We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Austin Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #36 of 190 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Omni is steps away from 6th ave. The rooms are spacious and clean. There's a really neat rooftop pool you can lounge at during the day to grab some sun. The hotel also has a solid fitness center with complimentary headphones and towels. We found that overall the hotel offered great value given it's location. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    501
    177
    108
    68
See reviews for
218
440
93
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel was in a central location. If you're planning a trip over the weekend, I would not recommend it because of the influx of bachelor and bachelorette parties at the place. The walls are thin and it sounds like you're sleeping in a college dorm. The hotel staff is helpful, however if you want some sound sleep look elsewhere. I stayed for an entire week, the weekdays are fine but weekends are a different story.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and were sorry to hear you were disturbed by other guests during your stay. Due to our location near the Entertainment District in Downtown Austin, we are a popular destination for guests interested in taking part in the festivities. We do attempt to place groups such as these on the same floor to isolate any noise and our management team does respond to every noise complaint reported. The comfort of every guest is very important to us and we value your patronage. We hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay over the Fourth of July holiday. This was a perfect hotel for our visit to Austin. The location could not have been better. We were walking distance to the convention center, South Congress, and Lady Bird Lake, as well as the state capitol building. Every single staff member was kind and courteous and beyond helpful. We had a concierge level room and the food provided was delicious.

Two minor complaints: it took a long time for our room to cool at night. It was really hot in Austin and perhaps that's why the AC just took so long to really cool the room down. Also, the hotel pool is simply inadequate for the number of guests.

Other than that, it was a wonderful stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate the constructive feedback from your recent stay. We're very sorry to hear that your HVAC system did not perform as it should and thank you for reporting the issue. Due to the location of our rooftop pool, we are limited in space in that area and during the hot Texas summer, it is a very popular area to cool down. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I and a group of 13 friends stayed at the Omni Hotel- Downtown Austin the last week of June 2013 for my bachelorette party. The hotel was very nice- rooms updated, clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to all of downtown Austin by foot. Without a doubt the best part of our stay was the hotel staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. We had a mix up upon check-in with one of our rooms. The people at the desk corrected that with no issues. The concierge staff was wonderful with great recommendations for places to go and they were extremely hospitable during the breakfasts and happy hours we attended on the club level. When we needed transportation anywhere, the staff helped us immediately. Overall this was a great trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at many Omni hotels, and this was not one of the better ones. The staff is nice and tried to be accommodating. Upon checkin, we were given a small room with a small bed, although i had paid for a King. This was never mentioned during checkin, and required then going back and forth with the front desk only to have to move again the next day.

The hotel floors have a musty smell, but overall its clean. We did not eat at the hotel so i cannot speak to that. The location is great if you are interested in downtown nightlife.

For a hot summer week, having the pool on the roof open till 11pm was really nice, and its BYOB unless the hotel bar is open (which is never was).

The biggest issue here is the constant noise all night. Drunk people in the halls, doors slamming, fire trucks, ambulances, music pumping from 6th... it was just non stop all week. I have never had a worst week of sleep in a hotel. Even the AC, which comes on like an industrial factory turbine, was awful and noisy. We were on the 15th floor, executive floors.. must have been a lot of drunk 22 year old execs in town that week.

Doubtful I would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your experience while staying at our hotel. We're very sorry to hear you were disturbed by internal guests and city noise during your stay. Due to the location of our hotel, there does tend to be more noise on the weekends due to the festivies downtown. Our management team does work closely with the City of Austin to report noise violations and our team does respond to every noise complaint, whether internal or external, brought to our attention. Please know we value your patronage and hope you will reconsider and return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The beautiful glass building is centrally located in downtown Austin . Staff is very helpful and rooms are very nice with a classy decor. We stayed up high and it was great to watch all the interesting activity in the streets below. Great spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Omni was a very good deal compared to other hotels within walking distance of 6th street. The room was in good condition / a little small / beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Self Parking was not too bad at about $20 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
The Driskill
#37 of 190 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#15 of 190 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Hilton Austin
#22 of 190 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#9 of 190 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Austin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#20 Family Hotel in Austin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.