We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

Save Saved
You added The Driskill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Driskill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #44 of 183 hotels in Austin
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Service was good. Breakfast was really enjoyable inside or particularly, outside on the patio. Rooms are okay but rather dim...what you expect at a historic hotel. This is a great location for walking around to see 6th street, driving a short distance to SoCo or walking to shop at the warehouse district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    206
    85
    52
    36
See reviews for
89
317
37
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I'm very surprised by all the rave reviews, because our stay was pretty awful.
But I'll start with the positives. As many have mentioned, the location is absolutely ideal. And the common areas are generally very nice (except for the horribly slow elevators). Service and food was good. Gym was decent too.
The real problems were with our room, The Brazos Suite. First and foremost, the noise was almost unbearable. The AC sounded like a loud, old lawn mower but was often overpowered by the insane noise from the street below: music and partying until 2am followed by street cleaners and leaf blowers until dawn with plenty of cars and motorcycles roaring by throughout. Two pairs of earplugs weren't enough. Uncomfortable squeaky beds didn't help the quest for sleep. We used the pullout sofa - one of the worst I've ever encountered. It needs to be thrown out and replaced, as most of the springs are gone. I am completely exhausted after my stay - cannot wait to get home.
Also of note is that the bathroom in our room was tiny - furthest thing from what one would expect in a suite. And furniture/decor was tired and shabby. Oh and the room smelled extremely weird and unpleasant. Ugh...just awful.
We were there for the F1 race and so we had to pay thousands of dollars per night for this very unpleasant experience. I'm not sure how much the room costs under normal circumstances, but anything more than a couple hundred bucks is too much.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your posting. Pursuant to your comments, a thorought inspection of the Brazos Suite was conducted. As all Signature Suites were renovated in December 2011, I was quite concerned by your comments of the condition - but gratified that after inspection, I found the room to be in excellent condition. The Driskill is an urban hotel and ideallyt located just adjacent to Austin's world-famous 6th Street entertainment district - the noise was certain exacerbated due to Formula One and Fan Fest. I apologize that your stay did not meet expecations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Gorgeous facility. Accomadating staff. Pricey parking. Rooms a bit small with even smaller bathrooms, but worth it. Proximity to fun priceless. Easy drive from airport. Food some of the best meeting food every eaten.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the meeting food, I will share your feedback with our team of event planners. Our valet parking rates are in line with the going rates for most Downtown hotels, I apologize if this wasn't in line with your expectations and we hope to have a chance to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have spent at least one week a year for the last 4years at this hotel.As many reviewers mention,the location is excellent and the building unique.Unfortunately,the service during our most recent visit had deteriorated significantly;
-our room was serviced anytime between 11AM and 4PM even though we were out by 9 AM at the latest and had the service tag hanging outside the door.
-We specifically ask for a room with a tub-we got one but unfortunately the stopper didn't work rendering it useless.
-On a couple of occasions when our room was serviced ,used towels were removed but no fresh towels were provided.
-Hotel staff only greet guests if greeted first-otherwise they stare into the distance or chat among themselves.

It is unfortunate that at a time when competition amongst luxury hotels in Down town Austin is intensifying,the Driskill is drifting in the wrong direction.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your posting. I apologize that our "A-game" was absent during your most recent stay. It hasn't gone away and The Driskill invests heavily in training, customer service and execution endeavors. Regrettably, those investments didn't fully materialize for you. We normally deliver legendary offerngs and services and this was certainly a misstep. I hope you'll consider returning to The Driskill again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Driskill is worth a visit if you are going to Austin and want to be downtown. Great location with valet parking (ubiquitous in Austin). Superb bar which is fun for watching Texans get down. Had two meals in the bakery grill and both were of highest quality. Room was quiet and well appointed, but bathroom was too small. However, other friends had rooms with bigger bath, so check that out before you book. Only drawback is if you are planning on going to a Univ. of Texas football game, it is almost impossible to get to the stadium unless you walk. Cabs are plenty, except around game time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and for bringing the hot water issue to our attention. We will have our engineering team investigate this issue. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

ask for a high floor. the staff is very helpful, great location. it's a bit pricey for small ish rooms and bathrooms, but overall enjoyed the historic ambiance and central location. the whole propery was too dimly lit for my tastes, especially in the guest bathrooms. the a/c was extrememly noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from Austin for a work convention. When we got off the plane in Austin...we noticed T-Shirts hanging in the shops that read, Keep Austin Weird." We had no idea what that meant? We rented a new Ford Explorer and drove over the the Driskill. It is a castle in the rough!!!! It's gorgeous and old and haunted....but in a good way. Plenty of stories to check out. You are transported back in time. You can picture the Stage Coaches pulling and dropping off the trunks and the ladies and their beautiful dresses. The hallways are trimmed with paintings and book shelves and antiques. The bar/restaurant is plush rancher style, with cow hyde and revolvers for lights and hanging Long Horns over the fireplace. Plush drapes, Scarlett O'Hara would have been outfitted for years to come! The rooms are spacious and lush. Bedding is dream land...down to the mink blanket draped at the bottom. The cabinet adorns a scetch of the hotel and the <D> for Driskill is on everything....painted porcelain sinks...lovely shower heads, beautiful high moldings and every amenity...including robes and umbrella's. There is not pool or array of shops. They do have some signature items at the front desk. Staff was over the top.

Downtown Austin is up and coming....some new, some old, and major construction. Music Capital of the World is a bit much, unless they are referring to the many different types. You will find ever genre.....but only a few worthy of staying for a few drinks. Very eccentric music and people. Pretty sure no one is actually from there...it's a very transient, "new" town. We totally got the "Weird" after a night out on 6th Street. Country music was hard to find. We ventured up to Rockdale for a Rodeo. It also included a full Carnival, farm/livestock auction, Steve Wariner singing and the most amazing local food ever. BBQ with slaw on a roll as big as your plate....you WILL eat it all!! And we went to The Broken Spoke a few miles out of Austin proper....very honky-tonk and they teach you how to dance an hour before the band starts. The band was amazing, steel guitar and big bass and all!! We got our fix!

The Driskill is worth a night or two....luxury at it's finest!! If you can't stay there, it's definitely a must see!! Take the elevator up a few floors....4th Fl -- Rm 29...you might see a young bride with packages....scurring down the hall......BOO!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#31 Business Hotel in Austin
#52 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.