We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #81 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Vancouver, Kanada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Radisson Austin is perfectly located and most tourist attractions of Austin are walkable from here. The room was ok although slightly outdated. If you need a fridge please note that it doesn't come with the room but you have to rent one for $20 / day. My only negative comment was that rooms are rather loud because the street is very busy 24 hours and the windows are not well insulated at all. On the good side, the mattress is some fancy adjustable thing which was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Hesindepilger,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really value all of our business travelers. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your room . We will pass your feedback on to our staff. At the hotel we really value all guest feedback. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We use all guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    306
    158
    76
    34
See reviews for
143
167
39
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Austin is a great city, besides being the capital of the Lone star state, it also falls into the league of great American college towns what with great places to party and what better than the 6th street in Downtown Austin to do that what with 100s of pubs and clubs placed next to each other, something like a Bourbon st in NOLA. So when you are in Austin for all that merrymaking, you do not want to drive or to have to take a long taxi ride and thats when this perfectly located Radisson comes to your rescue. Situated right in the heart of downtown Austin, within walking distance to the Capitol and the 6th Street, nothing can beat this hotel's location. Also, being right on austin river, the hotel also makes it easier to utilize the wonderful trails that line up this river. Austin uni is within walking distance too (20 mnts) while the wonderful restaurants on the Congress Ave which runs next to this hotel are also walkable (again a 15 mnts walk but a pleasant one at that).

Enough about the location and about the hotel, the lobby is very convenient what with an inhouse TGIF and Starbucks. It looks a little dated and so are the elevators and the room but then overall this is a great property to be in Austin downtwon and with everythin within walking distance, this will not let you down.

Room Tip: Depending upon your taste, opt for a room either facing downtown with a brief view of the Capitol or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear thewanderer-nammo,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in Austin.. We are so glad that you stayed with us and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here one night and was pleased with the hotel. The parking is expensive, but then most are! You can choose to park yourself (on the 3rd and 4th floor) for $16 a night, or valet park for $24 a night.
The best thing is there is a TGIF and Starbucks in the hotel. When I travel alone for work I love when I don't have to leave the hotel to get coffee and food! So this was a huge plus for me!
The employees at the front desk were fantastic! So nice and cheerful. I always appreciate a good attitude from the staff because it sucks to travel by myself but it sucks even more when I have to deal with employees who could care less about the customer or even their jobs! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Sandee60,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay, We value all of our business travelers. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. ,

Sincerely,

Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Needs update. Not a 3 1/2 star hotel. Carpet in elevators were old. You had to pay $16 for parking overnight. Tv was small. The couch was old and sunken in. The only good thing was the Starbucks upstairs.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear mendez09,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with you stay. We are currently making updates to the hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

One night (Wednesday) on business. Good for price and location ($144++). Street side rooms can catch a bit of traffic noise. Select number bed, nice touch but got tired of messing with it. Easy check-in; check-out. Meeting room was ample with good breakfast food provided. Room was clean, bathroom stuff good, water hot & towels fresh. What you would expect but not extraordinary. Probably would stay there again on business if in area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Matt C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with you bed. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was a nice surprise, updated rooms with new bedding,linens and bath fixtures. We were able to get a great rate using Priceline-Name your own price- They have a Starbucks, TGI Fridays and a fireplace with nice seating area in the lobby. The hotel is also within walking distance to just about everything you might want to see and do. It sits next to the Congress Bridge where the largest colony of bats in North America lives March - September, and although we only saw several thousand - we have heard that the number of bats exceeds a million in July & August. Check with the Concierge and they can give you some good advice on shopping and dining choices. Austin was quite a surprise, we visited the Capitol, the LBJ library, quirky South Congress with their restaurants and shops and also checked out the first "Whole Foods" store.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake/Riverview, then you can watch the bats emerge at dusk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear pandtravels,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Austin. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for all of your feedback. We will make sure that we pass it on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Staff were all very helpful. Went above and beyond during a busy sxsw festival. Room very clean. Staff arranged transportation for us and made us feel very welcome. Wi-fi worked well all areas of hotel. Buffet breakfast was worth it.

Room Tip: River side was lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear 466Richard789466,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the SXSW Festival in Austin. Thank you for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for you time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.