We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snow All Season Long & No Snow Boarders Too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Ski Resort

Alta Ski Resort
State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8007, Alta, UT 84092
801-359-1078
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Alta Ski Resort like an insider
$237*
and up
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Alta
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alta turns 70 next winter. Alta's place in the ski world is unique, its history storied. Alta's culture blends this past with the future as it presents, along with Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort, America's first lift-served interconnect. Alta and pure, unspoiled skiing are synonymous. Alta's wide variety of terrain, breathtaking alpine scenery and superb snow conditions combine to create a unique setting. Alta continues to offer a ski-only experience.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
171 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great Snow All Season Long & No Snow Boarders Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I always liked Alta, for it has Utah's most snowpack, till the end of the season. Longer lift lines, and Utah's highest prices, since it does not move as many people as Solitude, and it is skiers only. I like the back side, and have skied it in a blizzard, but beware of the top of one lift cliff, where I nearly died, many years ago, being force to go where no man or woman should go, left to a sheer trail to oblivion. Straight down, a sheer drop off!

Leady, a sketch artist in Seattle, had to have skied here, since he sketched a picture of it, calling his art "Deep S", where the skier was, where I had been, and spent, like forever, backing down backwards off the road to oblivion cliff. I bought two to hang in my bathroom's, of its deadly drop off, if you go left, instead of right of the chair lift.

So what is Alta? Great powder, no ice, the most snow, lots of parking, good food and a shuttle bus too. Plan on 30 min. drive up the canyon from Midvale, Utah. It is a two lane switchback road, with several traffic lights, so traffic can get tight on heavy ski days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    53
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Snorkel skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A little about my ski background. Current Ski Patrol Director from southern ca. Started skiing around the age of, 2.5 years old! consider my self a good judge of snow;-) quality... Alta, Uta. I am not sure of any dryer snow in the US with-ought heading tho Canada! Alta, has such a small town charm, home cooked breakfast better than moms use to make. Ok, almost as good as moms!!! FYI, Utah is a dry state on Sundays, BYOB... Staying slope side make the difference for relaxing tired muscles at the end of each day (a must). Why, first tracks and we climbed out of bounds to an area called Devils Cattle more than once a day;-) The snow is so dry and light, every deep pow turn I made I could feel I needed a Snorkel to breathe ;-) Inhaling in light deep pow takes some getting use to!!! Once you do, you have nothing but deep pow ahead. This is some of my favorite skiing, past and present. Snorkel On!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alta is the best place to ski!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have skied all over the world and I always want to get back to Alta. It's just a great mountain. Alta has the most snow, the best snow and never seems to be crowded. This is a mountain for real skiers. If you need to be pampered, then it's not for you. If want to spend you day skiing and appreciate great snow and great terrain, than Alta is for you.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've skied all over the US and Alta has some of the best terrain, and easily the best snow, of anywhere I've been. There is hardly ever a lift line, the access is wonderful, and the people are great. If you call yourself a skier you MUST ski Alta.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“JUST A GREAT PLACE, WITH THE BEST SKIING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

TERRIFIC in every way! This place remains above the pack in ski resorts.
Tradition matters, but modern comforts in all areas!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Alta Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.