We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Abingdon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Las Cruces, nm
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean, clean, clean. Absolutely no dirt on room floor as they shampoo carpets frequently. The breakfast area had just been shampooed and that was a great feeling knowing what other hotels offer. The owners take excellent care of this facility as everything is freshly painted or appears so, all maintenance done. No issues. Loved this hotel and their staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do all that we can to ensure that our facility is as clean and problem free as we can make it. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
54
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vinton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA is a wonderful place to stay if you are in the Abingdon area. The staff is so courteous and always trying to see that your needs are met. The Hostess for the breakfast is a great lady. She will keep you informed on activities or places to visit in the area. She remembers you name and that you have been there before. At present they are involved in renovating some rooms. There is a good deal with the Barter Theatre--you get two theatre tickets and your night's lodging for $165. It is a great deal. We plan to spend Thanksgiving in Abingdon and go to the Barter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. Since your stay we have completed the renovations in our king rooms with walk in showers and our executive king rooms. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwanee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After making Southwest VA my home for 52 years, I relocated to Georgia in 2011 and needed to find a temporary home when I revisited the Abingdon area. Well, I not only found a temporary home but I also found a new family at the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA.

After many visits to "my" hotel, I can say with all honesty that I have never had a reason to complain about the facilities or the staff. The hotel is truly a place of respite for me, and I feel "at home" from the time I enter the front doors. I hesitate to mention names since everyone is so kind. However, Danny and Ashley (front desk) and Jane (breakfast hostess) have become special friends. The management of Abingdon's Holiday Inn Express can expect complete loyalty from this guest!

Room Tip: Just tell the very competent staff what you desire, and they will do their very best to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are elated that you think of us as family and we look forward to have you stay with us again soon,

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here last night, June 20, 2013. Came in for a Barter production and a little relaxation. The hotel looks to have been renovated, at least the room we were in appeared to have newish carpet and bedding except for the dust ruffle. We had a quiet room, king bed, shower, no tub, which is ok with me. Toilet paper holder kept falling off the wall and rolling across the floor but that's no big deal. They serve breakfast 6:30 - 10AM with a nice array of breakfast food.
So you might be asking what's my problem and you'd be right because all of the above sounds fine. However in the last 2 years we have visited Barter Theater about 8 times and each time have stayed in the Quality Inn right beside the Holiday Inn Express for a price of $106 a night, each and every time. That includes a 2 room suite with 1 king bed, double doors between the two rooms and two flat screen tvs, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. I had noticed the rankings of the hotels on Tripadvisor with Holiday Inn Express being rated much higher so I thought we'd just try it despite the difference of almost $60. I could use a "luxury room" as stated online. Our $160 got us less at HIE than our $106 did at Quality Inn. In fact at least Quality Inn locks their side entrances so you need to swipe your key after 10PM for security. If you are going to charge that much more than the competitor beside you, at least provide the "luxury room" you advertise. I'll be back at Quality Inn next month.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear doxylover79,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, Ar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I drove for 11 hrs and walked into the HI and Danny greeted us at the desk, quickly checked us into a King Suite at the end of hall away from noise. He smiled and was so friendly we became friends immediatley. The price for the room was excellant. Room was clean, bed very comfortable. The breakfast was excellant, constantly kept hot and we loved the pancake machine!! The Lady attending the breakfast area kept it immaculate and smiled and was friendly to everyone.We really liked the variety of fruit avalable at night and hot coffee was fresh all night. Danny, the Ladies cleaning and the breakfast hostess were great!! I give it a "10" Oh and it was quiet even though it was full of guest.

Room Tip: King Executive was on bottom floor at end of the hall next to office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. The staff and I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed in Abingdon on our way to a week's vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We decided to break the trip into two shorter days and enjoy something along the way. Abingdon was about the right distance and we'd never been to the Barter Theater, so we decided to get the "Play-and-Stay" package offered by the theater. We were very pleasantly surprised at how very nice the Holiday Inn Express included in the package turned out to be. Without exception, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Everyone seemed to be very interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay and the lady in the breakfast room was especially enthusiastic about all the attractions in the area. The hotel breakfast was one of the better ones we've had. What a great credit the hotel staff is to Abingdon. We will look forward to opportunities to visit the area and stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you're visiting for the first time and seeing a play at The Barter Theater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Barters Stay and Play package. This is a very popular option that many of or guest take advantage of that is booked through the Barter Theaters ticket office. We go to great lengths to make sure every guest is taken care and has a wonderful experience while at our property here in Abingdon. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot express how wonderful the staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA were to us during our stay in May 2012 and again this year in 2013. Danny Owen, Front Desk Clerk, made all of us with the 961st Engineer Reunion , feel like we were part of his family. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly. We were very happy to see that Jane was also still on staff from last year in the breakfast bar. She always has a smile and a friendly word for everyone she meets. The food was also very good and included hot and cold breakfast items. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Abingdon area. We have already decided that if we have a reunion next year, it will probably be at the Holiday Inn in Abingdon, VA where we feel like family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We want everyone to feel like family when they visit our property. Danny and Jane along with the rest of our staff strive to make every guests stay a wonderful experience. We have enjoyed having your group with us over the past two years and look forward to having you stay with us again next year.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abingdon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to historic Abingdon, Virginia! The Holiday Inn Express Abingdon is nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians and is rich in history and charm. Founded in 1778, Abingdon is home to the world-famous Barter Theatre established in 1933 as the official state theater of Virginia. Stroll along the brick sidewalks in downtown historic Abingdon. The 17-mile Virginia Creeper Trail is a beautiful, unspoiled path, perfect for walking or biking. You might enjoy the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or the Arts Depot, which exhibits works from regional artists. Abingdon boasts many wonderful antique and specialty shops in our 20-block historic district, with several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Let us be your next getaway! Our recently renovated hotel features spacious rooms and a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day). Begin your day with our free Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties or sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, as well as yogurt, bananas, cereal and our signature cinnamon rolls. Enjoy our own 100% Arabica Smart Roast Coffee. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the property. For those of you traveling with pets, we have pet-friendly rooms available for a minimal fee, if reserved in advance. Let our friendly staff take care of you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Abingdon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.