We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn and Innkeepers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whitney House Inn
Save
You added The Whitney House Inn to your Saves list
3978 Route 7A, Arlington, VT 05250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Arlington B&B and Inns
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn and Innkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Whitney House Inn. Innkeepers Pat & Kerry were gracious and friendly. Kerry's breakfasts were beautifully presented and wonderfully delicious without being overly filling. You don't want to be so full from breakfast that you can't try some of the local specialties throughout the area such as cider doughnuts, chocolate candy and homemade ice cream. A lovely amenity at the Inn is every morning a tray table is discreetly placed outside your door with hot coffee or tea and a fresh baked treat made by Pat.The large common room at the Whitney House is beautifully appointed and very inviting as is the comfortable wrap-around porch. We stayed in Whitney's View room which was very clean, comfortable and roomy. The only suggestion I would have is to install some blinds in the windows for a little darkness and privacy. We were able to un-draped the decorative curtains for a bit of privacy.

Room Tip: Whitney's View has lovely window seats and a nice closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Howard Beach, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a three night stay at The Whitney House Inn. This was the first time we ever stayed at a bed and breakfast inn. Thank God it was at the Whitney House. Pat and Kerry (the owners) were unbelievable. They were warm, friendly people who couldn't do enough for their guests. Their home was just beautiful. If you want clean, then this is the place for you. There wasn't one piece of dirt or dust anywhere in the house!! The house is set a little off the main highway (Rt. 7A) which is great because you never hear any cars driving by. Pat & Kerry also leave a tray of homemade muffins & coffee by your door in the morning and serve a great breakfast when you're ready to come down to the dining area. I'm looking forward to going back again and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else but the Whitney House Inn in Arlington, Vt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We came with friends who have been here before. Pat and Kerry were just Great! The room was comfortable, clean and a great place to rest. The breakfast was as wonderful as the great weather and warm hosts. Definitely a return trip is needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to The Whitney House to celebrate my birthday in March, 2013. What a hidden gem! Pat & Kerry (the owners) are SO personable it made our stay very enjoyable. They surprised me with a bottle of champagne and crackers & cheese before we left for our birthday dinner. Breakfast is amazing and the tray of coffee/goodies outside your door in the morning is exceptional. The accommodations are lovely. Our room (the blue room) was perfect.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - far enough away from the road to have peace and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our anniversary for 2 nights! Pat and Kerry were the greatest! They had champagne waiting for us and all. We sat out on the porch one night where they made us up a cheese and cracker plate to go with our wine and we visited with Kerry. He had great stories about working in the city. Pat made sure our every need was taken care of, from dinner reservations, dinner reservations, and passes to Todd Lincoln~ the Inn was just beautiful and quaint. We cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

An ideal B+B experience, the owners are fantastically nice and helpful, the house and rooms are beautiful and well-kept, and they have a few cute and unique things they do that make B+Bs so much more enjoyable than hotels. Oh, and the breakfasts are fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Whitney House Inn is home away from home. Pat and Kerry are the nicest people I have ever met. They truly make you feel warm, welcome, and most of all like family.

My wife and I stayed here over presidents weekend to ski at stratton mountain. The location was great as it was a short drive to the mountain. We were running a little late coming from NYC. Pat called but I didn't have any service once we passed a certain point in our drive. It was my first time to a B & B so I wasn't sure of the etiquette, but I should have called when we left the city. We arrived around 10pm and Kerry was there and showed us around. It was late and we should have been a little more considerate.

Kerry showed us the house and my wife and I instantly fell in love. The warmth in this home is unmatched. We felt like we were visiting our family. The house itself is beautiful with cast iron hinges on the doors, beautiful moldings, a great front porch, and a great view of the mountains. The heat in our room was EXCELLENT. I love the heat and after being outside in the 10 degree weather all day, it was perfect. Our room had a private bathroom and a really nice canopy bed. The sheets were super comfortable topped with an authentic Vermont quilt. The room and the house were immaculate.

The next morning we woke up to a wake up tray with coffee, milk, and freshly baked blueberry apple muffins. They were still warm and so delicious. We then went down for breakfast and Kerry is quite a chef. One morning we had eggs in a nest- scrambled eggs in a philo dough basket. Both were made from scratch by Kerry. The next morning we had lemon ricotta pancakes which was even more delicious than the eggs. Pat and Kerry really perfected both aspects of the Bed and the Breakfast.

During the evening when we returned from skiing Pat and Kerry were great company in the living room by the fireplace. They were from NYC as well and we had a great conversation.

For dinner pat made 2 great recommendations- Seasons and Zoe's. which are both highly recommended as well.

When we checked out we couldn't help ourselves but hug Pat and Kerry because we really felt like family. We will definitely be returning to the Whitney House Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whitney House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney House Inn

Address: 3978 Route 7A, Arlington, VT 05250
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Arlington village, The Whitney House Inn is Southern Vermont’s newest Bed & Breakfast. Set within an 1890’s Victorian home, three newly remodeled guest rooms, all with private baths and queen canopy beds, set the stage for your getaway. Romance, reunite, rejoice, relax...the Whitney House Inn accommodates it all! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whitney House Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.