We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Austin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Austin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #56 of 184 hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Used points to stay here with the family. The room was spacious (enough for 4 people) and was well appointed.
The hotel itself is beautiful with many public areas to sit and relax. There are many computers throughout (iMacs) to check emails.
I would definitely come to this hotel when in Austin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    175
    65
    34
    10
See reviews for
54
76
23
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family recently stayed at this hotel as part of a very large wedding group. Although the staff was very friendly and the main lobby and facilities were of a 4* caliber, our room was less than stellar. From a light fixture that flickered when turned off, to extremely dusty tops of mirrors and picture frames, to a bed that had been knocked off its footings and was unstable, and finally to pillows that must have been bought at the local Dollar Store, this was simply not a 4* quality room. Anthony Melchiorri from "Hotel Impossible" would have been throwing things in our room if he had inspected it.

The coffee maker setup was extremely cumbersome to use, and the 1980s called and wanted its desk chair back.

We ended up hosting a reception for some other out of town guests at a neighboring fine dining establishment because the quoted rates by the hotel were just this side of outrageous.

Room Tip: At least make sure you get a room that has been recently renovated if you have no choice but to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manvel, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for Easter weekend here. The hotel is about 20 minutes from downtown which in my opinion is good to avoid the higher costs and parking dilemma.
Pros:
Large room and clean bathroom
Comfortable bed
LCD TV
Friendly staff
Free parking, big lot

Cons:
Bathroom door wouldn't stay closed
Air conditioning didn't cool down like we expected

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a business trip and found the hotel service and food top notch. The rooms are huge, comfortable, clean, modern and nicely decorated. The staff was very warm and helpful. The location is great for dining, shopping and sight seeing. Parking is abundant and free. Large grounds with some lovely walks and nice landscape.

Overall an amazing stay!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing parking side or just opposite to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've never quite clicked with this hotel even though some of my friends rave about it. The rooms are very average, there's no mini bar and they charge for WiFi. The @AustinBytes cafe in the center of the atrium consistently has the slowest service of any cafe within 50 miles - and considering it's 1990s-era technology theme, there are no outlets to charge a laptop to be found anywhere. The breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent though pricey and the desserts in the place are actually amazing. The whole experience is much more like a 3-star venue but somehow I keep ending up back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as an alternative to the truely rediculous downtown hotel rates during SXSW. Well renovated modern hotel in good parkland setting and adjoining shops, restaurants etc. Great rooms. Guys on the door/bell boys were great on taxis, places to park and places to go during SXSW. Can't thank them enough - some great tips. Couldn't fault the hotel - though very corporate feel - if you are okay with that type of place. Only issue was on arrival when we had to wait 30 mins for our room - otherwise excellent all round.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was pretty good. As a 60plus a night a year traveler I kind of expect more from a Renaissance especially at 260 a night. Checking in they asked if I wanted like of feather of feather free room, the high floor, and extra towels. the night before I stayed at a Fairfield Marriott for 92 dollars a night and they had all that ready to go. Hotel is upgrading and will be very nice. One unusual item I need to mention is the guys in Valet parking cars are top notch. A woman crossing the parking lot dropped a bag and 3 guys ran over to help her. Classy move. I would be back to try them again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Austin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Austin Hotel

Address: 9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#38 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
#56 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Austin Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Austin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Austin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.