We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, food service was lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Austin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Austin Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Austin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #61 of 187 Hotels in Austin
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely place, food service was lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

First, let me say the good things. Reception, check-in and check-out were a breeze. Staff at the front desk was professional. Concierge and housekeeping were also polite, friendly and professional. We also loved the pool, jacuzzi and lobby, all first rate. We thank them for a free upgrade that was given to us due to personal special circumstances. It was appreciated.
Bad news was the food service.. I assume they lease it out to " Austin Bytes" and "Banderas" but they were totally unprepared to deal with large amounts of people... and they were SLOW albeit friendly. The banderas hostess was great and did her best to get me some quick morning food " to go"... every morning there was a line ( 12-14 people long ) for coffee or a quick snack from Austin bytes. That is unacceptable when you know you have a convention of 500 people in your hotel and you run out of oatmeal, or only have 2 people behind the counter in the morning. I did not actually sit and eat in the restaurant, but I ordered " to go" at least 3 times food was tasty and fresh, but took too long ( which is why I never actually sat in there)
Location was fine without a car, in that there was nearby shopping and great restaurants...BUT you are far from downtown Austin... $25-$30 cab ride!! each way!! Yikes! I am happy I stayed there because of the convention I was at but if you are looking for a place close to the city part of Austin this is NOT it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    188
    69
    36
    13
See reviews for
59
87
24
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Was at the hotel for 3 nights for a conference. My husband and our 60 lb dog came along.

Was greeted by Kim at the front desk when I checked in. She was very helpful and gave me a good first impression of the hotel. We were given a little "goodie bag" for the dog. It included names/numbers of local emergency vets.

Overall a good stay. Had room service one morning, the food was decent, the hash brown was very salty.

Everyone at the hotel was polite and pleasant. There was a banquet on the second night in the lobby area, the music was really loud, we could hear it clearly well past midnight. My husband was rather bothered by it, I had no problem falling asleep =)

Husband stayed with the dog in the room while I was attending the conference in the meeting rooms downstairs. The hotel is part of an outdoor shopping mall. There are patches of grass/walking areas for dogs behind the hotel.

Will not hesitate to stay here again if the conference is held in the same hotel next year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Beautiful location up on the Texas hills, where watching foliage is easily done from the bedroom window. Near by shopping and a great place for those who like to jog on a cool fall morning, among the green trees and on the rolling hills. The service was so so, not many options for restaurants within the hotel but nearby is the main road that leads to all the good eateries and downtown Austin. I would stay there again, because it is so beautiful, not for the people or their service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference located in the hotel meeting rooms.

I was so impressed by the Renaissance Austin Hotel! It is beautiful to look at, and located in a wonderful area of Austin... plenty of shopping and plenty of trees and walkways to explore. If the weather was nicer I would have enjoyed getting out more.

I was always treated with kind service, and these days it really stands out. Kudo's to the staff and management.

The food was unusually good, I thought. I had room service, a quick lunch in the lobby (not sure of the name of the coffee/deli area), and the restaurant. All of the food was just great, I thought. When was the last time I could say that about room service? Ha!

It has been mentioned in reviews over and over about the internet charge. I'm disappointed, too, but I find that most of the nicer hotels I stay at for business charge for internet access. The more economical hotels I stay at for family vacations do not charge, and I find that hilarious.

The meeting rooms were great, and I hear the conference will be at this hotel again next year. I hope I can invite my wife to join me as there is a lot of nice shopping and places to eat around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights in February. Convenient if you need to be in the NW part of the city, shopping close by. Overall the hotel is OK, pretty average, the restaurant is quite average also. Seemed kind of expensive given the location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Good location but hotel has seen far better days (threadbare hall carpeting, etc.). Main complaint is $12.95 wi-fi AND IT CYCLES FROM NOON TO NOON! That is, if checking in during the afternoon, your $12.95 (plus taxes, of course), only buys you access until noon the next day! Thought there would be free access on the computers in the lobby--but these are metered, too! Too many other nicer places to stay in the immediate area to put up with this outdated practice!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

I travel to Austin quite frequently on business and usually stay at the Renaissance. The staff has always been very pleasant and the beds are super comfortable. I agree with other reviewers that the televisions that are not on the concierge floors need to be upgraded (concierge floor has LCDs). Getting to the concierge floor is iffy at times, so much so that they now tell you what code to punch into the elevator keypad if your room key does not work. The elevators seriously look like they really need an upgrade; it's sometimes difficult to even see if the floor you punched is even lit.

It would also be nice to have some sort of breakfast meat on the concierge floor in the mornings and maybe some oatmeal for those of us that need to keep an eye on the cholesterol level.

$12.95 + tax for internet is ridiculous; however at the Courtyard downtown internet is free but parking is like $20/night.

Just a few upgrades and changes here and there could make this hotel really top notch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Austin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Austin Hotel

Address: 9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#36 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Austin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Austin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Austin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.