We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best vacation ever!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Ski Resort

Alta Ski Resort
State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8007, Alta, UT 84092
801-359-1078
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$237*
and up
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Alta
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alta turns 70 next winter. Alta's place in the ski world is unique, its history storied. Alta's culture blends this past with the future as it presents, along with Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort, America's first lift-served interconnect. Alta and pure, unspoiled skiing are synonymous. Alta's wide variety of terrain, breathtaking alpine scenery and superb snow conditions combine to create a unique setting. Alta continues to offer a ski-only experience.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“"Best vacation ever!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Took my 8 year old son to Alta after skiing at Park City the day before. We had a blast skiing off the Supreme lift through the trees on a powder day last March. He said Alta made this his best vacation ever! We had a great time and I visited again in early December and had another great time with excellent early season skiing. We are coming back again next month all the way from Wisconsin.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    39
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It snows like crazy in Utah, and even more at Alta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Leave the glitz & glamour to Park City and Colorado, come to Alta for the skiing! The terrain is varied for all abilities, the vibe is always skiing first, and you feel the history from miners to adventurers everywhere you go.

The Deep Powder House is the go to ski shop, and après ski at the Sitzmark (in the Alta Lodge) or casual Peruvian Bar can't be beat. The best dinner option in all of Little Cottonwood Canyon is the Lodge Bistro at Snowbird.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Traditional Old-School for Serious Skiers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Alta is the oldest ski resort in Utah and has a reputation for the best snow and more of it! Alta is at a higher elevation than the other ski resorts in Utah, so even in a slow snow year, the snow is pretty great! As a confident beginner, I struggled at Alta where they believe in powder skiing for everyone! The lifts don't have footrests which wore me out within a few hours. Be very aware that Alta does not allow snowboarding. Also, be aware that one of the lifts opens up for free to the public at 3pm, and the lines are instantly nightmarish. If you paid for a lift ticket, it's a little frustrating. There is a very long tow-rope connecting 2 of the main ski areas which is a nice place for total beginners to try to glide down the small incline. Although I didn't ski well here, I loved the vibe in the restaurants and the bar--very European. If you are looking for a challenging ski experience, this is one of the best places in the world.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of the rental shop prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We skied Alta mid-week. The lifts were about 10 minutes late in opening and they don't open until 9:15. We are from out of town so we need to rent equipment. We rent onsite instead of in town in case there are size or equipment issues. I checked rental prices online with Alta Ski Shops and Alta Sports being the first two listed. The cost for basic rental (skis, boots, poles) is $22. We rented from the place that LOOKED LIKE the photo for Alta Ski Shops at the base of the Wildcat area. The employees were helpful. There was no charge (just credit card number taken when we got the equipment with a mention that we could pay with a different method upon return). We were given no information about cost. Upon check out, we were told that the cost was $32/each ($20 more than we expected!). Yikes, I told them about the web prices, and then looked around and didn't see any prices posted. They told me that "that's the place across the way", and "we're better, they don't know what they are doing". I later checked the website and see that they (Motherloade Powder House) doesn't post prices. This IS CLEARLY DECEPTIVE and MISLEADING. DON'T BE FOOLED. ASK BEFOREHAND.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Alta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

No snowboarders!! This is one of the best ski resorts and we had a great time exploring all sorts of different terrain. The groomed runs are well maintained and there is so much off piste skiing available that you're guaranteed a great time.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Alta Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.