We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable & enjoyable expereince” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Town Creek

Inn on Town Creek
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Town Creek
445 E Valley St, PO Box 1745, Abingdon, VA 24212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Portland, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable & enjoyable expereince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We fortunately were referred to The Inn on Town Creek by the operator of another B&B who was scheduled to be out of town when we were coming to Abingdon to visit family. Abingdon itself is a great little city with attractions that range from theater to paved hiking paths. The Inn is located in a quiet, attractive neighbor hood with beautifully maintained grounds. A rambling, interesting home that invites the inspection of its collection of antiques and collectables. The Terrace Side Room, which we have now stayed in twice, was plenty spacious for the 3 day visits. Dean's breakfasts ( together with his relaxed Southern hospitality) served on the back patio however is the attraction that draws us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had such a wonderful time staying here in Oct. 2011 we decided to reurn in Oct. 2012. We stayed in the Hideaway Room again and just loved it. Linda is very hospitable. Dean makes a breakfast to die for. The area around Abingdon, Virginia is absolutely beautiful. If you plan to stay in Abingdon please give the Inn of Town Creek a try. You might find yourself returning just like we did this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

First: the directions on the Website made this B&B much harder to find than it should have been (took us two tries to get it right). Second, our reception was not very welcoming--more about reciting rules than making us feel welcome. It felt like staying overnight with your richest, meanest aunt, and worrying all of the time about making a mess. The "charming" bric-a-brac seemed like it was there, not for ambience, but as a dare for any guest to break or steal. The bed in our suite was way too high off the floor (almost required a ladder to scale it) and the mattress was as hard as cement. The breakfast menu had no options for non-egg-eaters or tomato-haters, when some toast or muffins would have sufficed. (Other B&Bs in the region politely asked if we had special food preferences or restrictions--this one didn't.) Overall, the Inn seemed much too pleased with itself and VERY over-priced for the rigid services & lack of congeniality. Shared our breakfast table with a lovely young couple from Grundy, Va.--but the B&B doesn't get credit for their personal charm.

Room Tip: The room prices vary, but they all have sun--and the grounds are extensive. No advantage to going wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was a mixed bag for us.

On the one hand, we appreciated the yard, which featured lovely landscaping that was the site of a wedding the evening we arrived. The house itself was spacious and spotless, and the breakfast the next morning was a treat that included an egg casserole, sausage, fresh fruit and a pastry that was cold but tasty.

On the other hand, the house was so filled with knick-knacks and memorabilia that there seemed to be scant room for people. Unlike many B&Bs where we've stayed, there was little common area where guest could congregate except for the veranda.

The lack of a gathering area could have been redeemed by a welcoming plate of homemade cookies or a glass of wine. While the inn didn't go that far, they did offer packaged peanuts and granola bars, atop a small fridge that contained water and soft drinks.

Another disappointment was the lack of Internet service, which apparently had worked only sporadically since a recent installation of new equipment.

When we went to empty some water out of our cooler into the kitchen sink, the owner appeared immediately and asked, "May I help you?" We felt as if we'd been busted, doing something wrong.

I guess the bottom line was that we felt like we were just renters in the home, instead of welcome guests. Maybe it was just an off day. But at $196 for the night, we expected more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was our second time to stay. It won't be our last. Last week we were booked in for two nights with our daughter from California, and our son and his wife from Chattanooga, We didn't want to leave. Sooooo.....we stayed another night! You couldn't feel more welcome. The house is lovely and Dean serves a great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times, and with different friends along, and always have a good time. Great breakfasts and a very nice property inside and out.... Highly recommend when looking to stay in the Abingdon, VA/Bristol, TN area.... Near the Virginia Creeper Trail, and lots to do....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Beautiful home with lovely gardens. Clean and comfortable with very kind people running it. The breakfasts outdoors on the patio were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Town Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Town Creek

Address: 445 E Valley St, PO Box 1745, Abingdon, VA 24212
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Town Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn on Town Creek to your Saves list