We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Jonesboro Rd., Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed with a group - many of the rooms had issues. Our room had problems with the a/c and the plumbing as well as bugs. Service on the bathroom - toilet issue - was "not available" over the weekend and told no other rooms available. Beds were not comfortable. I would recommend trying any other hotel in Abingdon besides this one.

Room Tip: One side faces I-81 so the other side is probably better from a noise standpoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    19
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
34
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Don't believe the negative reviews about this place.The hotel is sleek and modern. Some travelers want the Four Seasons rooms at the Comfort Inn prices and are never satisifed.
Check in was fast and easy. The lobby is very modern and nice. My room was comfortable and inviting....and modern. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Nice flat screen television with plenty of channels. Bathroom was small but served it's purpose. Free breakfast included make your own waffles, assorted breads, cereals and coffee and juice.
Several restaurants withing walking distance of the hotel. This hotel does not accept pets. I enjoyed my stay and would gladly stay again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The motto of this inn seems to be "buy stuff as cheap as possible" . Stuff on the breakfast counter and in-room items are lousy. The worst might be the coffee - both in room and breakfast. The maker on the weak in-room stuff didn't even dare to put their name on the package. All the cereals are unknown brands. The staff is fine and the place is clean. But after the first day, we go to the nearby McDonalds for breakfast. IT's the first time I've seen "free breakfast "not being worth the trouble.

Room Tip: no suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Several reasons why I will not be staying here again:
1. Blood and dirt on bedspread
2. Mildew and soapscum on bathtub walls and no fan in bathroom
3. Terrible breakfast, only toast, two choices of cereal, small cold donuts, muffins with no microwave to heat them in. There was a waffle iron, but they were out of mix. One person in party got a waffle, but it was not good...
4. Cigarette butts all over sidewalk at entrance to our section of motel
5. Overpriced for what you get
Some positives:
1. Check in lady was nice.
2. Convenient location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We are originally from this area & were in town due to a loved one being in the hospital. Our room was not the cleanest & had an awlful oder. My daughter woke us up @ 6 am screaming because of the huge bug (which resembled a roach) crawling on her. When I went to complain the staff were some of the rudest people I have ever dealt with....the more or less gave us the 3rd degree & seem to insinuate we were liars!!! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY WITH THIS "ROACH MOTEL"!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

It looked in the hallways that it had not been cleaned in some time. The front lobby looked clean. The beads were comforable but very basic. The hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

If you want to have a comfortable, clean room and good service don't go to the Comfort Inn in Abingdon VA. We arrived (March10, 2011) to a clean room but found we were short on towels. My husband went down and asked for towels. The next morning we left 4 dirty towels on the floor and the beds unmade expecting service from a "Choice Hotel" only to be disappointed with no service at all. My husband went back down and told them about the room not being cleaned and asked for towels for the second day in a row. He was reassured that they would note it and the room would be cleaned the next day. We left 4 more dirty towels and expected the problem to be resolved. You guessed it! We came home and once again it wasn't cleaned After spending 2 nights and 3 days with no service whatsoever my husband again went down to the service desk. They offered us another room which meant we would have had to pack up and move on our last night there. Instead my husband once again brought towels for us to use the next morning. When we checked out the people at the front desk were aware of this problem and acknowledged that it did happen. She stated she would make the manager aware the problem happened and I told her I had already written a complaint on their personal website. I never got any reply form them whatsoever. I wrote "Choice Hotels" main office and their response (March 17, 2011) was that the Abingdon VA motel would be contacting me and "sorry but they are independently owned so we will not be making any restitution for our inconvenience. No contact has been made to date (March 23,2011) from the Abingdon VA Comfort Inn. Conclusion: Why use Choice Hotels when the main company itself won't stand behind their lack of service for their Choice Privilege customers. If you want no service and like dirty rooms with dirty towels during your stay by all means stay at the Comfort Inn Abingdon VA.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 170 Jonesboro Rd., Abingdon, VA 24210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.