We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Comfy, Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hill Farm Inn to your Saves list
Hill Farm Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   458 Hill Farm Rd., off Rte. 7A, Arlington, VT 05250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Arlington B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Cozy, Comfy, Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed at Hill Farm for a family gathering. Great rooms, cozy beds. Attention was paid to every detail when they renovated the Inn. Took a hike along the Battenkill river, it's so quiet.. Visit the cemetery, lots of history. Wonderful food. Going back in the summer to enjoy the inn again!

Room Tip: Had a peek in most of the rooms. All looked wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I am sitting on the train returning to NYC after spending the past two days at the HIill Farm Inn with 12 of my University of Michigan fraternity brothers (including the owner). While I may have a slight bias, I honestly love this place so much as much as any hotel or Inn I have ever stayed! In fact, I enjoyed it so much I am coming back in 2 weeks with my kids!

The property is idelic, refined, romantic and and charming all rolled up into one. The immaculate rooms are spacious, and the comforters are the best ever. The Ritz Carlton could learn a few lessons about the perfect bed from HFI. There are simply so many positives about this cozy weekend getaway spot I do not know where to begin, or what to highlight. Mariah and her staff are wonderful. Extremely friendly, and 100% dedicated to making every moment of your stay (when you are not out for a hike, cross country or downhill skiing, or shopping the outlets in nearby Manchester) both relaxing and memorable.

My favorite times were spent sipping a cold beer on the plush chairs in front of a roaring fire, listening to great music and looking at the mountains out the windows. This place must be even more spectacular in the Fall when the leaves are changing colors and the air is crisp. But even on a cold winter night this place will surely warm your heart and make a memory of a lifetime. I urge you, just go see for yourself!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My daughter and I had the most wonderful 2 days at the Hill Farm Inn with thanks to Mariah and Linda. We stayed in the Emerald Lake room with a queen bed and beautiful bathroom. Our morning breakfast was delicious, consisting of granola, yogurt, fresh berries, bacon, sausage and eggs. We also had the most yummy bisquits( a James beard recipe, Mariah said) with butter and jam! If we wanted, we could have had pancakes but we were quite full!!
There was a pub we could have served ourselves at night and a warm and cozy fire in the living room area. There was also a game room with a pool table and on the grounds we took time to see the animals in the barn.
We had been regulars since 1980 of the Hill Family and it had changed hands over the years. We went almost yearly as newlyweds til we had 4 children and our last time together was 2005.
My daughter and I went to all the old favorites while we were there, like the Manchester Wood store, the Northshire Book Store, the Chocolate Barn, the General store and Mulligans to eat and play trivia.
It was great to be back at the Inn again though and see how warm and cozy it was and how pretty the rooms all were! We loved being back there again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed in the newly renovated Hill Farm Inn for a week last July. It was a wonderful experience. The owners have done an amazing job of updating the Inn while keeping true to the history of of property and Vermont charm.

We stayed in the newly renovated farmhouse. It was extremely comfortable for my husband and I and our 6 kids. The house has room for eight with three cozy bedrooms and a daybed and trundle in the living room. The new kitchen and washer/dryer were helpful to have for a large family for a week.

Of course, the daily breakfasts at the Inn were fantastic! Everything is fresh, organic and locally produced when possible. Mariah, the manager and chef, is charming and has a wealth of information about the area. When not outside exploring the area, my kids especially enjoyed the game room at the Inn with the custom made pool table, dart board, etc.

For our first trip to Vermont it was a perfect place to stay. A week in the country without leaving the modern comforts of home. Very relaxing. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchChefVT, Manager at Hill Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Amy,

You were so kind to write this wonderful review! You felt like family when you were here and I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to seeing you in 2015.

All the best,
Mariah GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My husband and I came here for a ski weekend-- it was our 2nd time, post renovation. We enjoyed the Inn with previous owners and old decor...but the new owners and Mariah (chef/GM) have taken it to a new level. The Inn is immaculate in terms of decor and cleanliness. The hospitality top notch. Mariah's breakfasts were perfectly filling and fresh for our day on the slopes.

We stayed in the Wilcox room which was nice and roomy with its own electric fireplace. L'Occitane toiletries + cottonballs/q-tips + loofah + hair dryer + plenty of towels (it's the little things, right?).

At night, we relaxed in a common room with the fire, music, fresh cookies, popcorn, and scotch. We feel truly relaxed, warm and fuzzy, even if it was -12 when were there. We look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

This beautifully restored 19th century inn is a few miles south on Manchester Center and the local ski mountains. The rooms are brand new and big; he bath is modern. Was here for skiing (stratton is 20 minutes) and will come back in the warmer months for golf and fishing on the batten Kill - (property adjoins the river I believe). The staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrenchChefVT, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Thank you Joe, it was great having your group here! Always fun to fill the dining room to the brim!
I look forward to showing you beautiful Hill Farm in the summer months.
Mariah GM/Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We recently rented the Farmhouse at Hill Farm Inn and loved everything about our stay! The recent renovations make it so comfortable and cozy with a high end feel. It's a gorgeous place to stay and the Innkeeper Mariah makes you feel right at home. She is so friendly and welcoming and her cooking is second to none. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, but if you have a group the Farmhouse is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Farm Inn

Address: 458 Hill Farm Rd., off Rte. 7A, Arlington, VT 05250
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hill Farm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Farm Inn is a classic Vermont bed and breakfast perched at the head of fifty acres of pristine meadowlands and valley. Just minutes from world-class shopping, dining and cultural sites, the inn combines regional history and small-town charm with the modern amenities essential for an unforgettable stay. Each of the renovated guest rooms offers a beautiful, luxurious linens, individual climate control and private baths. Days begin with a breakfast from scratch, featuring the very best local ingredients... Farm eggs, fresh jam, pure Vermont maple syrup. The inn is cared for and managed by Mariah Macfarlane, a classically trained chef and hospitality professional with more than 30 years of experience and a deep knowledge of the region. Common areas include the open, airy dining room and cozy Battenkill Pub, plus a great room with wood burning fireplace (perfect for relaxing or entertaining), a game room, and spacious, covered porches offering sweeping views of the valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hill Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Farm Hotel Arlington
Hill Farm Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.