We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fun In The Sun Here! Too Many Rules, Poor Customer Experience Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 20%
Ranked #85 of 184 hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“No Fun In The Sun Here! Too Many Rules, Poor Customer Experience Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We live in Austin and enjoy going downtown for entertainment and fun on a regular basis. We decided to stay here because we heard the new pool was the best outdoor pool experience in downtown Austin. We got there early on a Saturday and had a nice experience checking in (except for being asked to sign the "no party" policy which I found absolutely disrespectful and insulting as I'm an adult and not some college fraternity member), found our room and parking arrangements to be satisfactory, and headed straight to the pool expecting a good time given all we heard.

We found the pool somewhat crowded and very quiet and overly sedate. The new pool looks nice but it's way too small for the venue size, does not have nearly enough chairs even though there is plenty of room for more, no music, no smoking, absolutely no atmosphere, and little or no noise suppression from the heavy traffic on Congress. Truly not a very fun place to hang out afterall.

There are signs posted everywhere with strict rules. You can't bring your own drinks to the pool area. Instead you have to pay high prices to get them from the TGI Fridays in the hotel. I might have tolerated the rules about not bringing your own drinks if they put a small outdoor bar in the pool area with walk up service and reasonable drink prices vs. having to wait for a single waitress, with no drink menus laid out in the pool area, and small overpriced drinks from TGI Fridays.

All the people at the pool we talked to agreed the pool was nice but not worth the hype given the oppressive rules and lousy atmostphere.

The location of this hotel is very good as you can walk a few blocks to just about anything you want to experience downtown. The bad news is this hotel is run by a bunch of "funsuckers" who treat you like you're in elementary school again. Loosen up Radisson!

There are great choices for hotels in downtown Austin. Many have outdoor pools that are just as nice, if not nicer, without the stupid rules, lousy atmostphere, and high priced in-house restaurant drinks. Sorry Radisson, but this local won't stay with you again and we'll be sure to tell our neighbors and friends this is not a place to go and hang out and have fun.

If you do plan to stay here, plan to spend your time and money off-site at many of the local establishments that are very close by that will treat you well and won't suck all the fun out of your trip to downtown Austin!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with a river view would be a nice touch if you want to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Radisson Austin New Pool User,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback!
We recently opened our new Infinity Edge Pool on June 14, 2013 for the Annual Republic of Texas Biker Rally, although all the pool and pool deck’s features are not yet complete and is a work in progress Monday-Thursday 08:00-18:00 hrs.
Pending items include the new pool furniture, side tables, fan/mister system, water feature, full sound/light system, etc.
Like most Downtown Austin full service hotels, our Private, Guest Only Pool Rules are posted to include no diving, no glass, no smoking (we are a 100% non-smoking hotel with a dedicated smoking area on level one of our covered Parking Garage) and no outside food and beverage as we reserve the right to sell all food and beverages in the hotels spaces that are legally permitted to do.
We apologize if our Pool Service Staff was not up to par on your visit. We do schedule 2 Pool Servers per shift on weekends, but we have been experiencing call offs which is our problem and not yours.
Since we have a full service bar in the restaurant some 30 yards from the pool door, we elected not to duplicate a limited service bar out on the pool deck.
Regarding the “Good Night Sleep Guarantee” letter that we issue on weekends, we are in synch with some other full-service Downtown Hotels that issue a similar letter.
We apologize if this letter offended you. That is not the intent.
As a gesture of the sincerity of our apology, we would like to invite you back in the summer 2014 when our hotel will be remodeled with a new restaurant, new rooms and suites, a fabulous new Ballroom with windows overlooking Town Lake and our Pool which will have all the bells and whistles installed.
Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    256
    127
    61
    29
See reviews for
124
142
38
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Certainly not the best hotel in town but a good value all the same. Great pool (I'm sitting at the as I write this) trying to stay out of the 100 degree heat. Our room was spacious and the hotel is well situated. Construction during the week but not on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Lubran,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great stay overall! We made it to the hotel just in time to see the bats fly out of the Commerce Bridge. It's literally a two minute walk from the hotel to a great view of the bats. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, but the bathroom was slightly outdated. I think that they are doing major renovations so this should change. Good location a few blocks from 6th Street. Nice stay overall. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

In terms of appearance, the rooms were fine - nothing great. They included adjustable beds, microwave, TV, desk, and the usual bathroom provisions. One complaint: the bathtub wouldn't drain when you'd go for a shower which is something I would've assumed would be picked up in the normal cleaning routine. Location was decent - about a five or six block walk from 6th and fairly close to the bridge to South Congress. Staff member iDave rocked! He was our favourite part of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I stayed in a king suite on the 10 the floor for the 4th of July and for $300 a night I expected it to be a little nicer and was extremely disappointed. The room was really small, the fridge did not work and our food spoiled, there was leftover papers/trash from the previous tenets and housekeeping was knocking at our door by 8:30 am when check out was at noon. The intercom system for the gate was broken the arm would not lift for us to leave the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you valued feedback about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with several aspects of your stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the refrigerator, cleanliness, and parking garage. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied. We are currently addressing these issues. In regards to your suite, we do expect to have all the suites to be remodeled by the spring. We would like to invite you back to give us an opportunity to make your experience a better one. We value all guest feedback because, it allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There are some likes to the Radisson Hotel in Austin.

The location is great and not far from the night life.
Easy access to I-35.
Great staff, clean rooms. The room are larger than most locations in fact.

I wasn't a fan of the sleep number bed and they need more pillows.

The facility over all needs to be updated. As stated in the subject line; its looking tired and used.

The most important things to me are staff and a clean room and both were definitely provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Tracy F,.

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are currently renovating the property. We just recently renovated the pool area. We are also working on redoing rooms and other parts of the property. We really appreciate your feedback. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay in Austin for a girls weekend. The Radisson is very centrally located and you are able to easily walk to all the fun areas of downtown. When we arrived, we took the city bus #100 from the airport to the hotel. The cost was one dollar or two dollars for 24 hour pass. The bus had luggage racks and dropped us right across the street from the hotel. The lobby was nicely appointed with live music in the evenings. Our room was clean and comfortable. The best part of staying at this property was the amazing service. All of the employees were helpful and pleasant. The concierge staff was exceptionally helpful. We got many wonderful dining recommendations from them and they were eager to help. It was some of the best service I have ever received at a hotel.
We also enjoyed the infinity pool and fitness room. I highly recommend staying here if you want to be able to walk to Austin's sights. It was a great weekend in Austin due in large part to the fabulous staff at the Radisson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear aztempe,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Austin. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all feedback. Thank you for staying with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.