We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit, as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Mountain Inn to your Saves list
West Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moreau, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic visit, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time overnight but have been coming to the West Mountain Inn since 2007, both for day and overnight visits. The staff is alway friendly, accommodating and make you feel as if you are part of the family. The food is 5 star, always fresh and local when available. The rooms are quaint and what you would expect from a New England Inn. Yes, as mentioned, there aren't any tv's in the rooms but I would imagine most people who go to an Inn, don't expect or plan on watching tv as you would at home...it's one of the reasons we "go away" to an Inn or B&B..The grounds are beautiful with wonderful views all around. And don't forget to walk the property to see the Alpaca's and peek in the Barn where many memories have been made...My husband and I will continue to visit the West Mountain Inn every chance we get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    47
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
158
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this place ourselves on the back of Trip Advisor reviews and had a 2 night stay during our self drive tour of New England and were extremely disappointed. Having stayed in 9 different inns and B&Bs during our tour, ranging from the expensive to not so expensive I feel we are in a good position to comment on our experiences. THIS PLACE WAS THE 2ND MOST EXPENSIVE WE STAYED IN AND WAS – BY SOME DISTANCE – THE WORST.
It does have its good points - the property is lovely and is set in a stunning location. However, everywhere else we stayed we received a warm welcome from friendly staff/owners who took a genuine interest in us which continued throughout the stay. Here there was no such welcome or interest and although the staff were polite, with one exception which is expanded on later, they treated us as you would find in one of the large, more impersonal, chain hotels rather than the Inn accommodation it is.
We stayed in Room 3, a mini suite. It was functional and comfortable albeit the bathroom was a little cramped and using the hand basin in particular felt claustrophobic. There were none of the in room amenities we had elsewhere – no TV, no telephone, no bedside clock, no selection of toiletries. Soap and shampoo were provided in wall dispensers, something you might expect in the most basic of accommodation.
It was our practice to tidy our bed before leaving for the day and, everywhere else we stayed, we would find it remade when we returned. Not here, the bed was exactly as we’d left it in the morning. Additionally an empty glass on the bedside table used for water had not been moved or replaced with a clean one.
Complimentary tea , coffee and cookies were available adjacent to the kitchen area but no fruit or soft drinks/water as we had had in other places and neither was it as well presented.
The breakfasts were good with plenty of it and different 'specials' each day. Dinner, too, was pretty good but spoiled by the attitude of the waitress we had on both evenings. On the second evening when asked the usual question ‘is everything ok with your meal’ I replied saying the steak was excellent but the vegetables could have been warmer. Her response was that it is gourmet food, I can change it but it will be no different!
This Inn has been a long time member of the Select Registry of Inns which boasts of high standards, quality assurance via independent inspections etc. Perhaps the Inn has become complacent or we caught them at a bad time but it’s as well I wasn’t an inspector! Whilst my individual ratings would suggest an overall rating of at least average I feel bound to mark the rating as poor because of our overall experience. We were glad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiebe, Owner at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests, I am sorry that your stay with us fell short of your expectations. We do pride ourselves on being friendly and courteous, and I am sorry that you did not find our innkeepers as warm as they could have been. Sometimes when the inn is full, it is difficult to connect with all of our guests and your review will serve as a reminder to all of our staff that they must make that a priority.

The lack of room amenities that you noted are actually purposeful on our part. Our goal is for our guests to really be able to disconnect from their busy lives, so we do not have TVs, clocks or radios in most of our guest rooms (we did cave on the wi-fi, however). In terms of bathroom amenities, we wanted to make the most environmentally conscious choice for packaging, so although the products we offer are quite nice (all locally made and organic), we do put the hand soap and lotion in large pump bottles, and the shampoo, conditioner and body wash in wall pumps.

I will definitely speak with our housekeepers about not making your bed and leaving the glass, since that is an oversight that should NOT have happened.

Thank you for your feedback,
Amie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The reviews made us very excited to be staying here. The receptionist showed us around the Inn, pointing out free coffee and biscuits, reading room and restaurant, all lovely, then, proceeded to point us to a cottage down the hill, wells way from all the hotel amenities. The door was old and stuck fast, we had to shove it to get in. We felt isolated, no coffee or milk, no one to talk too. I asked for a room change as I was with my 83 year old mum but was told nothing was available. Later that day, another couple turned up and disliked the cottage and asked for a room change AND GOT IT! How frustrating is that. Stuck it out for two days but was glad to be leaving. Breakfast was good as was dinner, but unfortunately, we won't be returning. Any hotel that makes their customers feel like second class citizens isn't worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask beforehand if you have been placed in the cottage - if so, ask for a room change or change your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amiebe, Front Office Manager at West Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I'm sorry that you feel we were treating you like a second class citizen. Our goal is to make every feel relaxed and at home. Please note that you made the reservation on another website and picked that room specifically. If you had been on ours, you would have known it was not in our main building. We do take great pride in all of our rooms, including the rooms in the Cottage. In fact, we have many guests who request those rooms.
There was not a single room available for the nights you were here. The other guests were moved up but then had to change rooms every night that they were here. Our innkeeper did not think that you would want your mother to have to do that every day. Being in the Cottage does not mean that you are banished from the amenities of the main building. Many of our guests who stay there come and enjoy the comfort of our fireside living room, table games, library and coffee bar. There is a coffee maker and coffee in the Cottage.. We do not leave milk there unless someone requests it because it tends to go to waste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the third time that we have stayed at Arlington's West Mountain Inn. Once for a wedding, once on a Groupon special and the third time because we just like the place. Each room in the main lodge (a big old farmhouse) is unique and special. We have had different rooms on each occasion all with separate reading or just relaxing areas. One minor negative is no TV's in the rooms if that is important to you. There is a large common area on the main floor with a public TV as well as reading areas however. The grounds & mountain views are magnificent and the food for both breakfast and dinner first rate. If there is one negative that stands out it is the roadway that needs repair leading up to the Inn. We do anticipate returning here on our next trip to the area,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a gift for our 25th anniversary and it couldn't have been more beautiful. Everything we love was here. The view was fantastic (we were abt 2 weeks early for any most of the fall color). The Inn, WOW! as you can see from their main picture is beautiful and offers rooms that shout comfort. They have acres of wooded areas and out-buildings that offer places for weddings, receptions, family reunions - sounded like an ad? We just fell in love with everything and would return anytime. Thank you...

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and comfortable. Some are very big with seperate sitting area's. We had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just stayed at the West Mountain Inn for our nephew and niece's wedding. We stayed in the Governor Chittenden Room. The wedding was outside on the lawn with a very nice cocktail hour after the ceremony set up on the lawn behind the inn. The reception was held in the Barn. We loved the setting in the Barn and totally enjoyed the reception. The food was outstanding and the members of the wedding party did a wonderful job with the decorations. It was so nice to be right there at the inn for all the events. We did go to town for dinner on Friday night but had breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings. The setting at the Inn was beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. We would recommend the inn to others for wedding events and for a nice peaceful stay as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

this is a rich, comfy, and gorgeous place at the same time; beautifully styled yet relaxed. we felt almost as if we were staying with wealthy relatives. one of the staff, Mary Beth, was genuinely nice and very helpful. our time there was far too brief to get to explore all the inn has to offer, and we hope to find the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: room #1 in the main inn was well suited to tall people like myself, with a king size bed and cathedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.