We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service and the rooms need some attention, spa and pool do not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Martha Washington Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 W. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The service and the rooms need some attention, spa and pool do not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I have stayed at the MWI over the years and it could use a facelift and the staff need to be trained in customer service. The Southern hospitality that is touted in Abingdon seems to turn to condescension here.

The spa and pool are lovely, though.

I am heading back to VA in a month and have decided that while I may use the spa, I won't stay here. There are several B&Bs that know the meaning of service, we'll be staying at one of those.

  • Liked — Pool, spa
  • Disliked — rooms and service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    59
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
51
130
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

The Martha is a real gem. I stay in a lot of hotels, new and old expensive and inexpensive. I think they management of the Martha Washington is doing an outstanding job. Its a wonderful blend of old style with new modern touches.

  • Liked — Great Food, great pool.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Martha Washington is historic, charming and, yes, maybe a little run down, but we plan to go back with enthusiasm every time there's a good play at the Barter Theater. Our room was an adequate size, except for the bathroom area which had a modern but tiny toilet/shower room and a tiny sink/vanity area. Bed was comfortable. Some upholstery had seen better times. There were no in-room movies. Staff is friendly, President's Room is a cozy bar, spa looks good (didn't use it), lovely indoor pool, new outdoor whirlpool terrace. Spa/pool area is being renovated, looks like an indoor walkway to the pool. The Barter Theater is right across the street (or next door, if theater II).

Restaurant seems to be the best in town. Menu is pretty standard, but preparation is interesting. Appetizers are so-so. Filet and fish were excellent, pork chop was a pork chop. At both breakfast and dinner, there never seemed to be enough servers. Breakfast continental buffet is more than ample, with hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereals, smoked salmon, pastries. If you're a hotel guest, the buffet and a hot breakfast are included with your room. Don't get the hot breakfast unless you want to spend an extra 30 minutes waiting for it.

The Martha is becoming a favorite inn, sort of like a favorite aunt, delightful though getting older.

  • Liked — Proximity to theater, historic ambience
  • Disliked — Room needed updating
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kande1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

There are some things to be aware of if you are planning a trip to Abingdon to stay at the Martha Washington Inn, I am sorry to report!

First of all, they are making some dreadful changes to the guest rooms that do not fit with the historic atmosphere at all. They are removing all of the bathtubs and putting in brown tile showers! They look like something I've seen in a house where there is an elderly man living, his wife having died and so he no longer has use for a bathtub, so he hires some guy to tile everything insight and sticks a shower in the wall. YUCK! It's very business man and it's very, very sad to see.

Secondly, they are painting all the trim in gritty dark brown flat paint! It looks horrible, it's a terrible paint job and it's simply awful to see.

Thirdly, they have put a lot of big gaudy furniture in the library and installed tacky and cheap library shelves, also painted with brown flat paint. There are several pictures of some modern people, very tacky, not Martha at all!

Fourthly, they have raised the rates considerably to fund all this tacky and shoddy work.

Lastly, they are doing a lot of bait and switch, from what I can tell, so it's best to get a faxed confirmation if you want a specific room. We were switched from our room with two beds to a room with one bed, but we had four people. We almost didn't get our room back, I had to argue for at least 15 minutes.

They are ruining the Martha Washington Inn! How sad!

  • Liked — The History of the Area
  • Disliked — The new changes that do not fit with the Historic feel of the hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

My wife and I are innkeepers from Valle Crucis, North Carolina ( an hour from Abingdon )and needed some serious relaxation. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor. The staff is friendly & helpful. The room was perfect with plenty of space & unexpected amenities. We enjoyed a couples massage ( 50 minutes worth, the fastest 50 minutes of my life ), dinner in the restaurant ( excellent ), and breakfast the next morning ( their grits are the best I've had anywhere, cooked with heavy cream, no water ). We plan a return trip in 4 months.

  • Liked — The relaxed, comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing...everything was great
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Naples
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

the place is a "GEM" truly Old World American luxury with southern hospitality. The folks are great, staff remarkable.. has anyone forgotten about their pool? I LOVE it.. the Spa and Gym are fantastic.. the feature the most cutting edge treatments available in hte spa world.. HydraFacial (GET ONE!!) capsule wet treatments. massage.. etc.. This place is FLAWLESS for an Old World Southern Charming experience.. I will post my pics .. the rooms.. bath.. lounge.. impeccable..

exceeds expectations..

some suggestions.
If you're not a nice person.. don't go.. it seems only nice folks are there.. if you want flash, cheap and "new" don't go.. if you're not well mannered.. don't go..
If you don't like this place.. I'd say you better take a good look within.. it's not Martha..it's YOU..

by the way this old world GEM has fast wireless internet in everyroom in he hotel..

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I had a great stay at the Martha . The accommodations were comfortable and the food was great. The gym was pretty good for a hotel gym, and wish I had more time to spend in the pool & spa. We had the delicious breakfast that is gratis with your stay and was absolutely fabulous! We also had room service, and enjoyed the best salad I've ever had. The hotel is a short walk from downtown Abingdon, which is a charming little town. Would love to visit again.

  • Liked — A charming old, comfortable hotel with large rooms
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Address: 150 W. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Martha Washington Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.