We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

Save Saved
You added The Driskill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Driskill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #43 of 184 hotels in Austin
Ras Tanura, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Texas Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose The Driskill for the location of reuniting with our newly wedded daughter and her husband over the Thanksgiving Holiday. We had not seen the couple since the wedding in June and we wanted it to be special. The Driskill did not disappoint. You could feel the change from the progressive Austin vibe to an historic feeling of hospitality as we entered the grand entrance. The staff seems to enjoy working there. An almost life size bronze greeted us as we made our way to the Driskill Bar where we found, according to my wife and daughter, the best cosmos they have ever had (I will add next to mine of course). The dark wood paneling, upholstered seating and brass screamed old Texas. The extensive bourbon and scotch selection was impressive. We enjoyed the prix fixe 5 course Thanksgiving Dinner in the Driskill Grill which was world class. The 1886 Cafe & Bakery offers fresh daily pastries that are great but they should rename the cinamon roll a cinamon loaf. We found the Brazos Huevos Rancheros and the the Paris TX, Benedict to be our favorites. The hotel is centrally located to all that is going on and daily live entertainment abounds within the hotel. Look for deals on the Delta Airlines website as well as The Driskill website.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer such a detailed account of your Driskill experience. I will let our Bar team know that their Cosmos received rave reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    214
    87
    52
    36
See reviews for
91
324
38
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel itself is fantastic from a historical prospective. A lot of things(hallways, doors, elevator) were all small. They really do try to make everything spectacular. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the stay. We liked being able to walk to many nice restaurants, and the entertainment district of Austin. The biggest complaint is that it is very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of December for several years.
We love the lobby and the tree during the holiday season. We request a specific corner room because we enjoy the balcony.
I think the full moon had an impact on the staff this stay. We arrived early on a Sunday afternoon (around 2:30 PM and were told our room was still be cleaned. We said fine, left my husband's cell number and went to the bakery for a late and leisurely lunch.
We waited for lunch service outside for about 15 minutes. Our order about another 15 minutes.
Around 4 PM we had not heard anything from the desk so my husband walked to the desk. Our room was finished but waiting for inspection. We sat and waited until 4:30 PM when I approached the desk and was told the room was ready. ( We got home and the desk had called our home number, not my husband's cell)
On Monday morning we had no specific plans but received a phone call at 7:45 AM???which awakened us. We tried to go back to sleep but someone up above us on the 5th floor kept moving furniture which scraped the floor and made a lot of noise.
On Tuesday morning we requested a 7:00 AM wake-up call which came at 8:00 AM.
These are little things that do make a difference in enjoying our stay.
We love the room as far as ambiance and decor. The linens and cleanliness were excellent. We will stay here again because of the location, history and appeal of the hotel being so historically unique. We can stay at other chains anywhere!

Room Tip: Corner king with balcony can have street noise as well as noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Flew to Austin Thanksgiving week, reconnected with old friends. Stayed at private home on Lake Austin shore, was happy the vista there was spookily reminiscent of PA's historic Delaware River valleys. Even more joyful was discovering The Driskill and its history. Granted, my home area is saturated with ancient architectural lore and colorful personal legends -- but Austin shocked for its overall brand-spanking newness. Hundreds (no, probably thousands) of faux Tuscan villas are being erected side-by-side-by side across what used to be rolling hill range lands. Most roadways are hard-pressed to handle the population surge. But in downtown Austin is The Driskill, and once introduced to its grand older beautiful charm, we kept returning. Mr. Driskill lost this hotel - his pride and joy - in a long-ago card game, but it still exudes his passion for the place. Every staff person we met was so friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Better yet: Mr. Driskill might still haunt the place. Smell cigar smoke while standing near his portrait? He's visiting. We lingered often in lobby areas admiring a jovial crews' various holiday decoration installation maneuvers, and we happily dined more than once on the front verandah, having very tasty satisfying lunches and a leisurely chance to people-watch. Music/theatre scenes are right down the street. Being at the Driskill just felt right. Compared to everything else, it is, after all, SO OLD. If I return to Austin, I would not hesitate to stay there. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I visited Austin to see the USA swimming Winter Nationals at UT. (Our daughter was competing.) We chose this hotel initially for the close proximity to the swim venue (about 1 mile walk). We were very pleasantly surprised how easy it was to walk to many fun and interesting places in Austin (6th street, warehouse district, South Congress, the Capitol, Whole Foods, Lady Bird Lake running trails, etc.) Also, the food and beer/wine selections at the hotel restaurants and bars were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay in Austin much more than we had expected.

Room Tip: We stayed in a historic room, without a view. It was charming and enjoyable. Most of our days were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Texas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I picked the Driskill as our home base for our annual pub crawl. What a grand old hotel. The lobby is so cool. The lobby bar (not really in the lobby) is must see. If you stay on the "historic" side of the hotel, you will see wider hallways on the floors. This was to accommodate the big "hoop style" skirts women wore during the early 1900's. Yes the A/C unit is a bit loud and the window view was not great but the shower was sooo good! The shower heads are definitely not water savers which is a bit strange for an area that is struggling with little annual rainfall. The hangover omelette & the green eggs & ham are good breakfast choices in the cafe. Friendly & courteous staff that appear to like working there. Ok fitness studio with on-site massage available. Plenty of upscale hotels to choose from in the area but only one Driskill. Bit of history- Original owner lost the hotel to his brother-in law in a poker game.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Driskill for a wedding, and spent most of my time in Austin at the hotel. It's luxurious to look at -- the lobby is stunning at Christmastime, the bar has a great atmosphere and service, try the migas at the bakery/cafe, and the ballrooms and staff are all lovely too. My room had a lackluster view of a parking lot, so for all those advising to choose a room facing away from the street - be careful what you wish for. The bathroom ceiling leaked a little, which wasn't pleasant, but not enough to complain about. Presumably you'd choose to stay at The Driskell for its age and historical ambience. Embrace it and enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
#52 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.