We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Motel to your Saves list
Alpine Motel
882 E. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
amelia, va
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must stay place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I have family in Abingdon and am originally from there and hate to think that I wasted many years staying at overpriced hotels. All though it is an older hotel it is extremely clean and the views are why I love Abingdon so much. There are chairs outside of each room to enjoy the landscape and it is cheap and close to all amenities. If you truly want a mountain experience with Southern Charm, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
43
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Drove from Atlanta and stayed here on our way to Mt Rogers National Recreation Area for a few days of backpacking. Rooms were clean and spacious. Very basic (be sure to bring your own toiletries and blow dryer) but we were very happy for $50/night. We stayed there twice during our trip. Close to restaurants. Hotel staff is quite friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

While I hate to make a comment - hence giving away the secret - not sure where the other commenter came up with $190 a night --- I've stayed at this place several times and we've never paid more than $60 a night. The rooms are very spacious - but my favorite part are the chairs right outside your door where you can sit at night and watch the beautiful mountain view. Park your car right outside the door, no lugging heavy luggage up the stairs. Continental breakfast is nothing to brag about but we always look forward to having breakfast at the Cherokee (1 mile down the road) - country breakfast, great service - cheap. Denny (owner) is always very friendly, his dad is quiet and could possibly give off the idea of being unfriendly, when actually I think he is just shy. Internet wifi in the rooms - I'm sorry folks - I would take this place over a chain any day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

If you're looking for something a little different than the chain hotels, this is the place to stay in Abingdon. plenty of room inside for bikes, and close to the Virginia Creeper Trail. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We arrived on a friday, paid $190 a night. owner was very rude did not talk or explain anything.. Just wanted his money. Room was large and clean.The window was broken and held closed with a rock. The room was very cold and the heater is a JOKE. Its a air conditioner/heater and barley gets warm..We would go out during the day and leave the heater on so the room would be warm when we came back but, the owners would shut the heater off. They do have an ice machine but dont take more than one bucket of ice because they get upset and unplugged it on us.Not only did they unplug it but they also took the water line off..This was a nascar race weekend everyone needs ice. CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP..And the Continental breakfast is 3 day old donuts THATS IT..Plus they live in the back of the office so as soon as you enter for coffee the owner comes out and stares at you like you shouldn't be there. Before you even get the sugar, he comes and starts cleaning up after you as to push you out. no milk no juice nothing but old donuts and coffee

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was my second stay at this motel. Rooms are very large and clean. Enjoy the views right from the front door. Much more affordable than the big chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This room was very spacious and adequate. For the price, it was definitely better than I expected. My only complaint was the AC--it was practically non-existent. It was a window unit built into the wall in the bathroom. It was noisy and did not cool at all, which left the room very stuffy. The air in the mountains was cool, so we would have been fine, if we could have opened the windows, but they would not open.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 882 E. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motel Abingdon
Alpine Hotel Abingdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.