We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hidden Gem of Abingdon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alpine Motel to your Saves list
Alpine Motel
882 E. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Hidden Gem of Abingdon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were coming to Abingdon due to family being in the local hospital. The trip wasn't planned and money was tight. The Super 8 was booked solid and everything else in town was >100 a night. Distraught and worried we'd be sleeping in the car when we came across the Alpine we pulled up at 3am tired, wet and exhausted. Waking up the night clerk she was very nice in spite of the late hour and gave us a room for $49/night.

This room has ...
a fridge
a microwave
a desk
a small table and chair
two super comfy beds
a big tv
a shower with the most awesome massage head and one of those wide-curve curtains
a huge amount of free-space--you could easily sleep an entire family on the floor alone--more space than I've ever seen in a hotel before. The size of this room alone is amazing.

Now this isn't a 5-star luxury hotel. The threadbare towel, the peeling paint in some spots, overgrown bushes reflect that it is not going to be leaving a mint on your pillow but--I've paid twice as much for half as many ameneties in other places. This is the -best- value for your dollar in Abingddon. Period.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
43
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently found the Alpine Hotel on the way home from a road trip to Tennessee.After an awful stay at an Econo Lodge and walking out of the overpriced Holiday Inn Express down the hill we were so relieved to check in to our huge quiet room at the Alpine Hotel.Friendly staff, beautiful grounds and cows right next door.We would plan a weekend getaway just to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Whenever we are in the Abingdon area, we stay at the Alpine Motel. From our first experience here as the jumping-off point for a cross-country trip we took in August of 2000 to our most recent stay this past July, we have never been disappointed. This well-maintained vintage motel, nestled against the hillside above woods and farmland, offers clean, comfortable accommodations for the weary interstate traveler. The rooms are spacious, the air conditioning and plumbing work well, the mattresses are firm, and the fridge, microwave, and TV provide the finishing touches we appreciate. Very reasonable rates, consistently high quality, peaceful surroundings just minutes off the interstate~~we couldn't ask for anything more! No chains for us ~~when we arrive in Abingdon, we KNOW where to stay!

Room Tip: Any room we've stayed in has been comfortable; we have no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were driving thru Southern Virgina, hoping to find a motel when we saw the Alpine Motel's roof-top sign glowing in the night sky. It seemed to beckon us, and the promise of avoiding some dismal chain motel was too much to ignore- in fact, we missed the exit and had to turn back to get to it. We found the place simple and clean, with BIG rooms, and fantastic 50s ambiance. Too bad there aren't more motels like this. If you love mid century or retro stuff in general, don't miss this little jewel.

Room Tip: Look for their roof-top sign- you can see it from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It is an older motel, but very well maintained. our room was very large (plenty of room for us & our stuff) & clean!
It was amazing how close to the highways it was but how quiet it was..hardly heard any road noise at all. Our favorite part..sitting outside looking at the view...morning sunrises, afternoon breaks from hiking & bike riding, evenings watching the distant mountains change colors as the sun set. The fridge & microwave were nice to have. Good cable TV. It was great to park right in front of the room..no lugging suitcases, etc up & down stairs & hallways.

Wish I could find a motel like this one, every where I travel!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the cow pastures! Seriously..they are quieter & the mountain views are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked a one night stay by phone at the Alipine Mote based on good T/A reviews. It was difficult to understand the inn keeper, so I felt like this was going to be a bit of an "adventure," but for $60, we were totally up for it. Upon arrival, my wife and I were immediately digging the 1960's retro-ness of the road sign, and the motel, which felt kind of like a movie set. While the place showed a little age here and there, the grounds and surroundings were immaculate. I think the misty cow pasture (with live cows!) next to the motel, plus the gorgeous full moon rising behind the mountain range in the distance must have cast a spell on us, because we were loving everything from the seafoam green formica counter top to the well-worn mid-century chairs. I have not stayed in a motel like this since i was little, so it was fun to go back in time and remember how easy it was to park your car right in front of your door, unlike most modern hotels that have interior hallways and elevators. But after the cool kitch of the place wore off a little, a few things we noted that you might want to prepare for. The rooms are larger than normal, but they are not new, so things like outlets are sparse, a couple lamps didn't work, and the wall a/c unit was quite loud (I actually liked the "white-noise" which drowned everything else out at night.) While the bathroom is enclosed, the sink and large counter are right out in the open, so a passer-by could see right in, if the curtains or door were open. However, everything seemed clean, and the turquoise ceramic accents were groovyl! Our room was a smoking room (all they had left) so everything including our clothes were permeated with smoke smell by morning. It was actually hard to get used to (and I'm an ex-smoker). I would have expected the room to be deodorized a little better, but the a/c helped. There was a couple nice freebies - wireless internet worked great, fridge, ice machine, etc. The breakfast was basically coffee, white bread, some cheap danish and dry cereal (no milk). Just plan to run up the road to McD's or a few other places for coffee/breakfast. There were a couple surley characters next door hanging around on their front porch. Not really a big deal - we thought they might be actors (in the movie were were in! X)) Otherwise, a fun, safe place to stay for a great price. We were off to the Virginia Creeper shuttle in Damascus the next morning, so it was an easy 15 to our destination from the Alpine Motel.

Room Tip: Try to get a non-smoking if your sensitive to smoke. Bring a few things for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charltte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My experience is the same as most reviewers. It has what you need - comfortable beds and clean room. The internet connection is better than most hotels. And, the room we had was actually quite large compared to most hotels. But we loved the outside the most. We sat outside both nights in a field right next to the parking lot. It was beautiful to sit out and watch the color changes around the mountains as the sun went down behind us. For the money it is a great value. There are the typical problems you may see with age, but for the most part it was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 882 E. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motel Abingdon
Alpine Hotel Abingdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.