We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by the river and the BATS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #84 of 191 Hotels in Austin
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Right by the river and the BATS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a good location for downtown Austin and not too far from the conference center. I wasn't facing the river but there was a path down to the river where people gather to watch the bats come out in the evening. I saw that other review talk about dated room - I must have been in one of the updated rooms because my room was great. And staff could not have been friendlier.

Room Tip: Had I thought ahead, I would have asked for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
TessM,

Thank you for your review! We're very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location, staff, and rooms. We hope you had the opportunity to see the bats for yourself - they are pretty amazing!

We hope you'll stay with us again next time your travels bring you to Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    344
    181
    90
    51
See reviews for
165
192
46
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I wrote a review a few days ago about the rooms being dated and the hotel not having cable. The hotel responded that they offer 75 channels. I would just like to clarify that the night I stayed at the hotel there were only a few (about 6-10) local channels. Maybe the cable was out that night, but it would have been nice if the staff informed me of this when I checked in, so I was at least aware. For the hotel to just respond that there are in fact 75 channels is irritating, because it simply was NOT true last week when I stayed there. I am not a picky reviewer, but I felt the need to post that review, because it was pretty irritating, and I thought people should know. For the hotel to respond and basically say that I am lying just makes me realize what terrible customer service they have.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Ready4sand,

Thank you for letting us know you were unhappy with our customer service. Our intention was certainly not to upset you. We sincerely apologize.

Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious - but dated. Couch ripped, found diaper under bed skirt, and rather shabby for Radisson. Disappointed that there was only one cup of coffee bag each day. Really? Would not go back. (Loved the fish aquarium in lobby).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Amigolucy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback will help us to provide future guests with a more enjoyable experience. We are aware that our rooms are somewhat dated and have a renovation of our one-bedroom suites planned for Winter 2014-15.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the diaper under the bed - that is unacceptable. We will share your experience with housekeeping to ensure that never happens again.

Thanks for letting us know that you would like more in-room coffee. We're happy that you liked the fish tanks!

We hope that you'll reconsider staying with us next time you are in Austin. We'd love the opportunity to provide you with a 5-star experience.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is a little under-rated by many reviewers. It has a great location, walkable to most places in downtown and South Congress, friendly staff, a small pool, great bar area and nice restaurant, great deals on food and drinks for happy hour. OK, so maybe the rooms are a bit dated, but they are clean and comfortable. What's not to like?

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Jonally,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our location, staff, pool, and restaurant. We also happy to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin. Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for updates about the hotel, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy Travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. Great location! Walking distance to all downtown Austin attractions. Lobby, bar/restraunt, and pool are beautiful. Overlooking the river and the Congress street bridge. Happy hour from 4 - 6 daily with half off drinks and bar food. Rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. You could not ask for a nicer staff. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great location and a wonderful hotel staff. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Kim,

Thank you so much for your review! We're very happy to hear that enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel. We're glad you got to check out chavez and our pool - we think they're beautiful too. We're also very happy to hear that our staff made a good impression.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin. Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for updates about the hotel (including our upcoming room renovation), as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm not a very picky person, but the rooms of the hotel are pretty dated. Also, if you like to curl up in bed and watch cable channels you don't get at home, you are out of luck. They have about 10 local channels. You would think at $150/night, they could afford to give the guests a few extra channels.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Readyforsand,

Thank you for sharing feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay.

We would like to clarify that our 32" HDTV's offer 75 premium cable channels.

We are aware that some of our rooms are dated and we have a renovation of our one-bedroom suites planned for later this year. We hope you'll visit come back and check them out next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff are so friendly in this hotel. The Valet guys are really helpful too. The outdoor pool is nice, altough its not very big.
The rooms are comfortable but in need of a refurb. The handle was hanging off our bathroom door but it did the job for what we needed it to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
John,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff.

We sincerely apologize for the hanging door handle. You'll be happy to hear that we have a renovation of our one-bedroom suites planned for later this year.

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.