We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About on par for a downtown location ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #80 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“About on par for a downtown location ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Decent rooms. Clean, normal sized tubs. Pool was crowded, Starbucks was overrun in the morning. Great location. At a decent price for downtown. No extended cable, no movies to rent. TGIF is no longer there as other websites say. Pay for the river view room, not for the view but so you don't have to hear the street noise and fire trucks. Like all downtown hotels the drunks will come in at steady intervals and make a ruckus in the halls. The beds and pillows were nice. Walking distance to pf change and a few other places.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
RentaPig311,

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay, including our beds and pillows. We're happy that you found our location a convenient walking distance to where you wanted to go.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    306
    156
    76
    34
See reviews for
143
166
39
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed our day touring the Capitol. We came back to the room, and there were dozens if not more than 100 Harley motorcycles on an entire floor of the parking garage. We were aware of them all day and...almost all night too, and upon waking up. There was constant biker noise.
The bats did not come out from under the Congress bridge that evening, and we believe perhaps they were affected by the noise. It was intense.

Checking in, valet and checking out were excellent experiences. Very easy.
The only justification for us for the price of the hotel was the walking distance access.
We have stayed in others in this price range and the rooms were much nicer in those than in this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Paula,

Thank you for your review. Sounds like you stayed at our hotel during RoT Rally, the largest motorcycle rally in Texas! We're sorry that you were bothered by the bike noise.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the service of our staff. We hope you'll visit us again during a quieter time so that you can see the bats fly.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked 2 rooms for 4 of us. Checking in and out was very easy. Decent pool area and the Starbucks was exactly what we needed in the morning. We didn't use the restaurant but did go to the bar on one occassion for pre drinks before heading out.
Location is perfect. You have Rainey street, 6th east, 6th west and 4th west all walking distant. No more than 15 mins walk.
Congress bridge is behind the hotel where you can view the bats in the evening. Further up congress you will find some nice restaurants. Again we walked but advice most to get a cab .
The staff were very helpful if we needed anything and our rooms were always made up when we got home from a day out. Very clean rooms. Bathroom was little small but wasn't a problem. Little dated rooms but again they were fine. Would like a safe in the room and a permanent fridge.
Overall this hotel is pretty good and for what we paid, cannot complain.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Jayvin P,

Thank you for your review! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be a good value. We're pleased that you found our staff helpful and your room very clean.

We'll pass on your request for safes and permanent refrigerators to hotel management.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is located close to downtown. Many nice restaurants are just within 10 min walk. The check-in process was quite smooth. I was given a room with a "city view". It was not a great view but the room itself was quite clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast menu was also good. The hotel is just 5 min walk from the Austin convention Center where many conferences and business meetings are held.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
pvm_sk,

Thank you for your review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We're pleased that you found your room clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. We're also happy that you enjoyed breakfast.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Dowtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed overnight at the Radisson Hotel in Austin for a conference. And, although the hotel is close to the major downtown venues, I was not impressed. I decided upon a lakefront room. The view of the lake was nice but the traffic from the street below overpowered any aesthetic value I would have found. It was difficult to sleep. The room itself was par for a room you would find in any moderate hotel. The pool was full of visitors and when I tried to find something to eat, the restaurant was full albeit it was close to 8 PM. I was offered a seat at the bar but declined and rather retreated to the room to order room service, which was the best investment of the day. The chicken specialty sandwich (the exact name I have forgotten) and fries were fabulous as was the guy that delivered the food. One thing to note about this hotel. Parking is $18.00 but wi-fi was free. I valet parked for $25 because I needed help with my luggage. The valet service was good but I did have to wait 40 minutes for my luggage to be delivered to the room. All in all-- not a bad place to stay if you need to be close to downtown. Just expect delays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
jadocz,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our room service. We're sorry that crowds deterred you from checking out chavez restaurant and our pool. We apologize for the street noise you experienced, as we know how important a good night's rest is when you're traveling for business.

We hope that we'll see you again next time business bring you to Austin.

Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katsushika-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed in the King Suites room for 4 night. The location was very convenient. There were many restaurants and groceries aroud the hotel. There was the Starbucks Coffee shop on the first floor.But I stayed in the King Suiets, I could use the VIP lounge on the 12 floor, and I could drink the coffee of the Starbucks and eat light meal like bread, fruit and yoghurt.The staffs were very friendly with smile. The room was very spacious and well cleaned. Room amenities were enough. There were coffee maker, microwave oven, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, security box, slippers, bathrobe, bath goods, and so on. Every morning the newspapers were delivered. Only one minus point was the room cleaning time. I had a terrible jet lag and went to take a rest around 15:30, it wasn't finished. So I had to wait at the VIP lounge. But my stay was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Masami0522,

Thank you for your review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay in on of our Executive Club Level rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you to Austin!

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night for business. Certainly way less "cool" and glamorous vs. some alternatives in town, but way less expensive as well.

The location is actually very good, you would be right in front of the river, where there is the bridge with the famous bats. If you like to walk or run, there are paths just below the hotel.

They gave me a free breakfast at Starbucks, which was nice. The room was just ok, and somewhat tired. But not feeling dirty or something. The bed was fine.

If I was to go again on my own, I would certainly consider this. For business, I would probably look for something else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Latakia,

Thank you for your review. We're very happy that your enjoyed our location and found our hotel to be a good value.

We have several updates planned for the hotel, including a renovation of our one-bedroom suites scheduled for Winter 2014/2015. We hope that you'll stay with us next time you're in Austin so that you can check out our new look! We think you'll find us "cool and glamorous."

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.