We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Abingdon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I needed to get a room for a few nights while work was being done on our house. The Staff was extremley helpful and the breakfast that was provided was way more and better than what we expected. We plan on having our friends and family stay here when they come in to visit just due to the wonderful way we were treated during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your kind words and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to make sure each of our guests enjoys every aspect of their stay with us and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We hope that you will return any time you need a comfortable place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
50
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Va
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked this room through priceline. Ordinarily I would not have stayed at a Holiday Inn from past bad experiences. This hotel changed my mind. The room was spacious, spotless and nicely decorated. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and the female employee manning the complimentary breakfast station deserves a gold star. I will now consider Holiday Inn Express while traveling just from my pleasant experience at this hotel alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us here in Abingdon, VA. We are truly happy that you enjoyed yourself, and very pleased that you have decided to give the Holiday Inn Express brand a renewed chance! We hope you choose to stay with us in the future, and enjoy all your future experiences with Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the proximity to Damascus. Both me and my husband were very happy that I did. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was wonderfully comfortable! Also the water pressure was heaven. The pool felt great too (as it was 95 degrees outside.) The restaurants were nearby and having access to RT 81 was excellant! Absolutly no complaints! I will book there in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Ruth E P,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean, the staff was courteous, and the breakfast was priced right! The beds were a different story, they were awful. My wife commented they were like a canoe, we both wound up in the middle. Highway noise is an issue on the 3rd floor.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are sorry to hear that you had problems with your bedding and would love the opportunity to speak with you and get more details regarding this issue--we strive to correct any problems our guests encounter during their stay and if we have bedding that needs to be replaced we will be happy to do so. Please feel free to call the hotel directly so that we might inspect the room in question and correct this issue for future guests.
We certainly hope you will return to stay with us in the future and appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything about this hotel gave me mixed feelings. Our check -in was pretty slow. I believe the gentleman checking us in may have been new, but he was pleasant and we were patient. However, off to the other end of the counter a senior staff member was having a loud conversation with another cutomer about pet fees. This staff member was rather rude to the older ladies ( who stated several times they were repeat customers) he was dealing with and I should have never heard this conversation, in fact it probably should have never taken place.
We had a smoking room that did have a lingering stale odor. The hallways and common areas had no smell of smoke,pets or must. The stairwells were in need of some attention but nothing gross.
Bathroom did have poor lighting as others have stated but did have a wall to wall counter and shower was ok and clean. Beds were a little firm but the bedding was modern and clean. One thing I really do like is that the windows opened. Its was fairly large and nice to open in the evening- but this same rude staff member walked by our room (we were on first floor) at least 4 or 5 times and he looked in!!! Not stared in or anything but he had no reason to look our way, felt kinda invasive. Does have an outdoor pool which we did not use. Overall felt safe in room and parking lot. Probably not up to HIE standards but the room really was not that bad. Could hear the side exit door open/close in our room. Others further away may be quiter. I see some really bad reviews and some good ones. I would tell you to ask to see your room first and make your decision then. If you don't like it there is another hotel right next to it. The Huddle House is across the parking lot- we ate there and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: We were by the stairwell and side entrance and we could hear the door a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We appreciate your input and value your comments as a useful tool to improve the experience of all future guests. We are happy to report that we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting, based on feedback like yours.
We apologize for the encounter you had at the front desk and management would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding the details.
We pride ourselves on our service and professionalism and if a team member fails to provide either then we take the opportunity to improve our training and coaching methods.
We certainly hope that you will stay with us again in the future and please feel free to call and speak with management prior to booking---we will make sure that the issues you cited will be corrected before your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a comfortable room with double beds. The room was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Very convenient if you are in town for the Virginia Creeper trail. The bathroom was clean, but the lighting was terrible. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express. The hostess was very friendly and carried on conversations with many of the guest. Beware, if you are a late sleeper, the hotel is located directly beside a 84 Lumber. You can hear the sound of forklifts early in the morning working on the lumberyard. The view out the window is also of the lumberyard. It did not bother us, but could be annoying if you like a nice and quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms not facing the lumberyard out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are very pleased that your room was comfortable and you enjoyed your time at breakfast.
We are happy to report that, based on feedback like yours, we are currently working to improve our bathroom lighting.
Again, thank you for your input and kind words. We hope to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This has to have been the worst HI Express we ever stayed at and we have stayed at well over 100 express' in the last few years.

We were hit with the idor of stale smoke as we walked in to check in. When asking if it was a smoke free hotel, we learned that it isn't. There was no choice or we would not have checked in. It only got worse the hall floor leading to our room buckled in several places, carpeting was worn and filthy. The rooms was awful, old, dark and a place given a choice I would have left without unpacking.


I asked the front desk person, how old this express was, 18 years and didn't appear to have ever been upgraded, which he in not so many words confirmed.

KEEP DRIVING AWAY FROM THIS EXPRESS IT IS TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrExpress, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than pleasant and management would have liked the opportunity to speak with your about these issues while you were staying with us.
It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and that all of our staff members are attentive and professional.
We are happy to report that we will be converting to complete non-smoking status in October 2012. Additionally, we were fully renovated in 2009 and the staff member your encountered should have had the knowledge to convey this...we are sorry that he failed to do so and we will take this as a training opportunity for all of our team members.
It is our understanding that you did not speak to management while you were here. We encourage you to do so whenever you encounter problems in your travels. We aim to correct all guest issues as soon as we are made aware of them. We would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay---please feel free to call management at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Abingdon

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Abingdon 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to historic Abingdon, Virginia! The Holiday Inn Express Abingdon is nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians and is rich in history and charm. Founded in 1778, Abingdon is home to the world-famous Barter Theatre established in 1933 as the official state theater of Virginia. Stroll along the brick sidewalks in downtown historic Abingdon. The 17-mile Virginia Creeper Trail is a beautiful, unspoiled path, perfect for walking or biking. You might enjoy the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or the Arts Depot, which exhibits works from regional artists. Abingdon boasts many wonderful antique and specialty shops in our 20-block historic district, with several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Let us be your next getaway! Our recently renovated hotel features spacious rooms and a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (Memorial Day - Labor Day). Begin your day with our free Express Start Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties or sausage gravy with flaky biscuits, as well as yogurt, bananas, cereal and our signature cinnamon rolls. Enjoy our own 100% Arabica Smart Roast Coffee. We offer free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the property. For those of you traveling with pets, we have pet-friendly rooms available for a minimal fee, if reserved in advance. Let our friendly staff take care of you at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Abingdon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Abingdon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.