We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place we'd go back to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Town Creek

Inn on Town Creek
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Town Creek
Save
You added Inn on Town Creek to your Saves list
445 E Valley St, PO Box 1745, Abingdon, VA 24212   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not a place we'd go back to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was a mixed bag for us.

On the one hand, we appreciated the yard, which featured lovely landscaping that was the site of a wedding the evening we arrived. The house itself was spacious and spotless, and the breakfast the next morning was a treat that included an egg casserole, sausage, fresh fruit and a pastry that was cold but tasty.

On the other hand, the house was so filled with knick-knacks and memorabilia that there seemed to be scant room for people. Unlike many B&Bs where we've stayed, there was little common area where guest could congregate except for the veranda.

The lack of a gathering area could have been redeemed by a welcoming plate of homemade cookies or a glass of wine. While the inn didn't go that far, they did offer packaged peanuts and granola bars, atop a small fridge that contained water and soft drinks.

Another disappointment was the lack of Internet service, which apparently had worked only sporadically since a recent installation of new equipment.

When we went to empty some water out of our cooler into the kitchen sink, the owner appeared immediately and asked, "May I help you?" We felt as if we'd been busted, doing something wrong.

I guess the bottom line was that we felt like we were just renters in the home, instead of welcome guests. Maybe it was just an off day. But at $196 for the night, we expected more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was our second time to stay. It won't be our last. Last week we were booked in for two nights with our daughter from California, and our son and his wife from Chattanooga, We didn't want to leave. Sooooo.....we stayed another night! You couldn't feel more welcome. The house is lovely and Dean serves a great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times, and with different friends along, and always have a good time. Great breakfasts and a very nice property inside and out.... Highly recommend when looking to stay in the Abingdon, VA/Bristol, TN area.... Near the Virginia Creeper Trail, and lots to do....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Beautiful home with lovely gardens. Clean and comfortable with very kind people running it. The breakfasts outdoors on the patio were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were delighted to stumble on this breath-taking place to stay overnight. We were so delighted with our accommodations, we extended our stay. The Innkeeper, Mrs. Linda Neal was so welcoming and helpful suggesting things to do and places to eat that we kept ourselves busy enjoying her beautiful, historical town. Her Inn is filled with beautiful antiques and the breakfasts her served we all homemade and delicious. Our room was very comfortable and beautiful. The grounds that the Inn sits on we're well cared for and we enjoyed walking around. We will be back and highly recommend the Inn on Town Creek to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently moved to Abingdon, and stayed with Linda and Dean while we were looking for a permanent home. My husband also stayed at the Inn while he was on business in the area, and he said he always felt that he was coming "home" at the end of a busy day! The Inn itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms welcoming and comfortable, and the breakfasts are out of this world! Eating a beautifully prepared and delicious morning repast on the back terrace is an experience not to be missed. Hospitality is a Southern way of life, and Linda graciously provides that to all her guests. You won't be disappointed if you select this amazing B & B in lovely Abingdon, VA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stay at the Inn every chance we get when we visit Abingdon, after having tried most of the competition. It is so relaxing, comfortable, and home-like. We particularly enjoy the grounds, including the brook that runs through the property. It is perfect for a weekend trip for Barter Theater, and ideal as a place to stay during the Festival in August, which is a destination in itself. Well worth the price!

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Town Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Town Creek

Address: 445 E Valley St, PO Box 1745, Abingdon, VA 24212
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Town Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.