We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Ever- Don't Change Anything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Abingdon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Jax, Ar
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Best Ever- Don't Change Anything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I drove for 11 hrs and walked into the HI and Danny greeted us at the desk, quickly checked us into a King Suite at the end of hall away from noise. He smiled and was so friendly we became friends immediatley. The price for the room was excellant. Room was clean, bed very comfortable. The breakfast was excellant, constantly kept hot and we loved the pancake machine!! The Lady attending the breakfast area kept it immaculate and smiled and was friendly to everyone.We really liked the variety of fruit avalable at night and hot coffee was fresh all night. Danny, the Ladies cleaning and the breakfast hostess were great!! I give it a "10" Oh and it was quiet even though it was full of guest.

Room Tip: King Executive was on bottom floor at end of the hall next to office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. The staff and I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
60
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed in Abingdon on our way to a week's vacation in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We decided to break the trip into two shorter days and enjoy something along the way. Abingdon was about the right distance and we'd never been to the Barter Theater, so we decided to get the "Play-and-Stay" package offered by the theater. We were very pleasantly surprised at how very nice the Holiday Inn Express included in the package turned out to be. Without exception, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Everyone seemed to be very interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay and the lady in the breakfast room was especially enthusiastic about all the attractions in the area. The hotel breakfast was one of the better ones we've had. What a great credit the hotel staff is to Abingdon. We will look forward to opportunities to visit the area and stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you're visiting for the first time and seeing a play at The Barter Theater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Barters Stay and Play package. This is a very popular option that many of or guest take advantage of that is booked through the Barter Theaters ticket office. We go to great lengths to make sure every guest is taken care and has a wonderful experience while at our property here in Abingdon. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot express how wonderful the staff at the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA were to us during our stay in May 2012 and again this year in 2013. Danny Owen, Front Desk Clerk, made all of us with the 961st Engineer Reunion , feel like we were part of his family. The room was very clean and housekeeping was very efficient and friendly. We were very happy to see that Jane was also still on staff from last year in the breakfast bar. She always has a smile and a friendly word for everyone she meets. The food was also very good and included hot and cold breakfast items. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the Abingdon area. We have already decided that if we have a reunion next year, it will probably be at the Holiday Inn in Abingdon, VA where we feel like family!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We want everyone to feel like family when they visit our property. Danny and Jane along with the rest of our staff strive to make every guests stay a wonderful experience. We have enjoyed having your group with us over the past two years and look forward to having you stay with us again next year.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

From storing our bicycles to informing us of a local festival going on during our stay, we can't applaud this staff enough. Staff was sincerely helpful and friendly(as opposed to "oh, not another guest to deal with.). The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, and the property seemed to be generally well cared for. The individual managing the breakfast kept the area clean and kept the food items well stocked, all while rotating among the guests to see if there was anything else she could get for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the interstate (to avoid the hum of the noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our staff always tries to deliver the highest level of service possible to every guest and visitor to our hotel. The staff and I are happy that you found your stay so enjoyable and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't not express in words how wonderful my stay was at the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon!! Unless things change as far as employees, you will never stay at a more friendlier place. I will try to tell you all the wonderful things I experienced while staying at this hotel in Abingdon. We went down to re-supply my son while he was hiking the Appalachian Trail. My daughter when with me and she has some physical disabilities, so I reserved a room with two double beds and handicapped shower. Since she was military I asked if they honored any kind of military discount. They said they did, but their quota had been met, unfortunately.
Upon arrival, we found out our room had been given to someone else. They bent over backwards to make sure we were happy and boy were we EVER!! They gave us a room with a king bed and handicapped shower and another room with 2 double beds for the price one one room and even allowed our military discount. The price went from what we expected it to be of $117 a night to $88 a night. WOW.
The people at the desk (especially the day guy) and the breakfast bar in the morning and the cleaning folks were SOOOOOOO NICE!!!
The breakfast bar was really good with a large variety of your typical breakfast menu. Everything was delicious. The breakfast bar had everything you wanted. There was coffee in place 24 hours a day with plenty of supplies (milk, sugar, flavored milk,etc...). We got our rooms very close to the front door and with the handicapped parking we didn't have to walk to far to get our stuff to our rooms and back, plus our rooms were side by side.
We had my daughter's service dog and they happily accepted him. If you walked to the outside door at the end of the hall they even had poop bags and a place for her to do her business.
The room was very nice, the beds extremely comfortable and there was a microwave/refrigerator in the room along with coffee pot and hair dryer. My room was a nice size and my daughter's room was HUGE.
There was not much of a view, but you could walk to several fast foods places (Huddle, Burger King, Wendy's and right next door was a sit down sea food/steak restaurant that was really good and the prices were reasonable. Also, downtown Abingdon and the Barter Theater as well as a great movie theater were only a couple of miles down the road.

I just can't say enough about the place. If you have to go to Abingdon, VA for any reason I would highly recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Express. I will mark excellent for all questions, but I wish there was a place I could put excellent PLUS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our property. I have addressed the issue of your accessible room being rented to another guest with the staff to ensure that this does not happen to another guest. I apologize for any inconvenience that was caused and am glad that the solution I provided to you met your family's needs. Our staff takes great pride in our property and the service we provide. The staff and I want every guest to have a positive experience with our property and the town of Abingdon. The staff and I enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. Good luck to your son as he continues his journey on the AT.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A college friend from the opposite direction and I decided to meet in Abingdon for a brief get-together, as it is a central location and has the added bonus of the Barter Theatre, a top-notch venue for play productions. We chose the Holiday Inn Express as they offered a deal combining a night's stay and tickets to the play, for a reduced rate. The Holiday Inn accommodations were standard but nice, clean, and spacious. All needs were met in a friendly, courteous manner by the very helpful staff. The only glitch was that the coffee maker did not work, but this was not a big deal as plenty of coffee and an array of breakfast items were available just down the hall. Each staff member, no matter the time, always greeted us very cordially. All in all it was a really nice stay.

Room Tip: We were given a choice of floors and chose a 1st floor room away from the vending machines. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologize about the coffee maker in the room not working. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Danny helped me at the front desk to get a room for my husband and myself that was never exposed to dog or cat dander. We are both allergic to animals and he succeeded in getting us a room that had never had dogs or cats in it. I was very surprised that he knew that I had stayed there before (over a year ago) while traveling to Tennessee. I will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that we could accommodate your specific needs for a pet free room. While we are a pet friendly hotel our third floor is completely pet free to accommodate guests with allergies. We thank you for your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to historic Abingdon, Virginia! The Holiday Inn Express Abingdon is nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians and is rich in history and charm. Founded in 1778, Abingdon is home to the world-famous Barter Theatre established in 1933 as the official state theater of Virginia. Stroll along the brick sidewalks in downtown historic Abingdon. The 17-mile Virginia Creeper Trail is a beautiful, unspoiled path, perfect for walking or biking. You might enjoy the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or the Arts Depot, which exhibits works from regional artists. Abingdon boasts many wonderful antique and specialty shops in our 20-block historic district, with several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Let us be your next getaway! Our recently renovated hotel features spacious rooms and a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day). Begin your day with our free Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties or sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, as well as yogurt, bananas, cereal and our signature cinnamon rolls. Enjoy our own 100% Arabica Smart Roast Coffee. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the property. For those of you traveling with pets, we have pet-friendly rooms available for a minimal fee, if reserved in advance. Let our friendly staff take care of you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Abingdon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.