fridg , teas and coffees and a breakfast pastry. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We made a trip to the Abingdon area to go to the Townhouse restaurant and to the Virginia Highlands festival. My parents were joining my husband, son, and I for the trip. We decided not to stay in a hotel so that we would have living space to hang out in together (particularly after my son went to bed). We decided to rent a house and found the Brook house through Crooked Cabin Properties. It was exactly what we wanted. There was a very large living room as well as a smaller den, but in truth we spent most of our free time hanging out on the back porch. The back porch also was a great place to eat breakfast and drink coffee in the morning. The kitchen was VERY well stocked and we appreciated being able to prepare a few meals there. The owners provided delicious breakfast pastries on the day of arrival and departure as well as coffee and juice.
The house was probably about a mile from the festival and easily walkable.
The downstairs of the house can be rented separately. Someone else was renting that space while we were there, which initially concerned us a little, but we couldn't hear them at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crooked Cabin Properties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Cabin Properties

Address: 459 Valley Street NE, Abingdon, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crooked Cabin Properties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.