We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hotel but NOISY, poor windows, traffic noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #83 of 191 Hotels in Austin
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overall nice hotel but NOISY, poor windows, traffic noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on business in December 2006. The hotel is nicely decorated. The restaurant is a TGIFridays and there is a full service Starbucks right in the lobby. The staff was very nice and the sleep number beds were comfortable. Unfortunately the building is dated and the windows are an odd mix of different sized panes, and there is no soundproofing or double glazing. The hotel is boardered on two sides by extremely busy roads and the traffic noise comes right thru the windows. Would not stay here if I had any choice. Would pick the Hampton Inn & Suites, two blocks away, instead.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    344
    182
    91
    51
See reviews for
166
192
46
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2006

We had such a negative experience at the Radission Austin that by the end of the weekend we started to ignore further problems.

Advertisements for this hotel promise a "Sleep Number" bed and a view of the lake or the city. After checking in we learned that the Sleep Number beds are only available on a limited number of floors (less than half) in the hotel. Because the hotel was full with weekend events, no switch would be possible. Additionally, our room looked out on a dirty rooftop with a piecemeal view of the lake - between parked cars in the adjacent parking structure. So we kept the drapes pulled for most of the weekend.

Despite leaving the room for several hours during the day on Saturday, our room was never cleaned during our stay - so Sunday morning we were still looking at wine glasses from Friday night.

The front desk promised to bring some amenities right away that we'd forgotten and called about - 45 minutes later, we had to come up with another solution or risk missing the event we were in town for.

Overall, for the price that we paid and the service we expected from a hotel chain of the class that the Radisson likes to advertise, we were severely disappointed and would reconsider booking at another hotel chain in other cities, much less in Austin again. It might have a good location, but so do several other hotels.

  • Liked — Location is within walking distance of Austin restaurants and nightlife
  • Disliked — The view, the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at one of the other similarly located hotels
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

Excellent location. Pool on the small side but adequate. Parking handy but costly. Overall -- good value

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking charges
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending the Austin Film Festival. And I can't really complain about anything.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and I had a really comfortable king size bed. In the downstairs lobby there was a Starbucks, as well as a TGIF, which you could get through room service if you so wanted. The lobby also had two free internet terminals, although these were usually busy.

Directly outside the hotel was a bus stop, so you could jump on the free 'Dillo shuttle bus. The only drawback to the hotel was that they had no food vending machines, which can be a problem when you want a snack in downtown Austin after 9pm and the two covenience stores are closed.

Otherwise, it was a very pleasant stay. If you have a bit more cash to throw around, I would maybe suggest the Driskill Hotel. The bar alone in that place is worth it. But I highly recommend the Radisson.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Nowhere to get food after 9pm
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.