We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Austin Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #26 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location for downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a large, hotel convenient to downtown, this hotel is it. Rooms were nice, big and clean. The service was friendly and helpful. Just a few blocks up from the famous streets of downtown Austin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    402
    150
    87
    52
See reviews for
179
354
81
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I did enjoy this hotel, very clean, very helpful. You can tell this staff wants to be perfect and I love that in a hotel staff. Management has delivered a clear picture of what they desire and want from there staff. From the Valet to the people who clean the room were extra kind, didn't have to be that way. Bathroom was exceptionally clean, room was extra comfortable. Service was A+ they want it to be right and will do whatever it takes to make it right! Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review. We pride ourselves on striving to offer outstanding customer service through our associates. This is the greatest service we can provide our guests. We are pleased to learn that our services met your expectations and hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. I also really liked the shampoo and conditioner provided. The lobby bar area is a really great spot for a drink and breakfast was also very good. Everyone (especially the concierge) was very friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat... two blocks from 6th street, 8 blocks from the water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We attended the Texas Craft Brewers Festival in Austin and as it is a 3 hour drive (and we were drinking at the festival) decided we needed to stay overnight. We chose the Omni first because I can get a corporate rate, second for the location, and third for its reputation of being a nice hotel. The location is very convenient and their are many great restaurants within a couple blocks walk. The staff is their greatest asset and as friendly and courteous as any I have ever met. The rooms are very nice but I would recommend that for a weekend stay ask for an interior room... one thing the hotel cannot control are the sounds of people partying on 6th street and you are right on it. When I go back to Austin I plan on staying there again and recommend you should too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and hope when your travels bring you back to Austin, you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night when we were in Austin for a getaway night. Great hotel, the service was friendly and prompt, comfortable beds, extremely clean rooms, awesome location, easy walking distance to 6th street. Will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay at the Omni was wonderful from start to finish. Our room was comfortable, clean and well appointed but it is definitely the fabulous Omni employees and excellent location that make this hotel extraordinary. I've never had such consistently professional and friendly service from every employee that we interacted with. The hotel itself is lovely and the rooftop pool has beautiful views, plenty of lounge chairs, a shaded area if you need and enjoyable music at a good volume. Walking distance to 6th st and the Warehouse and SoCo districts. I highly recommend the Omni.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great amenities, clean, quiet, with comfortable beds. Room service for breakfast was decadent and fun! Will stay here again! The location is also convenient with easy access to the downtown area. There is valet parking as well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor club level in 1401 at the end of the hallway, near the stairs. Very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.