We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, well positioned and good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta's Rustler Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alta's Rustler Lodge
Save
You added Alta's Rustler Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10380 East Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-8030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shirenewton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, well positioned and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Rustler and was part of a three week nostalgic ski trip to the USA including Jackson, Alta and Vail. Due to the convenience of ski in/ski out accommodation and excellent food, the Rustler took the honours as the complete skiing vacation, highly recommended for all levels of skier.
MikeS

Room Tip: Chose a Deluxe Wasatch room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    5
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
26
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We've stayed at many ski lodges in many ski areas over many years, but to us, the Rustler is simply the best. Unlike many of the Rustler's guests, we don't return every year, as we have a long list of ski resorts that we enjoy visiting. However, we have been there enough to see the Rustler evolve from a rather rustic, but excellent, ski lodge to a larger more elegant, and even more excellent, ski lodge that manages to retain the cozy, friendly atmosphere of past years. It had been a number of years since our last visit when we returned this March, and we found the lodge to be better than ever.

I am aware that the Rustler has a wide range of rooms, so I can't speak for all of them, but ours was great. It was spacious, well-appointed and -- extremely important to us -- very well lighted (a rarity, even among the best hotels). The lobby and lounge are comfortable and inviting, and the service is excellent. Finally, the breakfasts and dinners that come as part of the package are, to our tastes, wonderful. In short, we are amazed that the place can remain so good over so many years.

Room Tip: If you're willing to forego a view of the ski mountain but want a large room, the Superior North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This past March, we celebrated our twentieth annual visit to Alta's Rustler Lodge. For our family, who love good food, nice people, and incredible mountainside ski accommodations, this is our favorite destination. You won't find glitz or ski bunnies here. You'll find the real deal: a wait staff of the most attractive, well-trained gap year kids from all over the country who telemark, free-ride, and hike cliffs in their scant free time, a super upscale clientele who choose to invest in a rugged ski vacation and comfy surroundings, and longtime managers who foresee your every need. Tom Pollard, the mayor of Alta, and his wife Kate, along with their two children who have grown up here, are Rustler fixtures who make us feel like we're home every time we return. The food is so good: abundant breakfast buffet, peaceful lunch destination, and set menu with plenty of options for dinner. Delicious! Apres ski, my husband enjoys the pool and hot tub while I like stretching out and watching the multiple tv channels available on hd in our room with a fresh baked good and tea grabbed from the lounge. Nestled in the mountains, the Rustler is not fancy, it's the best ski home you can imagine. That's why we return year after year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the trails if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned from another trip to the Rustler in Alta Utah. One word- outstanding.
The facility has been upgraded since our last visit (two years ago) with a new outdoor and indoor hot-tub over looking the High Rustler- and for those non-skiers, an upgraded Spa.
Breakfast and dinner are included in the room price and, as before, were wonderful.
The staff is excellent- the answer is always yes!

And the skiing is the best.
We will return.

Room Tip: Supreme Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The feel of this place is cozy which is just what you want after a great day of skiing. The location is perfect. Ski down to the rope tow and you can start on either end of the Alta hill. The desserts and bread are world class. The pastry chef is a genius. The gelatos are so good you think you are sitting in Italy. The meals are very good as well. A bit heavy on the sauce but different every night so even after 6 nights we didn't tire of dinner.

Room Tip: View of the hill with a balcony is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Rustler Lodge was the best hospitality experience of my life. The staff treated me like their best friend, the (complimentary!) food was exceptional, the service was lighting fast and friendly, and the amenities covered all the bases, and I mean all of them. I am an audio engineer so I'm very careful with my ears. They had an earplug dispenser in the room and the earplugs were -33 dB foam, the highest I'm aware of for foam. I had some with me, but didn't need them. There is a bit of clomping around in a ski lodge, and if you don't already know, you will likely want to take a nap in the afternoon occasionally! Also, I was cleaning my ears with Q-tips that I brought, just happened to open the medicine cabinet and there were Q-tips! There's a grand piano in the lobby that I played many times and had a gas singing songs with new friends. I cannot say enough about The Rustler. I am in love and will be back, no question.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed there a week with a group of skiers, and had a ball. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. I also loved the commone areas-- livng room, bar and spa. The spa had all you could want, including massage services. Ski-in, ski-out. Also have in-house ski shop.

Having said that, I found the room I stayed in with a friend only adequate. No desk to work on the computer at, and bathrooms were servicable but nothing special. Also had only marginal cell phone reception in room -- I ended up going to the living room or bar to make my calls. But who spends lots of time in your room on s ski wacation?

Still, it rates an enthusiastic "Excellent".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alta's Rustler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta's Rustler Lodge

Address: 10380 East Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-8030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta's Rustler Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Alta’s Rustler Lodge, you'll experience the cozy atmosphere of a mountain lodge along with superb services and Alta's finest amenities. Our 85 rooms range from luxury to modest accommodations. Daily room rates include full breakfast and dinner and FREE WIFI. The Rustler, while elegant, is congenial and relaxed, the way we feel a ski lodge should be. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta`s Rustler Hotel Alta
Altas Rustler Hotel
Alta's Rustler Lodge Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta's Rustler Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.