We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crossroad Grill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Austin to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 North IH 35, Austin, TX 78752   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #48 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crossroad Grill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ate at the restaurant, Crossroad Grill, for breakfast and lunch during our stay. The food was good. Just make sure you get to the breakfast buffet in plenty of time or your food selection will be small. The host, Devon, was absolutely fabulous. Although his main title was "Host", I believe he was serving tables, busing tables, greeting people, and taking care of any issue that came up. He is a tremendous asset to this hotel restaurant! He assured our visits there were completely satisfactory and went above and beyond to meet our needs. If they are looking for a manager, I highly recommend him! They won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a room at the very end of the hall and it was small. There was hardly room to turn around in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that our staff, especially Devon, was able to meet your expectations. I will share your review with Devon. I'm sure he will be glad to know his efforts are being noticed. I hope you will choose the Crowne Plaza on your next visit. Thank you.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    186
    85
    47
    36
See reviews for
91
79
37
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eufaula, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Austin from Mar 26-30. The Bell Captain/Concierge was excellent - shuttle service on Wednesday, recommendations for restaurants that were spot on, and invaluable assistance in helping us with our rental car and getting to the airport.

Rudy was driving the shuttle van on Sunday. When we had a flat tire with our rental car, he went out of his way to assist us and make sure we arrived at the airport in time to catch our plane.

The lady who prepared the breakfast and provided service in the Executive Suite was excellent. She was extremely pleasant and went out of her way to make sure we were well-served, including informing us on available services when the suite was closed.

Room Tip: We found the 7th floor, executive level, quiet and the executive suite services were excellent. (Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and for staying at our hotel. We pride ourselves on having friendly, helpful, and efficient associates. Wanda and Rudy are among our best. I appreciate you taking the time to recognize them. We all look forward to your next stay! If there is anything I can help you with on your next stay please feel free to contact me. Thank you again.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel is Great the staff is AWESOME. They take care of your every need, even if it is out of the ordinary. The rooms are always comfortable and well maintained. Juan in engineering is the MAN for any need you have. He helped me get a ring from between the car seat and console. Not his job but he did it any way. LArissa at the front desk is super awesome as well!

THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU!

Room Tip: 7th floor is the way to go! super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Juan and Larissa will be pleased to read it. I am also posting your review for all our associates to see. We appreciate you choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin and hope you will continue choosing us whenever you are in Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were very impressed with the hotel services. We were especially impressed with Darian Pennick, Concierge Ambassador. He shuttled us around town during our stay and was very knowledgeable with recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. He was also good company overall. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I'm pleased that Darian was so helpful. He is an excellent associate and works very hard at providing the best guest service available. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you'll allow us to serve you again in the future!

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great Hotel, Great city. Enjoyed my time here and would come back.
The hotel was large and really didn't need to even leave the property. It had everything i needed.
Though it was a cheap ride down town which I had a great time. Room was clean & quiet

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Crowne Plaza Hotel - Austin. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to our city. We hope you will return soon and allow us to server you again. Thank you again.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. As others have said it is by freeway and would be too far to walk to downtown or to the University. The workout room and pool were well maintained. Room size is fairly typical enough room for beds and chair. Would recommend this place to friends traveling in area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin. I hope you continue to visit us whenever you are in Austin. Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

For the price, this is an excellent hotel. The location is right off the freeway, so it's not close to downtown, but the accommodations themselves are lovely and the service was great.

We checked in during the evening by a lovely young woman (Larissa?) who was ever so friendly and helpful. The room itself was immaculately clean and, though a smoking room, smelled beautiful. We got a first floor room with a patio (complete with small table and chairs) near the pool -- it was beautiful. The beds were comfortable and had four awesome pillows on each one. There were also tons of outlets in the room for my friend and I to charge cell phones, laptops, etc. all at the same time.

Only slight downside: the bathroom is quite small. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. (We went to the nearby IHOP which was slightly ghettofied.) Free shuttle service to the airport was easy to book. Room service prices were as reasonable as one could expect.

Overall, I was quite impressed by both the room itself and the staff. Besides the front desk clerk, I also encountered a housekeeper who, when I discovered there was no ice machine on the first floor, took my little bucket and filled it in the restaurant for me. Big thumbs up.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you. I am sending a copy of your review to Larissa. She will enjoy knowing that her guest service efforts are being noticed. We hope you will continue to choose the Crowne Plaza - Austin whenever you visit. Thank you again.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Austin

Address: 6121 North IH 35, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Crossroads of the Capitol City minutes from Downtown Austin and the Texas State Capitol, guests appreciate our dedication in ensuring each stay is enjoyable. Our convenient central location at I-35 & Hwy 290 provides easy access to the area s top corporate centers & major attractions. Super Shuttle offers transportation to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS). Relax in one of 293 newly renovated guest rooms featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage . The executive floor, with private elevator key access, offers upgraded amenities and an executive lounge serving breakfast, and beer & wine each weekday. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms, lobby, and business center make it easy to catch up on those last minute e-mails. Workouts in the fitness center are convenient with 24-hour guest key access, and afterwards enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or Jacuzzi. Guests enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Crossroads Grille, and then also enjoy your favorite beverage in Crossroads Lounge. With one of the largest ballrooms in the area, the Crowne Plaza is The Place to Meet offering 12,000 square feet of event space. Area Businesses: Dell, Applied Materials, Samsung, Dell Children s Hospital, IBM, Intel, Siemens, & University of Texas. Area Attractions: 6th Street, Warehouse District, UT, Austin Convention Center, Barton Springs, LBJ Presidential Library, Arboretum, Round Rock AAA baseball team and Disch Falk Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.