We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place AND Perfect Snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta's Rustler Lodge

Save Saved
You added Alta's Rustler Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta's Rustler Lodge
10380 East Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-8030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Ski Season Discount
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alta
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Place AND Perfect Snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are coming to Alta, you are coming for perfect snow. Deep, light, fluffy snow. There is a great selection of rooms from the very luxurious to the old rustic. When I am skiing, I want ski-in and ski-out. Rustler has its own chair lift. The other thing I want is great food. Rustler has a wonderful breakfast and delicious dinners. If you care to come in for lunch, there is a great lunch as well. There is robust WIFI throughout the hotel. And, there is a wonderful bar (John has been the bartender for years) with a warm fireplace and great views. FInally, there is a warm outdoor pool, steam and whirlpool. And, a Spa with no shortage of massage therapists.

I have been coming to the Rustler with family and friends for over 20 years. Tom and Kate Pollard have been managing the Rustler for many years; Tauni Powers has been running reservations for even longer. They have creaated a wonderful staff, year after year. If you are inclined to wake up at 7am to stretch, Julie runs a stretch class 6 days a week. The Deep Powder House has a small shop in the Rustler to take care of your skis as well.

No need for a car; but they will valet if you wish. Alta Shuttle can take you directly from SLC Airport.

Room Tip: The 7th and 8th floors have the most luxuious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    4
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
19
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Rustler Lodge is the ski-in/ski-out lodge to which I will forever compare all ski lodges. The bar scene was very laid back. The spa/pool very nice. The food was outstanding, especially the buffet breakfast each morning. Dinners were also fabulous. Kate and her team went above and beyond on countless occasions for us, culminating with her Herculean efforts to get us out of the canyon on our departure day, despite a famous Alta snow dump that lasted all day! Really bummed we had to leave! We will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location: For skiing in, using their own little chairlift, & skiing directly out, it couldn't be easier or better; it's actually better than being directly slopeside, since being where it is, the Rustler has more sun, killer sunsets from the bar & a wonderful view of the slopes from your room & your breakfast table.

Food: Consistently superb, including the best breakfast buffet anywhere in snow country.

Service: The staff continues to surprise & impress us, year after year; I think the status & reputation of the Rustler must allow them to have the pick of the most intelligent, pleasant & eager staff we've found in a ski accommodation.

It would be hard to imagine a more gracious overall ski-lodge experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are so few avalanche-free parking spots in Alta, the staff at the Rustler Lodge move your car around for you, depending on the snowplowing schedule. Then they bring it to the lodge's ingenious underground entrance, so you can load and unload out of the storm.
And that's just one of hundreds of thoughtful details the lodge has figured out. Others include generous appetizers in the bar after skiing for hungry guests (pot stickers, spicy hot wings, crudités with blue cheese), real crackling wood fireplaces, coffee in the halls at 6 a.m., a full service ski shop downstairs, and their own chair lift to bring you back after powder skiing at Alta Ski Lifts.
Top management has been in place for decades; they've got it dialed. They pick bright young skiers for staff, people from all over who are happy to serve you because they get to ski, every day, on one of the best mountains anywhere.
Best of all, perhaps, the Rustler maintains the tradition of the all-inclusive ski week: come and stay; everything you need in one cozy building, including two splendid meals a day (plus lunch if you want), outdoor and indoor hot pools, the New York Times every morning, eggs benedict and homemade granola on the breakfast buffet. And bacon!

Room Tip: south-facing rooms look up the ski mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff is Five Star.
Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Good food. Good Spa.
Convenience of full service ski rental and lift tickets is great. Staff seems to genuinely care about you. Breakfast and dinner included with stay offered very goodand well prepared dishes.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for the choices that best serve you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are a serious skier, you owe it to yourself to ski Alta. And when you do, the one place to stay on the mountain is the Rustler.
Our group is just back from our ninth annual trip (some of us number this in the 30’s!), and while 34” of powder may have influenced our opinions a bit this year, Alta never has disappointed. Nor has the Rustler.
The rooms are modern, clean, spacious, and all have views of the mountain. The food is world class and the bar a warm and fun place to unwind. That is, if the pool, hot tub, and steam room haven’t already put you in a great state of mind. The staff treats you like family – there are no finer hosts than managers Tom and Kate, while Meg and John will make sure that you are well fed and beveraged.
We’ve already made our reservations for January 2014. You should too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotels can be fancy schmancy, over-decorated tacky emporiums, and they can be shabby, threadbare and depressing. It's rare I find an establishment that is neither flea-bag flat nor garishly sharp. I'm picky. Really picky.

Alta's Rustler Lodge is pitch perfect. The rooms may not be pimped out, but hey, this is Alta. It's for skiers. Serious people looking for the consummate skiing experience. And you get that experience in spades when you stay at the Rustler.

The beds are really comfortable. I've stayed there about 7 times for a week at a time and every night I look forward to bed-time.

The food is top-notch. I love the breakfast buffet with all kinds of berries, granola (the best I've ever had), pancakes, eggs and bacon. I take a little bit of everything, sit in the dining room, and within 10 seconds one of their friendly young staffers is asking if he or she can pour me a cup of coffee, (which is also good stuff. I'd like it a little stronger, but still, it's darn good.)

They also have great salads for lunch and dinner. And a pork dish I had was unbelievably good. Hey Rustler! Keep the chef.

The amazing thing is that it's so friendly and low key. There seems to be a culture in the air, an atmosphere of easygoing, elegant simplicity. Nothing is fancy. Nothing overdone. And nothing is less than nearly perfect, including the snow, lhe staff, the ski shop, the apres-ski snacks, and of course, the private chair lift that takes you directly from the slopes to your home in the powdery blue skies: Alta's Rustler Lodge.

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the the 5th floor and I like it.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alta's Rustler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta's Rustler Lodge

Address: 10380 East Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-8030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Alta’s Rustler Lodge, you'll experience the cozy atmosphere of a mountain lodge along with superb services and Alta's finest amenities. Our 85 rooms range from luxury to modest accommodations. Daily room rates include full breakfast and dinner and FREE WIFI. The Rustler, while elegant, is congenial and relaxed, the way we feel a ski lodge should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alta's Rustler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta`s Rustler Hotel Alta
Altas Rustler Hotel
Alta's Rustler Lodge Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta's Rustler Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.