We came from out of state to attend the Texas Shootout Softball Tourney. This hotel was selected as the host hotel. Generally, I choose to stay at a Starwood Hotel because I NEVER run into these issues with them. Actually, it's been several years since I have stayed in a hotel with all the issues we encountered. First of all, upon check-in I tried to get the 18 year old girl to explain to me how my credit card would be charged and she couldn't explain anything to me. Then when we got to the room I noticed that we did not have the Sleep Number beds, the iHome and when you opened our curtains all you see is another dirty building next door, it is false advertising to say all your rooms have these amenities. The air in the room was musty and thick, the headboard that was attached to the wall was coming off and to top it all off, staying in Room 305 we were right next to the ice, vending machines and the service elevator. I immediately notified the front desk of these issues and they told me that basically because I booked through the tournament page the only rooms available to us were floors 3 & 4. I was not made aware of this or I would have booked accommodations elsewhere. The girl was extremely rude and basically just said tough luck because the hotel was at full capacity and this was the rate that we selected. I just couldn't believe how abrasive your staff was. Due to the other festivals going on in Austin there was no way to change hotels, so we tried to make the best of it. Next, the room was very unclean, silly string on your ceilings, the bathroom was dingy and gross with the tub constantly backed up and standing in dirty water; and once again the air in the room was musty and smelly. But the WORST part of the stay, aside from the fact that the beds were not even long enough to accommodate me at 5'9, was the NOISE LEVEL of the ice machine, vending machine and service elevator. I initially thought there was a storm because of how loud it was. On the 2nd day of our stay my boyfriend was woken up at 6:00 am by someone filling an ice chest right next to us. It was hard to watch tv, rest, work on my schoolwork or even talk on the phone. Even though I discussed this with the front desk, no one ever got back to me and nothing was even attempted to be settled. Also, we decided that we did not want the room serviced by housekeeping due to some other reviews I read on Trip Advisor about internal theft, I placed the Please Do Not Disturb sign on the door and I guess housekeeping thought we were gone because they opened the door when I was in there by myself. I couldn't believe it. What's the point of even using the sign if they are going to come in anyways. I spoke to the housekeeper in Spanish and told her to NOT clean this room. What concerns me most is what if I had not been there and things went missing yet we think the entire time that because of the sign no one would enter but they tried anyways. Unacceptable. For $510 for 3 nights you would expect a pleasant stay at a decent hotel. We got NONE of that. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone ever. I was extremely dissatisfied to the point I even felt like asking for a refund. I was using my 3 days there to study and relax before coming home to have surgery and there was absolutely nothing relaxing about your hotel. In the future you should advertise correctly, stating that if you are segregated to floor 3/4 you will not have the same amenities as the rest of the hotel. And headboards nailed to the wall? Is it not 2013? I could go on longer but I have already wasted enough time concerning your facilities, or lack there of.
Do not stay on the 3/4 floors. They do not offer the same amenities as the rest of the hotel and yo...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May 20, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for your review of our property. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us at the Radisson. We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We are very sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. We would like to invite you to contact the hotel directly so we can take care of this matter.
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.