We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Building, Confused Accounting Department” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

Save Saved
You added The Driskill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Driskill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Impressive Building, Confused Accounting Department”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

There's no doubt the Driskill is one of the premier hotels in Texas. Since there are lots of ways to review a hotel, this review covers only the way in which my company used it, which was for impressing clients from out of town. And this property will impress even your pickiest of VIPs. I promise you even the most chic client, no matter how much they love boutique properties or swanky club scenes, will enjoy a Driskill experience. You're paying for A) the service and B) the history (and it's accompanying charm).

It's got a hundred years of history in it, and you can tell, from the pro's (beatiful fixtures, grand entrances, ornate details) to the con's (some creaky doorways, thin interior walls, interesting modern lighting choices, etc). Make sure you get your money's worth and only get rooms with views. Otherwise you will be looking out onto a dirty, pigeon poop filled brick wall.

Service is beyond compare. Valet is attentive, front desk is prompt, housekeeping has anything you could ever want. You can't beat the location if you're going out on the town. I would highly recommend this property for a romantic getaway, a bridal suite, etc etc.

However, good luck with accounting. Getting folios is easy, getting discrepancies fixed is a chore. At one point, a guest in our group was given a credit on his personal credit card (which he gave for incidentals) for something he never paid for. Free money basically. I called them to remedy the situation and make sure they got their money back...and was treated with brusqueness, as if I was taking up THEIR time. Next time you guys put $1,000+ on one of my company credit cards, no worries, I won't let you know, we will just keep the credit.

I have personally stayed in this property. Would I chose it if I myself were traveling for business? No, not worth the money. Would I put another group of VIPs here for SXSW, ACL, or a business conference? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    219
    91
    52
    36
See reviews for
93
333
38
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautiful, historic hotel right in the heart of 6th street, but you'd never know it. Room was extremely quiet (except for the jerk that slammed his door 3 times in the morning). Check-in/out went very smoothly, valet was prompt & the concierge was very helpful with information and maps. Breakfast in the cafe was excellent. Loved the Texas feel (art, cow seats, long horned steer head on wall). Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Driskill and I loved every minute of it! The hotel is spectacular! We had a room on the fifth floor and it was extremely quiet. They don't even start cleaning rooms till after 12, so you can sleep in. The concierge was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Driskill. It's a beautiful hotel with nice staff and just a short walk to great shopping and restaurants. We asked for a quiet room and they put us in an interior room that was amazingly quiet. It was almost shocking when we went outside and found out how noisy it was a night; we'd never know! At night, they have a watchman who checks to make sure you have a room key before he lets you in. It was a nice security touch that keeps the "rift-raft" out. My only complaint would be the size of the bathrooms. It's a historical hotel though so I won't penalize them for it. :) We had a 2 room suite with really high ceilings, so it felt very spacious. I had room service for breakfast each morning and they were incredibly fast. I loved my stay here and when visiting Austin again, I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

On a previous trip to Austin a few years back, we had drinks at the Driskill Bar and said "If we come back to Austin, we MUST stay at the Driskill." I had a business trip to Austin in October and made our reservation. I called and upgraded with Hyatt points to an Executive Suite. The hotel site shows all the suites so I asked which ones were Exec - they told me - and I asked if I could choose. They're only assigned day of check-in - so I had to wait until we arrived. Like anything connected with travel - I don't count on it until it actually happens.

We arrived too early to check in - left our bags, walked around town, came back - still not ready. Went to the Driskill Bar (site of our first love of the place) and waited, and waited and waited. Finally got the call - our room was ready - now the only thing was to find out WHICH Executive Suite. We went back to the front desk to get our keys and asked "which suite" - only to be told - "the Presidential." Okay - Sure - BUT again my brain says - wait until you get there and see if it's true.

It Was True! AND WOW!!! The LBJ Suite is really something to see - especially when you know "I'm actually staying here!!!" It's as good as the pictures on the website. Historic memorabilia and space with great character. VERY comfortable furniture and bed - wanted to bring the mattress home. The suite opens onto incredible public space with beautiful stained glass and chandeliers and two large public balconies.

All our encounters with hotel service was very pleasant - the room service, housekeeping, bellmen, front desk and conference staff. Not a surly one among them.

The Cafe/Bakery - great breakfast stop. Watching the bakers at work was a treat - and the food and service was just right. Plus we purchased a wonderful tin of Halloween cookies in a beautiful tin with the design of the stained glass from the Cafe.

This hotel has been so beautifully restored with attention to historic detail. It takes you back to an era of grand hotels with beautiful interiors, soaring ceilings and staircases. Our only regret was that we didn't to meet the ghosts that are said to inhabit the hotel - but it's clear why they would never want to leave the Driskill.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade with Hyatt points - DO IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

You know you are somewhere special as soon as you walk into the opulent entrance hall of this grand hotel.
After three separate unsuccessful attempts to gain entry into our room, we were finally upgraded to a $1000 suite. The satin like sheets and matress enfold you like a cloud and the dressing gowns are fabulous.

The bar is a must, and the food reasonably priced, unlike the restaurant which can be very expensive. If you do manage to stay at the Driskill, check out the Bakery which serves a mean breakfast/ brunch. The French crime brûlée toast drizzled with caramel and served with berries was heavenly and the service exceptional.

Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the corner rooms as they can be quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Driskill is an old charming building that's updated with modern conveniences. My room was a king size bed with high ceiling and a great ceiling fan. It harkened back to the old west. The bathroom was thankfully not old west but clean modern tile. The bar in the hotel was very cool with a metal ceiling and lots of sitting areas for conversation and relaxation. The place is in the middle of the action in downtown on 6th St. The only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars was the lack of pool. Everything else was charming and funky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#45 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.