We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a nice area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Austin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Austin Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Austin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #57 of 190 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband had to travel recently to Austin on business, and since I had never been there I decided to accompany him and we stayed at this hotel, which he frequently stays out while on business in Austin.

This is a nice hotel. The people were all very nice and the room was clean and well appointed. The "courtyard" of the hotel is very nice, a huge ceiling with rooms facing the inter courtyard.

It is close to lots of nice shops and restaurants (Cheescake Factory comes to mind).

There seemed to be lots of business travelers here as there were several conferences going on, so this would be an ideal place for a business traveler.

I recommend this hotel and hope to someday accompany my husband there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    192
    69
    36
    14
See reviews for
59
91
24
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We don't like big chain hotels because of what I say in the title. They don't seem to care about anything other than maximizing all the various ways that they can take your money. Wireless access: $15 or so. Really? How silly.

One of my colleagues had to add a night at the beginning of the stay and they double-billed her. When she got back home and noticed the error, the hotel refused to credit her card. For my room, I had to add a night at the end of the stay and they refused to honor the group rate offered for the conference we were attending. A real shame that not a single person at that front desk had any interest in making us happy when or after we left.

The hotel gets 3 stars from us because of the fitness center. Very nice! Well maintained with some of the higher-end equipment out there. We appreciated it very much.

Service is key in this economy and the only service we got from the staff, however, was filled with careless attitude.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
807 reviews 807 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
1,463 helpful votes 1,463 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I was at the Renaissance Austin Hotel for a large conference. This was not the first time I stayed at the Renaissance. The rooms are large and well appointed, the restaurant and bar were well staffed with friendly servers, and members of the staff were accommodating to the needs of our conference manager. There are a number of restaurants and upscale shops within walking distance. Parking can be problematic, so it is best to pay to have hotel personnel park your vehicle. Rooms have good internet connection, but for a fee. This is a beautiful venue for a conference, or just to get away for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Enjoyed my 6-night stay at the Renaissance. Location is good for shopping, but is about 10+ miles from downtown Austin, where the real action is. We were there for a big conference, and we heard many complaints about housekeeping, although my room was fine. Concierge service was great, when needed. Food was good. All in all, a good conference facility.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in March, 2010 for a conference and from that perspective it was great. The hotel itself is nice and while my room was just starting to look dated I did see the staff going room to room upgrading TV's so you know they are trying to keep up.

The staff were all quite accommodating and the hotel is very close to a lot of shopping and restaurants so you can eat well.

My only disappointment was the distance from downtown.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

What great service at The Austin Renaissance! Every single staff person went out of their way to be sure that we had a great stay. Check in was probably the fastest I've ever experienced and at check out, Jacob took care of a minor glitch within seconds. He knew that we were waiting for the Super Shuttle and I overheard him calling the Super Shuttle to be sure we were confirmed and get their location in relation to the hotel.
Nate and Paul Love in the Concierge Office could not have been more accommodating and in fact, just added to our stay.
Room was very comfortable and I slept way better than I even sleep at home.
We were on the Concierge Level and the host and hostess in the lounge could not have been more attentive or pleasant.
We were in a lovely area with a multitude of shopping and restaurants but a good distance from downtown and music.
I'd return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Check in was a breeze, very friendly staff. Restaurant was lacking, not much to choose from, expensive, and only one in the hotel. You had to walk or drive to get something to eat. Wireless was terrible, most people I saw seemed to have some problems with it. If you go, take a jacket or sweater, all the conference rooms are cold.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Austin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Austin Hotel

Address: 9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#28 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#37 Family Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Austin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Austin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Austin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.