We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Abingdon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, comfortable bed and pillows, good breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff, and worth the price. We stopped here for the night with our cat when we were moving to the Gulf coast. The pet-friendly room was exceptionally clean. The staff recommended a delicious BBQ restaurant, downtown, about 8 min away. The hotel is close to the highway and had ample space to park and turn around our moving truck (towing a car). We had another vehicle to take downtown for dinner and, if we didn't, it might have been difficult to find parking. The community takes a lot of pride in their town, which offers many restaurants, quaint stores, and historic buildings. If you call the hotel directly, they will give you a cheaper rate than you will find online. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Guest Service Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The staff and I are very happy that you so thoroughly enjoyed you stay with us during your move. The town of Abingdon and surrounding area have a great many things to offer to everyone, even if only passing through. We would like everyone that stays at our hotel to have as great an experience as you had during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
50
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed our stay. Very clean, a major point to my wife. We were so relaxed we slept to 9:50. So we missed breakfast. But the lady, cleaning up the breakfast area, got us whatever we wanted and was able to answer questions about Abington.

The person at the desk gave us excellent directions. They always had good coffee in the lobby and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Hotel beside Interstate so rooms to the far side my be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry R, Guest Service Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. We take great care to ensure that our guests are always taken care of and that our rooms are always clean and comfortable. We would like every guest to feel as relaxed as you and your wife did during your stay with us and we look forward to having you both stay with us again.
Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathfork, Kentucky, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice Holiday Inn Express. This is without a doubt the nicest staff of any place we have ever stayed. Had a conntinental breakfast, which was well stocked. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. The beds were very comfortable too. Rooms were clean also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding your stay with us. It is our goal to make everyone feel welcome and we are proud of our knowledgable, friendly staff.
We hope you return to stay with us very soon!
Best regards,
Angel Robertson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I checked off "couple trip" but you need to know we had 2 dogs with us and we were driving from PA to AZ. This hotel allowed our dogs and it was clean, nicely decorated, and totally relaxing. There were several restaurants in the area that delivered so we had a terrific in room dinner. Would definitely stay again! Thank you Holiday Inn Express for allowing pets! Would have stayed in more of your brand hotels in our 4 day drive but they didn't allow pets in all of them. A shame.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you PJJ Tuscon for your kind review! We love our guests, human and pets alike. Our housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of deep-cleaning each pet room and several guests have commented on the cleanliness of all our rooms, be they pet friendly or pet free. We do our best to provide comfortable accommodations to guests travelling with their pets and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you will stay with us again soon!
Angel Robertson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

In the last several years, I have traveled extensively throughout the U.S. on business and pleasure and I am always delighted to find good Holiday Inn Express properties in many medium-sized towns. My wife and I stopped in Abingdon for the night on a drive back from the Washington, D.C., area to our Georgia home. The desk clerk was extremely helpful in a number of ways. The breakfast layout was the best I've ever encountered at a Holiday Inn Express. I loved the walk-in shower in our room. This was a winner and I rank Abingdon at the very top among all the HI Express stays I've had. McAlester, Okla., is still my all-time favorite in this chain after staying there several weeks during a major murder trial at the local courthouse, but Abingdon now ranks a close second.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you oaktownboy_37! Your review was really encouraging to our staff and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
It is always appreciated when a guest takes the time to submit a response...positive or negative, we use our guest feedback to help is continue to improve. Our challenge now is to work toward a number one ranking!
We hope you will stay again with us soon and again, thank you so much for your kind words!
Angel Robertson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel had competitive rates, the staff was super friendly and honest, and the room was nice, clean and comfortable. Perfect for an inexpensive stay-over for the Creeper trail. The lady who does the breakfast was also working really hard to keep everything filled up on the very busy morning I was there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to stay again soon!
We take pride in our hard working, friendly staff and it is always wonderful when our guests take the time to recognize that.
Again, thank you!
Angel Robertson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had traveled from Arizona to Abingdon for our son's wedding and the hotel that the travel agent booked could not honor our reservation. We walked across the parking lot to the Holiday Inn Express, where they took us all in, found the exact accomodations we needed and cared for us like we were family. Danny and Larry at the front desk, Jane in the Breakfast area, Amie and Dawn with the housekeeping staff were exceptional-kind, efficient and truly caring. They even gave us a reduced rate to take some of the sting out of the problem with the other hotel. They had the perfect opportunity to gouge us, but instead gave us a discount and met our every need with a smile and an offer of future assistance. We will definately stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you would take the time to recognize the individuals who worked to make your stay a comfortable one! We pride ourselves on making sure each guest is valued and treated with an exceptional level of hospitality and it is always great to hear that our staff is exceeding expectations.
We look forward to having you visit again soon!
Until then, safe travels!
Angel Robertson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abingdon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to historic Abingdon, Virginia! The Holiday Inn Express Abingdon is nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians and is rich in history and charm. Founded in 1778, Abingdon is home to the world-famous Barter Theatre established in 1933 as the official state theater of Virginia. Stroll along the brick sidewalks in downtown historic Abingdon. The 17-mile Virginia Creeper Trail is a beautiful, unspoiled path, perfect for walking or biking. You might enjoy the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or the Arts Depot, which exhibits works from regional artists. Abingdon boasts many wonderful antique and specialty shops in our 20-block historic district, with several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Let us be your next getaway! Our recently renovated hotel features spacious rooms and a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day). Begin your day with our free Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties or sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, as well as yogurt, bananas, cereal and our signature cinnamon rolls. Enjoy our own 100% Arabica Smart Roast Coffee. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the property. For those of you traveling with pets, we have pet-friendly rooms available for a minimal fee, if reserved in advance. Let our friendly staff take care of you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Abingdon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.