We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Lake views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #80 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Louisiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, Lake views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When first checking in I was concerned because the hotel is a 'bit' dated. The service, convenience and price made up for that. I booked a King Suite with a Lake View..$185 +++. Room was OK in terms of decor but the Sleep Number bed and linens were great, Roominess was great, Internet was above great and it was quiet! I had a service issue that was resolved in under 10 minutes. The Business lounge was stocked with good items and the Fridays and Starbucks in hotel was VERY convenient. Buffett breakfast at Fridays at only $11.95 was excellent. Hotel is only blocks from 6th Street and other downtown activities. I would definately recommend this hotel for an Austin stay. You'll get over the popcorn ceilings in a few minutes!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on Lake side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear smarttoddy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We appreciate all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your stay in Austin. We hope you enjoyed your time in Austin. Thank you so much for providing us with this review. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    306
    156
    76
    34
See reviews for
143
166
39
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

As a motor coach operator I work on lots of charter trips and tours and I was happy to stay with the group at this hotel conveniently located in Austin downtown. The room amenities were what sealed the deal for me... Sleep Number bed, Ihome iPad, iPhone, iPod docking clock radio, posh furniture, very nice toiletries. I would stay here again anytime. More ample and accessible bus parking would be nice, but hey its downtown, so even that's not bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TheAllenFam,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for mentioning our amenties. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it a better place for you, and future guests to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My daughter and I checked in at midnight and we were greeted by a friendly young lady named Ericka. Her caring attitude was refreshing and not easy to find these days. She was genuinely interested in ensuring that we had parking and gave us great advice on what we could expect the next morning with rush hour traffic.

The room was clean and well-appointed. The bed (not a Sleep Number) was a little flat, but it didn't affect my sleep. The room was quiet and hallways were neat and clean.

The parking garage was a bit difficult to get in and out in my SUV. The parking places were tiny, but manageable.

Because of the first-class customer service, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for a family wedding and were very happy with the two rooms booked for our party. The suite was larger than expected, with room for adults to hang out or watch TV in the living room while little one slept in the bedroom. The double room overlooked the lake with an amazing view of the bat bridge and the boat regatta the day we stayed. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast buffet in the TGI Friday's as well. They had omelettes made to order, fresh melon and lots of other options. Granted the lobby is not as plush and luxurious as some nearby hotels, but the rooms were a good value and the Starbucks, restaurant and gift shop in the lobby were very convenient, especially when traveling with children. Maybe some rooms are worse, but ours were as nice as those in a nearby much more expensive hotel. And the fireplaced lobby felt cozy and welcoming as were the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MaNewenglander,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during this special family event. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Radisson is in a great location. Everything felt within walking distance and the bat bridge is just a few blocks away. I was there for work and was appreciative of the staff's handling of all my work materials that kept arriving via FedEx. I left feeling neither here nor there about the hotel. I slept well and felt taken care of but nothing stood out as particularly extraordinary. The parking situation is a little weird. There's a TGI Fridays and Starbucks downstairs so if you're in a hurry, there are immediate options.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear elliottd,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during business in Austin. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was tiny. The bathroom was dingy and had cracked tile in the tub. The bed was very uncomfortable and the adjustment was not easy to use. The noise was unacceptable. I could hear anytime anyone was using water on the entire floor. There was a banging noise in the plumbing pipes and kept me awake all night long. The windows overlooking the lake were filthy. The hair dyer being above the coffee pot is unacceptable. The total cost for one room for one night was $371.00 which included $24.00 for valet parking. I have stayed at 89.00 per night hotels that were far better. I completed the survey and got a reply from the manager asking if there was anyway to make it up to me. But, of course, this was sent from a "no-reply" email. In otherwords, they are not interested in my feed back. I will never stay at a Radisson again and will warn others as well.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We do appreciate all guest feedback. We will have a member of our management contact you regarding your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed here twice, the hotel is good for the price for the rate I get from work, but I would never stay here under the regular rate. Hotel is quite old, and is very average. The parking garage is tiny and if you have a larger SUV you may have problems. I would avoid the TGI Fridays, its not very good at all. The one plus is that there is a Starbucks in the Lobby.

The location is the one good thing about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear ncstate81,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for providing us with your comments and concerns about the hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you have been caused. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 Cesar Chavez Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.