We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Skiing Value in Utah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Ski Resort

Alta Ski Resort
State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8007, Alta, UT 84092
801-359-1078
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$237*
and up
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Alta
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alta turns 70 next winter. Alta's place in the ski world is unique, its history storied. Alta's culture blends this past with the future as it presents, along with Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort, America's first lift-served interconnect. Alta and pure, unspoiled skiing are synonymous. Alta's wide variety of terrain, breathtaking alpine scenery and superb snow conditions combine to create a unique setting. Alta continues to offer a ski-only experience.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Skiing Value in Utah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The family went to Utah for the 1st time. Everyone is an intermediate to expert skier. I do love this place. Its got varied, yet challenging terrain. Even though its "old school", it has everything that you could want in a ski resort at the right price. We are looking forward to coming back soon

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    39
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tons of snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

These guys get blasted every year! Old school resort with some classic runs but the two different mountain sections can be kind of a pain to navigate sometimes. Definitely worth a visit as its a great resort but wouldn't recommend for a novice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Killer Slopes with Consistent Snow Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely worth the trip if you are a serious skier. Alta is the only major domestic resort that has zero debt, so they don't have to sell out the land for real estate. As such, there exists only a small handful of slopeside lodging options. So, what it might lack in terms of five diamond restaurants, it makes up with the best skiing in Utah at an excellent price point. If you want to ski with skiers, this is where you should be.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Skier's paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Born and raised in Utah, I have grown up skiing at Alta and even now that I have left the state, I still try to come back and get at least one day up on the slopes. Went skiing with my father this past weekend as the season was winding down. Even in April, the skiing was good, though maybe less powder than during the regular season. However, there were almost no lift lines. For those who have never skied Alta, it is great for all levels. They have a variety of nice wide green runs on multiple chairs, and then a range of blues that add some challenges either with steepness or deeper powder (less grooming). And for the avid skier, there is a ton of black diamonds and open chutes for the most adventerous. What is also great is that on most runs, there is an easier and harder way down, which means parties of different skill levels can temporarily split up and just meet up again at the bottom of the run, without having to just separate and meet at the lift.

But the best thing about Alta - no snowboarders!!!! For all those out there who haven't tried Utah or Alta skiing, get yourself out to the slopes next season for the greatest snow on Earth.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great Snow All Season Long & No Snow Boarders Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always liked Alta, for it has Utah's most snowpack, till the end of the season. Longer lift lines, and Utah's highest prices, since it does not move as many people as Solitude, and it is skiers only. I like the back side, and have skied it in a blizzard, but beware of the top of one lift cliff, where I nearly died, many years ago, being force to go where no man or woman should go, left to a sheer trail to oblivion. Straight down, a sheer drop off!

Leady, a sketch artist in Seattle, had to have skied here, since he sketched a picture of it, calling his art "Deep S", where the skier was, where I had been, and spent, like forever, backing down backwards off the road to oblivion cliff. I bought two to hang in my bathroom's, of its deadly drop off, if you go left, instead of right of the chair lift.

So what is Alta? Great powder, no ice, the most snow, lots of parking, good food and a shuttle bus too. Plan on 30 min. drive up the canyon from Midvale, Utah. It is a two lane switchback road, with several traffic lights, so traffic can get tight on heavy ski days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Alta Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.